We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in Mexico City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 154 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“great place to stay in Mexico City”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is central - you would be 10 min away from Zocalo. The Allende metro station is around corner, and you can travel to all tourist sites by the cheap metro (3 pesos a trip) which is what we did.
The room (Foghat) is pretty clean and cozy - the only drawback was that the bathroom is down the hall. However, we got used to that. The owner David and his wife Eloisa are very friendly. David was always there during the breakfast talking to guests and providing valuable advice. The breakfasts were simple but delicious. On Sundays, the breakfast is by self-service which was fine too.
Overall, we found Chillout Flat fitting its name - so if you want to chill out in Mexico City, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    62
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
164
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I travel from Vancouver,Canada and stayed with my wife for a couple of days in November, the place was great for us, of course if you are too picky or want something "fancy" you don't look for a B&B to begin with, the room was very comfortable and clean, the food delicious and authentic, the owners are awesome, friendly and always willing to help you with directions or any question you may have, they make you feel welcome and relaxed.
The location is perfect to get around in a big city like Mexico city, we definitely recommend the place and we will stay there if we go back to Mexico ;)

Room Tip: Choose the room outside the common area, is small but away from the city noise, which will make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed with my partner for 5 nights. We had a private room with its own entrance but rooms off the common area would be fine too. Great breakfast and also fabulous that you have use of the kitchen and common room. David is a fabulous host, very helpful with information and a really nice person. Great that it's so central, definitely one of our best picks of accommodation in Mexico. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Even we didn`t have it planned, my wife and I had to spend 3 nights in the DF. We found Chillout flat through a friends (via facebook) and it´s been a wonderful discovering. The situation is absolutely great. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom inside the room (pratyahara) offers the privacy you want in a hotel. Our room, being further away, was pretty quiet and allowed us to rest and recuperate for sightseeing. Cleaning, the order of the rooms, breakfasts and attentive owners tips make it the perfect choice for those who will spend a few days in the city and want to spend some money without giving up all the comforts of a hotel . Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finareta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I cannot fault the location of this accomodation but there were some fundamentals which had not been looked after by the owners. In addition: -

1. I would not recommend this place to couples. We are a couple of young professionals who usually stay in bed and breakfasts and this was probably one of our worst choices which was a great shame given the high rating it had on trip advisor.

I think the accomodation is suitable for backpackers or people who only have a night or two to stay.

2. When we first arrived, we were shown a small room which was outside of the main common area and the window was broken with a hole in it. This was not appropriate, especially given we were travelling in December! However, we were offered an alternative room which was much larger and more acceptable (just glad they were not fully booked)

3. The breakfast was OK but nothing great (especially compared to all our other experiences) and it is more tailored to the taste of the owners rather than their guests.

Overall, disapointing given the high marks it has on tripadvisor but the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davmarino, Owner at Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us
We regret to know that Chillout Flat was not the right place for you nor your preferences.
reading your disappointment points, I would like to add some more information:

You've wrote "some Fundamentals", although you don't make reference to any in particular , but I have to say that I go personally and check every day all rooms and the Flat common areas, in order to be sure we are offering our guests a 100% comfortable room & place.., As a human being I can have involuntary oversights, but it is a fact that we are there all the time caring about our guests and business in order to react promptly to any circumstance that may occur, or any need you have, it's a matter of ringing our doorbell.

About the room .., that small room ,(yes is our smallest) but was the one that you have chose and reserved, although its clearly and publicly advertised that it is a small room (12m2) and that it is outside the common area, and farthest from the street noise (guests who prefer a more quiet room, like that tiny room) there are pictures of it in order to reinforce that information. (as a plus I send all that information in every confirmation email to all our guests. )

About the tiny crack in the glass, (who was not at all a broken window") we were at that time in the process to change the whole glass, (already done) but what you did not mention in your review is that all our rooms features double glazed windows and that the one with the crack was the outside window , that way the room had perfect protection in terms of security, wind, cold and noise (moreover in winter time we do have electrical room heaters on request)
apart from all that, in order to be sure you were comfortable with our service , we did offer another room just as you mentioned it.

We are a Bed & Breakfast mostly visited by couples of all ages and backgrounds, as more than 80% of our guests are couples and their average stay is 4 days.

Breakfasts served are Mexican specialties with family recipes
to which we have even removed the chilli (chile) flavor characteristic of Mexican food, always thinking on our guests and not ourselves
moreover we serve home made Yoghurt , Home made Marmalades, Fresh Fruit, Natural Fresh juices etc,...

best wishes

David Marino.
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Chillout Flat is a cozy little apartment turned into a bed-and-breakfast of sorts. If you are looking for something more personal and intimate than a hotel and want to be located in the heart of downtown, this could be the spot for you. Some downsides worth noting: the three rooms are right up against each other, so you won't have that the much privacy. We stayed in the Kundalini room which is the one next to the kitchen, and you could hear everyone chatting during breakfast, which made it difficult to sleep in. The bed is king-sized and really comfortable; the private bathroom is down the hall and recently renovated and nice. The owners, Eloisa and David--who both speak English-- are really sweet and helpful and they live right across the hall. Another thing worth noting for first timers to Mexico City is that the neighborhood is the sheer hustle-and-bustle you'd expect, and if you are in town for three or more days, you might want to stay in Condesa or Roma, which is a more pleasant atmosphere. In sum we recommend this place if meeting other travelers/getting personalized attention outweighs the amenities and privacy of a hotel and you only have a day or two in Mexico City.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

December 30 2012

We've just spent 5 nights at Chillout and we look forward to go back! Location, confort, cleaness, breakfasts, kindness of our hosts, safety, etc. So, we do not have any complain and we hope having friends who will also have a good and memorable stay at this place.
Josée and Luc, Montréal

Room Tip: If you prefer a private bathroom, specify If you want it in your room. Also, If you have probleme to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joluc5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 309 in Mexico City
1,393 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 309 in Mexico City
766 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 309 in Mexico City
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 309 in Mexico City
894 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 309 in Mexico City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar, 8 Apt 203, Centro Historico | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 9 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing