We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new, great service, perfect location....do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #19 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2009

After reading plenty of reviews on Tripadvisor we finally settled on the Hampton Inn in the Centro Historico and it was an awesome choice.

The hotel is located a stone throw from the Zocalo (historical central square) in the Historical Centre of Mexico. The location couldn't be better. It is just a 2 minutes stroll to the square in a very safe area (we walked everywhere day and night and felt very safe all the time), but unlike hotels located on the square itself, it was very quiet in the hotel. Hotels on the square would be very noisy with all the traffic.

The Hampton Inn is brand new - we had the feeling that no one had ever stayed in our room. The service was top notch - very friendly and helpful, a very cheap upgrade to a suite (although we saw the standard rooms and they were nice too) etc. Free broadband internet, free breakfast, and walking distance to everything.

There are banks (for currency exchange - or you can change up to US$50 in the hotel per day), pharmacies (if you get sick), convenience stores, and lots of other shops within a block or two.

My only comment would be that if you ask the hotel to call a taxi for you they will always call a Tourist Taxi. That's fine (they are the safest type of taxi) but you should definitely negotiate on price - I think you could knock at least 20-30% off the prices they quote you - and always do this when you order the taxi and they first arrive.

The Centro Historico was the right place in the city for us to stay. Good transport links (metro), lots of sights to see, good shopping in the markets behind the Temple Mayor. Our meetings were over in Polanco and Condesa, so easy taxi rides or slightly longer trips by metro. It was fine.

Full marks to this hotel.

And actually, while I'm on it, don't let the Swine Flu scare put you off. Mexico is AMAZINGLY prepared and its response has been 10 times better than anywhere else. Everywhere you go they give you hand sanitiser, masks are widely available if you feel the need to wear one, and they have little mini-bus 'health stations' around the city.

The risk there, for tourists, is miniscule and seems more like media hype than anything else. Do not hesitate to go there if you were planning a trip or already have plans made.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

I used to think Hampton Inns as motel style places. 3 years ago, I stayed at one in Charleston, SC. It was converted from a historical building (military school?), and it changed my opinion on this chain. This Hampton Inn in Mexico City is even better. It's located 2 blocks from Zocalo, the central square of the city. You can walk to a lot of the tourist attractions. I was evan able to get out of bed at a reasonable time in the morning, and walk over to see the the soldiers raise that famous big national flag across from the National Palace. The hotel is also right across street from certain conveniences, such as places to buy bottled water, mouth rinse, etc. There are two restaurants on the ground floor of the hotel. One is a seafood restaurant, which seems to be very polular with locals, and the other one is a cafe style place that serves excellent coffee and deserts. There are several first-rated bakeries near by.

What stood out for me was the service. On the day of my arrival, as soon as I got out of the cab across the street from the hotel, the staff came across the screet to meet me and they knew my name. (I am Asian, and they probably didn't have many Asian guest arriving that day, so I can't promise it will happen to you too.) As a matter of fact, everyone seemed to know my name during my whole stay. On Valentine's Day, when I came back to the hotel in the evening, I was met by a manager who handed me a personalized Valentine's card and a pack of hand-made chocolate cookies.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished with flat screen TV. The breakfast was adequate, with a good mixture of standard American fare and Mexican specialties.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Just spent 5 days. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The guided tour of the pyramids by Israel was worth every penny. He was a great teacher. Hotel resturants were good (seafood great) lots of good places nearby.
Rooms were "new" internet is all rooms but wireless is limited to lobby which is really set up for computers. Skype works. Breakfast is ok, get fresh OJ across the street, $1.50 for large!. Do the tour with Israel before you do the murals, then you will understand the "big picture:"
Great value!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billm881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

I stayed at this new hotel in December 2008, only a few days after they opened for business. Being such a new hotel, I had the pleasure of being their only guest for 3 nights, but was also "fortunate" to be the first to try most hotel services - which apparently were never tested before...

The hotel is perfectly located 2 blocks from the Zocalo - the main square of the old city and where many tourist attractions are (as well as excellent transportation options). It's an old, remodeled building, which feels like any other Hampton Inn I've ever been to. Other than the hot dishes at breakfast (which are Mexican dishes and not the regular Hampton Inn eggs), everything feels just like any Hampton in the US.

The hotel staff is extremely friendly, and most of them speak good English. They all went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable and to fix every problem that I ran into. Unfortunately - they had many problems to fix: Although they promised me that the business center is operating - when I tried to use it, I discovered that the room had no electricity; when this was fixed - the PC had no mouse attached to it, and when they brought a mouse - the PC had no Internet and the printer was not working. Later that day, however, they brought a laptop and a printer to my room for my use for the remainder of my stay; I asked them if guest laundry was available and they said that it was, but when I needed to use it - they had no washing powder available (but they did send someone to a nearby shop after an hour to buy some, and provided it for free); On one of the days the Wireless Internet was not working and they failed to fix it (but they did let me use the hotel PC in their office for a few hours to access the Internet); and on one of the days, I had no hot water in the room (the hotel manager sent me later a personal apology note and a box of candy).

I must note that in all the above incidences, everyone was extremely apologetic and nice, and they all did whatever they could to help. They also credited me for 2 of the 3 nights because of these problems (Hampton do have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, but I didn't have to ask for it - they offered themselves to give me these nights for free).

Overall it felt like the hotel was in a running-in period, but without announcing it as such and without doing any verification, before opening for business, that all services actually work. On the other hand, with such a friendly and helpful staff, I’m sure that if/when they resolve their problems – staying there will be a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hector Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank paolasC229LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,436 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,760 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
822 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 312 in Mexico City
1,995 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £85 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing