We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Ranked #11 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Just checked in last night. Was surprised at how dated the guest room and hallway are. 4th floor hallways smell exactly like a very old airplane. The room is spacious and comfortable but badly in need of refurbishment. Seems very dated, especially the closet, which is so shabby looking it does not belong in any five star hotel, let alone a four seasons.

We got a room facing the courtyard, still hearing banging from the construction next door, which went on until nearly midnight last night and then started at around 7am again! Unbelievable.

On the plus side, the staff is unfailingly polite and efficient. The food is good, though pricey.

Overall, disappointed in the quality of the guest room. We were so excited about staying at the four seasons, especially after a wonderful stay at their property in Hangzhou China a couple of years ago. At present, the quality of the guest rooms and the hallways are unacceptable by four seasons hotel.

And the $20 per day for wifi, for only one device? Please, that's really unfriendly! Especially considering the construction noises the guests have to endure these days, it really should have been offered for free as a gesture of good will.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TWGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    226
    79
    28
    26
See reviews for
206
337
66
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed there for a wedding in november. The backyard is fantastic, the food is impeccable.
The breakfast included was not much, but one can order anything for an additional charge.
Concegieres desk was very helpful, and doorman always helpful.
Same about the construction next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed this hotel for 4 nights to relax and to eat and eat and eat in Mexico City after backpacking with my friend who just finished doing volunteer work in Guatemala. We thought we were bohemian-chic but to the Four Seasons staff, we were not chic at all, we were just simply bohemians. The staff grilled us with questions before letting us walk in the door. How shameful. I would advise the staff that in the future not to judge your guests by their clothing - seriously, we thought we diluted boho with some chic-ness. Anyway, checked in and having cleaned ourselves up with the L'Occitane toiletries and a hot shower, we hit the town. The Four Seasons is in a great location to base yourself in Mexico City - Zona Rosa is a so-so neighbourhood (actually, I didn't like it) so venture outside of this area to eat and hang out. The hotel is right on Reforma (there's a Starbucks across the street - get that jolt in the morning and free wifi) and Reforma has lots of public art and is very lively. Condessa and Roma neighbourhoods are nearby if you want to experience the hip Mexico City - they're both walkable with good shoes. In Roma and Condessa, I would recommend Bipolar (very young and lively and Mexican) and Alexzander Restaurant, also Azul, and around Azul, there's lots of live music and great nightlife. A short taxi ride away is a neighbourhood called Polanco, an affluent part of Mexico City. Lots of restaurants - I highly recommend Quintonil (beautiful and delicious food) and we argued if one of the guys from Y Tu Mama Tambien was in the next table. And also in Polanco, Oscar Wilde 9, go there! If it's closed, then there's tons of restaurants around it. Pujol Restaurant is in Polanco but even a seasoned Four Seasons concierge couldn't get us in with a day's notice (they're booked 6 weeks in advance) so perhaps you should book reservations at Pujol now along with your Four Seasons booking. We didn't eat at the hotel's only restaurant but with everything that Mexico City has to offer, we didn't need to. Wait, am I reviewing this hotel, or recommending restaurants? OK so, Four Seasons Hotel in Mexico City - it's everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel - a grand lobby, friendly staff that seem anticipate your needs (it's weird), and great amenities - I enjoyed the gym, pool and hot tub. And I forgot, Ivoire Restaurant in Polanco, the service was awful but the mole was just OMG, really memorable!

Room Tip: If you're irked by having to pay $20 USD for WIFI, there's a Starbucks across Reforma that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dento97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed four nights at the Four Seasons Mexico City in November 2013. It is minutes to the park and museums. Walked to several antiques and crafts markets.

The room had the usual Four Seasons standards and the front desk staff and concierge were always positive and helpful.

I can't see going to any other hotel.

RS - Canada

Room Tip: There is a good side and a quiet side to the hotel. If you are close to the construction of the tow...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed in Four Seasons to relax after a business trip farther south. Typical Four Seasons standards, courtyard , pool are pleasant.

Ask for a room near front of property, my room (724) was a long walk. Also, Zona Rosa does not have the sights or restaurants most want. Consider hiring a driver. There has been an uptick in crime in the Zona Rosa in the last year and the locals I was with said not to walk anywhere at night.

Finally, I found much better rates through online brokers than Four Seasons online

Room Tip: See above, re room location and Zona Rosa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

the service was not as expected for the price. Although it was comfortable and convenient, I would try other luxury hotels before I would come back. Unless you are extremely worried about security using the hotel cars to move around town is extremely expensive. The food at the bar and the courtyard were nice but not worth the price tag of the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wonderful property in an excellent location, near parks, anthropology museum. Recommended for the quality of the facility, staff, service; location; concierge quickly handled all requests, including arranging transportation on short notice to return to the hotel from dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
The St. Regis Mexico City
#8 of 312 in Mexico City
964 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#9 of 312 in Mexico City
1,098 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 312 in Mexico City
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
1,986 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 312 in Mexico City
1,234 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 500 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing