We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #19 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truly excellent hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our first visit to DF in May 2014. The location is perfect for tourists and we felt safe walking in the area at night. The rooms are fair-sized, clean and the shower was amazing! The complimentary breakfast is an excellent start to the day with many choices - bread, pastries, yoghurt as well as a hot cooked Mexican breakfast. I did my laundry there the night before we checked out - very very convenient as the use of the Laundromat was free and the lady at the front desk gave me a packet of detergent at no charge. I also do appreciate the Hampton style of hot drinks in the foyer anytime you wish. I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    689
    159
    41
    27
See reviews for
543
847
203
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal for walking to the various sights in the central historical district and the many restaurants in the region.

The hotel offers many of the standard features of the Hampton chain - free coffee 24/7, a decent complimentary breakfast (cereal, bagels, waffles, fresh fruit, cooked food - international and Mexican), laundry (pay (sometimes) for powder at reception, washers and dryers are free).

Internet connection can be slow at times. With good traffic about 30 minutes taxi ride from the airport.

If the weather is good, consider the terrace on the fifth floor.

We had an interior room so no road noise.

If you need decent traveller facilities (as above) then this offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in may/june.

The hotel has a perfect location in the historic centre close to the Zocalo. The neighbourhood seems safe and there are lots of cafees, restaurants and shops nearby.

All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpfull - especially Martin and Alejandro.

The room was clean (except for somebody elses underpants behind the dresser - we didn't want to touch them, so hopefully the maid will look behind the dresser someday...) and spacy, unfortunately we had a room right next to an ice machine which was very noisy when it was producing ice, but it didn't bother us at night (as nobody came to get ice, i suppose).

The breakfast is so-so. There are several options: fresh fruit, cereals, bread and pastries, yoghurt, a waffle machine on which you could make your own waffles, some traditional mexican dishes, and then there was scrambled eggs. Everytime we tried the eggs they were very cold, so I would advice the hotel to get better containers that can keep the heat for longer.

If the breakfast had been better, I would have given 5 points.

Would recommend and would return, if I go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Comfortable, clean rooms. Good service, the staff is very nice and helpful. Great location. The pictures make it look better than it actually is though... Still it is a very good choice. Great place to rest!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vtobon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really nice and clean. Staff is friendly. They treat you really nice and they have good continental breakfast. Also, there's a panaderia across the street from the hotel so that you can go and buy great Mexican bread. Great location and great price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MAntoinette213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just two blocks from the Zocalo, this Hampton is an historic gem with all the amenities. It's a business class hotel with historic Mexican flavor. And the staff were excellent, very accommodating. I was tempted to try the seafood restaurant on the ground floor, but since my sister (who was traveling with me) is allergic to shrimp, we asked for another recommendation. We were encouraged to try the Grand Hotel on the Zocalo where the Terrace Cafe has a magnificent view of the cathedral. It was the highpoint of our trip to Mexico City. And by the way, the downtown was full of uniform police officers. We felt very safe and comfortable walking around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for five nights with my husband and two young children. The hotel is very pretty, with a lovely atrium through the building. We found it to be very clean and not particularly noisy - our room wasn't directly on the atrium, but we did have some noise from the front street.

There is free wifi in the building with a good connection in our room on the 3rd floor. There's a terrace, and a handy laundry room where you can do washing for free - a real bonus (doubt we'd have survived our fortnight in Mexico without it!).

The staff were very friendly - Monica who served us at breakfast was particularly kind and helpful with the children.

It's close to the Zocalo, and we can recommend the Pasteleria across the street for takeaway food.

Room Tip: We were room 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowAliJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 310 in Mexico City
1,395 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 310 in Mexico City
2,658 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 310 in Mexico City
897 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#17 of 310 in Mexico City
1,935 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing