We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple food and a good price”
Review of Taco Inn Tacuba

Taco Inn Tacuba
Ranked #1,514 of 4,308 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Alameda
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
479 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Simple food and a good price”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This food is simple but good and affordable. We had a taco sampler for two plus hibiscus water to drink. It was tasty but nothing more. We spent about 15 USD. We ate outside. It is well located next to the National Museum.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RERD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine and well priced”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This cafe is reasonably priced, pleasant and the food was fine, basic stuff in Mexico, and we were happy. I asked for a substitution and got it, no problem. We ate and drank non-alcohol for about US $8 each. Perfect for lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotusland_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful old house”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good typical food, with a mariachi band for atmosphere. Ask to see the upstairs too. There are stories of a ghost.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“blech”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Not as good as street food. This little chain is trying hard and the staff were sweet but the food was boring and really just not very good. If you want some real tacos, just walk toward the zocalo to Tacos Canasta Los Especiales, or any of the delicious taco joints. Or, better yet, get some tlacoyos from a vendor on the street.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gatatejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“quick place to grab something to eat before a show.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had a couple of hours before a show at the "Bellas Artes" and decide to eat at the Taco Inn. It's just a block away on Tacuba Street. The place was full. Their prices seemed average. They have beautiful views of the old downtown buildings. They do have their kitchen in the same area as the restaurant, so that means that if you sit in the back you will see how they do the dishes (this is not the most appetizing experience).
We had "taquitos al pastor", a "gringa", a cactus salad among other things. Everything was good.
In Mexico City waiters expect 15% tip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jorge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Inn Tacuba also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taco Inn Tacuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing