We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You could do better.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Ranked #41 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You could do better.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Pool is a glorified bathtub.
Rooms are dated and only somewhat clean. Lucky if you have hot water in your room. (Water in the pool is warmer than the tap water.) Pool area is crazy hot. Too bad they don't have a jacuzzi or any kind of service up there..... Bar service or massage by pool would be awesome!!!!

Good towels, okay bed. Curtains don't come together fully. Rod that pushes them back don't work well. Food (room service) is kind of expensive considering what you can get if you leave the hotel. Starbucks inside thank goodness!!!

Few of the staff speak English. Customer service nothing to write home about. <----- seriously!!!!

Entertainment most nights. Safe area as US Embassy is literally a stone's throw away however, I'm telling you, you could do a lot better than this place. Think twice!!!!

Don't know how they qualify for four stars. (Giving it three but wish I could go 2.5)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear WD27 Guest: We appreciate your sharing your recent stay at the Sheraton Maria Isabel Hotel & Towers and offer you an apology for not meeting your expectations. We are addressing your feedback with the areas involved, who will be taking care of them. Thank you for bringing this our attention and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    513
    273
    95
    40
See reviews for
156
187
101
730
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Room was poor quality compared to other hotels at the same price range. There was an extremely strong perfume scent that seemed to be even stronger when the air was on, not great for anyone with allergies.

Staff was great, as well as lobby/restaurants, but rooms could use major improvement.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dastanfo155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear dastanfo155019 Guest: Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton Maria Isabel in Mexico City. We offer you our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are addressing your feedback with the corresponding area to make a follow up to the strong scent. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I just stayed for one Saturday night. Got a room in the same tower as the pool. Room was quite small and quite intensively filled with stuff. Like no surface was left uncovered. Especially the bathroom was cluttered with all kinds of junk, little signs telling me what to do, extra towels and cosmetics etc....it took a bit of getting used to. There's a bit of a worn out 60s feel to the whole place, like a lot of other people have mentioned it needs a refurb.

But hey, I slept comfortably, didnt use the restaurant, location is excellent and I had a nice time cycling on Reforma with no traffic on Sunday morning. Staff were helpful and polite, advised me on bike rental.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ploeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear ploeb1 Guest: Thank you for sharing us your feedback. We regret for not meeting your expectations. During this year we will start with our renovating program to our rooms. We are happy to read that your rest was comfortable and you enjoy the Sunday cycling on Reforma avenue. We look forward to hving the opportunity of welcoming you soon. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My partner and I just came back from very pleasant week stay at the Maria Isabel. I was really concerned after reading so many bad reviews. I mentioned my concerns to Mauricio at the front desk. He was very kind and showed us the difference between the regular Danubio rooms and the Towers rooms. Yes, the Towers room was a little nicer, but for the price we paid we were very happy with ours. Yes, the air conditioning wasn't as quiet as it could be, but the room was clean, nicely appointed (even if a bit dated) and the bed very comfortable. The view was not of the Reforma, but we spent very little time in the room except to sleep. I believe we paid somewhere around $100/night, so who is to complain. All the staff were lovely, especially the Bell Boy, Alex, Mauricio at the front desk and Oscar the Concierge. All were ery helpful and personable. If you are looking for a very fine meal in the area, do try La Fonda El Refugio. Food was great, ambience was charming, and the service good at reasonable prices. So if you get a good price don't be put off by all these whiners. A tip for a better room is to sign up with Starwood and then you will at least get a Starwood Preferred Floor.

Room Tip: Sign up with Starwood for a Starwood preferred guest room. Even if you have not garnered any points...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Lorne B Guest: We are deligheted to read about your recent stay at the Sheraton Maria Isabel in Mexico City and appreciate your sincere feedback about our Team, who will be recognized for making our guests feel welcome. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back during your next trip to Mexico City. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed there for a 2 days trip in Mexico City. The location was very good and the area very safe.
The staff is extremely friendly and the large rooms need a small refreshment to be up to date. And the value for money is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Fraparis Guest: We appreciate your nice comments about the Sheraton Maria Isabel and our Team. We are working on a project to renew our rooms during this year. We will be happy to have you as our Guest in the near future and show you our improvements. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
292 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Only one night here and I was a jet lagged as hell - however - the room was great and the staff very very friendly - even at 4 am.....

I also had a lovely cooked breakfast here as they have a chief making omelets and other orders as you wait. Would recommend......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreezingIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear FreezingIrish Guest: Thank you for your lovely comments about our Food and Beverage Team and for your recommendation. We are happy to read that we met your expectation. We hope to see you soon. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEXICO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband. We went for a concert held at the Auditorio Nacional. We wanted to stayed in a good hotel but within a reasonable price, we got a great hotwire rate, but even the regular hotel rates are good considering most 5 star and luxury hotels in Paseo de la Refoma and Polanco area. The hotel, definitly, is dated you can see many cues from the lobby to the bedrooms of the age of the hotel, 80´s - 90´s. But on the other hand, 5 star service and, in our case, a small but nice room with a perfectly good and comfortable bed.
The rooms: It was small so after a second night we would probably fell soffocated, for our short stayed worked great. It has and old air conditioning system that is a little noisy, considering now days options but we didn´t mind at all. We got room service, a nice simple Club Sandwich, tasted great. We recieved excellent service from everyone. I´m definetly coming back to this property.

Room Tip: If you want a view chose a room facing the Angel de la Independencia
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaVerdin, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Ana0610 Guest: Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sheraton Maria Isabel and for your nice ccoments about our service. As you have read in through the reviews, we are working on an important project that will allow us to meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Mexico City Marriott Reforma Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#42 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#15 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel

Property: Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 325 | Distrito Federal, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#53 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located on Mexico City's financial district, across the Angel of Independence. 755 Rooms, including 67 suites and 5 penthouses. All rooms features Sweet Sleeper Beds and Wireless Internet Access. 2 Restaurants: Amici and Manhattan Deli. 1 Mexican Bar: Jorongo with a tradicional Mariachi Lobby bar & Sushi bar Parking Area Pet Friendly More than twenty rooms for events and parties. Sheraton Maria Isabel offers a bussiness center area with Link-Sheraton Tecnology by Microsoft. The hotel has been repeatedly awarded the Four Diamond rating by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maria Isabel Hotel
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Mexico City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing