We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 151 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a gem”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

what a gem this place is, hidden away in the centro historico, bang in the middle of the city,
communal kitchen area, really clean lovely rooms, very safe and a wonderful couple who provide a scrumptious breakfast. Loads of reading material on Mexico and books that travellers have left behind
if ever we go to Mexico City again, this is where we will stay - excellente !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    61
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
162
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed 4 nights and the place lived up to its reviews. Warm welcome and consistently helpful hosts (but not in your face). We needed the only room with 2 beds, so our bathroom was down the hall, but private and secured. Eloisa & David are opening up a few more rooms upstairs, most now have adjoining bathrooms.
Tiny disappointments, were that the complimentary fruit and juice soon petered out and were not replenished. Also, we had to forgo 2 of the 4 breakfasts due to (a) going to Teotihuacan early one day and (b) flying out early the last morning, and the offer of something "to go" would have been very welcome, given that the (full and delicious) breakfast is included. Breakfast is 8:30-9:30 only. We did manage to score a couple of delicious little cakes :) for our last morning.
Our hosts were so obliging, made it clear they were available 24/7 if needed - unfortunately, we had to wake them them when the 5:00 a.m. cab he ordered for us for the airport failed to show up...and while we were out for supper, on of our hosts plunged the toilet I managed to block, despite my firm request that I do it myself!
I would stay at Chillout again in a heartbeat. Location, location - we "promenaded" nightly right outside our door. Very well run, by people who obviously love what they're doing.

Room Tip: Specify a room with adjoining bath; even a few rooms with double/king beds have short commutes down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibby2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

These are simple, but clean and very adequate accommodations in the heart of the Centro Historico. The building is unmarked, but easy to find and there's 24-hour security at the entrance. The owners live next door and were great resources for information on nearby restaurants, how to get the bus to the airport etc. Pedestrianized Madero Street is just three blocks away and there's plenty of new restaurants in the area as well as some historic stand-bys such as Cafe Tucuba and the Cardinal. We waked everywhere in the historic center and took the subway other places (Allende stop is around the corner). The breakfasts here were the best and most ample we had in Mexico. Our bathroom was private but outside the room in the hall, but that wasn't really a problem. Robes were provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is central - you would be 10 min away from Zocalo. The Allende metro station is around corner, and you can travel to all tourist sites by the cheap metro (3 pesos a trip) which is what we did.
The room (Foghat) is pretty clean and cozy - the only drawback was that the bathroom is down the hall. However, we got used to that. The owner David and his wife Eloisa are very friendly. David was always there during the breakfast talking to guests and providing valuable advice. The breakfasts were simple but delicious. On Sundays, the breakfast is by self-service which was fine too.
Overall, we found Chillout Flat fitting its name - so if you want to chill out in Mexico City, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I travel from Vancouver,Canada and stayed with my wife for a couple of days in November, the place was great for us, of course if you are too picky or want something "fancy" you don't look for a B&B to begin with, the room was very comfortable and clean, the food delicious and authentic, the owners are awesome, friendly and always willing to help you with directions or any question you may have, they make you feel welcome and relaxed.
The location is perfect to get around in a big city like Mexico city, we definitely recommend the place and we will stay there if we go back to Mexico ;)

Room Tip: Choose the room outside the common area, is small but away from the city noise, which will make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed with my partner for 5 nights. We had a private room with its own entrance but rooms off the common area would be fine too. Great breakfast and also fabulous that you have use of the kitchen and common room. David is a fabulous host, very helpful with information and a really nice person. Great that it's so central, definitely one of our best picks of accommodation in Mexico. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Even we didn`t have it planned, my wife and I had to spend 3 nights in the DF. We found Chillout flat through a friends (via facebook) and it´s been a wonderful discovering. The situation is absolutely great. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom inside the room (pratyahara) offers the privacy you want in a hotel. Our room, being further away, was pretty quiet and allowed us to rest and recuperate for sightseeing. Cleaning, the order of the rooms, breakfasts and attentive owners tips make it the perfect choice for those who will spend a few days in the city and want to spend some money without giving up all the comforts of a hotel . Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finareta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
743 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,605 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#38 of 310 in Mexico City
878 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar, 8 Apt 203, Centro Historico | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 9 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing