We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively hostel, good location”
Review of Hostel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Amigo
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hostel was very good value: Great location, easy to make contact to fellow travellers (bar+common spaces), and very helpful staff at a more than adequate price. The double room was good, had a comfortable bed and a safe. The hostel can be quite noisy and lively by times (bring earplugs), and the showers are not always clean - which I guess underlines in a way that this place is very much on the classic hostel side among the large spectrum of places that go under the name "hostel" these days. Breakfast was Ok and served in large enough amounts.

If you are looking for the hostel-type of hostel and not a cheap hotel, this is definately a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location is great, since you are in the center with easy access to the Main Square and sightseeing. The staff is young and helpful. The overall quality of the hostel is ok, they have a bar downstairs and computers with internet available for customers free of charge. However, the toilets were sometimes a bit dirty, and the rooms have no ventilations (the windows can’t be open) sometimes it can be a bit crowed and hot inside the rooms. Prices are very good for Mexico City is quite cheap. Besides mexican buffet breakfast is complementary; it varies but it usually contains fruit, cereal, milk, tea, coffee, sometimes pancakes, quesadillas, eggs, etc..
We had a private double room and had a safety box which was quite convenient since you should not carry your passport around mexico city , specially if you will use the metro.

Room Tip: Private rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The position of the hostel is great, you have to walk a bit but still you are fairly close to two metro lines, and you can go around all the central area on foot anyway. There are several cheap options to eat out and two Oxxo supermarkets nearby.
The hostel itself wasn't anything special, every time we passed by the reception there was a different person and nobody ever asked us if we were actually staying there, which in terms of security is not very good. We had a double room for 400 pesos, with very decent breakfast included. The room was huge, you could fit eight people in bunks in there (and I believe that's what they did right after we checked out, turn it into a dorm room), super high ceiling and window towards the interior of the building, there was no way to get some breeze. It was very very noisy, we could hear everybody from the hallway and surrounding rooms and from the floor below, but luckily we were usually too tired to care and earplugs helped too. Although if you get a room on the first room, I cannot imagine one can get any sleep there as people tend to hang out there and also breakfast is served right in front of one the rooms.
People were very friendly and it was easy to get to know somebody so for solo travelers it is not a bad place.
Wiifi was super strong, but we had the router right behind our wall so I am not sure how it worked further away
The cleanliness was only so so, when we were there they seemed to have only one lady doing all the cleaning of our entire floor and it of course took her ages so the girls' bathrooms and showers were a mess from 10am until the afternoon

Room Tip: Avoid first floor, at least the part that gives directly to the common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hostel Amigo was not as good as I had expected. We were told our room number on the night we arrived and had to find our own way around the hostel. On the website it looks as though there are lots of areas to sit and chat with other tourists when infact the bar area is quite small & there are really only 3 bar stools and a lounge around a coffee table. The bathrooms were clean & the room was large, although quite sparse as there was only a double bed & bean bag in a huge room. The location was also good, within walking distance to the central square.When we stayed it was quite cool of a night however our room was extremely stuffy as there was only a window that would not open & we were on the second floor, there is a fan but I can't imagine what the room would be like in the warmer months. Staff were reasonably helpful when approached but unless you approached them they would not say anything to you. We went to the sister hostel, Downtown Amigo Suites & this looked much nicer, with a much friendlier & social vibe, wished we had have stayed there.

Room Tip: Stay on first floor if possible, much less stuffy as rooms don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Traveling alone took a large single, quite a good deal - clean room, reasonably quiet (I'm a light sleeper - so high praise indeed), and the cleaning staff are remarkably diligent. Good location - easy jumping off point for most of the main sites, the staff are quite friendly and very helpful. Small bar downstairs, nice for a few drinks - particularly if you are wiped out after a long day trudging around Mexico City.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

First of all 195 pesos for mexico is super expensive, some in the US are tht price! What you get is dorms without windows, very stuffy, mosquitoes. However the staff is nice and bfast not bad! Good but worth 120 IMO.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The place is clean and the room I had was also clean. Hostel amigo is conveniently located in Mexico City centre and is easy to walk to main attractions such as Museo de Bellas Artes or el Zocalo, or Madero pedestrian crossing. I arrived late at night so I had to take a cab from the airport, but they have a 24 hours reception so that helps. Plenty of stuff to around the hostel and they also had some options to go around Mexico (I could not do it, it was a very short visit).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Histórico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#137 of 313 in Mexico City
266 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#28 of 313 in Mexico City
716 reviews
Centro Histórico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 233 in Mexico City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 233 in Mexico City
105 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#42 of 233 in Mexico City
274 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#14 of 233 in Mexico City
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Amigo

Address: Isabel la Catolica 61, Mexico City Z.C. 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 233 Speciality Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: £7 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Amigo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Amigo Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Amigo Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing