We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #17 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable hotel, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

The hotel is located in the Colonial Centre about three blocks from the zocalo. This is great if you are traveling as a tourist for site seeing. If you are traveling for business this is a bit far from and not the most convenient location. The hotel is in a beautiful colonial building and the rooms are very clean and modern although a bit small.
The bonus besides the fact that it is convenient location for exploring the historical centre is that there is free internet and complimentary breakfast. The hotel is convenient from the airport and shouldnt cost more than 150 Pesos (less than $15). For the convenience and the value as well as the very friendly and personal service I would definitely return. In fact I stayed there on two seperate occassions at both the beginning and end of my trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    659
    152
    40
    25
See reviews for
516
817
189
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times and really liked it each time. The rooms are wonderful - clean big, luxurious and comfortable in a beautiful building. Also the service is great, breakfast is ok but free and the staff are really helpful and nice. It is in a great spot only a few blocks from everything in the Centro. This is a really great quality hotel that I would recommend to anyone, especially the suites.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ejs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

The hotel is two blocks from the Zolaco (center square) where you can jump on the tourist buses and start exploring the city.

The front desk staff all spoken English and were exceedingly polite and helpful. The staff called for cabs and booked day tours for us.

The room was clean and quiet. Our room was facing the front, but the neighborhood is a quiet one after dark.

Free access to internet in the reception area.

Breakfast buffet provided you with a solid meal.

The water was out for about 6 hours one night. A minor inconvenience, but one nonetheless.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Like almost all reviewers said already - great location! It is 2 blocks from Zocalo. We used both the Zocalo and Pino Suarez (from here the salmon pink line will bring you directly to Chapultepec in 15 min). Walking form and to both stations are safe and easy.

The area that surrounds the hotel is busy until ~9:30pm so walking around until then is no problem at all. It becomes very quiet late at night which is prefect for sleeping.

The breakfast buffet provides great convenience. If you want more "traditional" Mexican breakfast, there is a small tamale place around the corner (Rico's Tamale). For 16 pesos you can get a really delicioso tamal and a nice, warm cup of atole.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the only down side is not able to open the window. On the first day we found the room a little too warm (24C according to the thermostat) and couldn't get the AC going to bring down and temp. A call to the front desk helped the situation. The maintenance guy worked his magic on the thermostat and for the rest of the stay the temperature was down to 22C.

Mexico city is lots of fun and it has tons to offer. We wish to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

I usually don't rave about hotels but here, I must. This little GEM of a hotel is about three years old and nestled in an ancient Mexican palace that's been renovated, in the heart of Mexico City's historic center, one block from the Zocalo, the main plaza. Lots of talavera tiles give it a unique charm, double-pane windows keep this city of 20 millions at bay. Our one bedroom suite (about 110 dollars a day for two queen-size beds, a steal!!) was spacious and comfortable, the bath modern and convenient. The roof terrace with its large pots of lavender, enchanting.
Breakfast was included, copious and good, with US and Mexican dishes. (Waffles were great!) The best part was we could walk to numerous attractions: the Zocalo, presidential palace, Cathedral, Templo Mayor, Bellas Artes, the craft market at Ciudadela, Casa de Azulejos, museum of the City of Mexico, etc, etc.
A good restaurant/cafe is attached the hotel and within walking distance, you will find the Sanborn's chain, where the food is good and safe.
The hotel also has a small gym, a business center - great to e-mail back home- and laundry, which enabled us to travel light.
We will DEFINITELY return to this hotel, for the look, the convenience, and the friendly staff. I would recommend it to families.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cholstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Excellent location, safe area and very helpful, friendly staff especially the cuban guy . Good security and high standard of comfort in the rooms. Nice breakfast buffet and lovely touch with all day free beverages.
Very pretty hotel and just near the Zolaco and in the historic centre.

The only down side for us was the lack of window/ natural light.
Tip- Don't have the hotel organise a tourist taxi for you to station/airport- you'll pay 10 times the price of a normal taxi ( red/ gold ones).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

We were 2 adults and 2 kids (12 and 14) and this hotel was the perfect choice. The location couldn't have been better - 5 minute walk to the Zocolo which is the centre of the city. Keep in mind you're not staying at this location for the peace and quiet - there is city and music noise for most of the night so if if you're a light sleeper, bring some earplugs!! There are lots of shops and restaurants nearby and great people watching!! We didn't like the restaurant Garabatos (too expensive and boring food) and we didn't try the seafood restaurant. The free breakfast was perfect for us - we didn't have to worry about going out and choosing somewhere to eat each morning and it meant that some could eat and others could continue sleeping. The food was fresh and always hot. The staff was excellent - arranged 2 taxi's for us and surprisingly, the private taxi back to the airport was cheaper than the official taxi from the airport to the hotel. The hotel was clean and the rooms were excellent. We had a 2 bed suite so had an extra sitting room with a pull out couch. The beds were comfortable but the pull out couch was painfully uncomfortable! Overall, this was a perfect choice - we almost choose a hotel near the Paseo de la Reforma but glad that we didn't because this location offered much more city action and we felt it was 100% safe to walk around at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySunnyTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#16 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing