We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt switch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Ranked #13 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hyatt switch”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It seemed forever that we would see a sign about the new Hyatt under construction there on the Reforma. Each time we planned a trip to Mexico City I looked on the Hyatt web site and was informed it was not ready for occupancy. Then there it was. The Hyatt in Mexico City was open.
We told the taxi driver from the airport to take us to the Hyatt on the Reforma. I do not know a Hyatt on the Reforma, he replied. He made a cell phone call and told us the Hyatt was not on the Reforma, but it was in Polanco. We were delivered to the Nikko hotel, or what had been the Nikko hotel, now the Hyatt. What a disappointment. Not a new Hyatt at all, but the former Asian cigarette smoke infused Nikko. It did not smell of cigarettes anymore, but the lobby and the reception area were the same grossly over large space as before. The room were a mess. It was very small and furnished with a combination of the original blond wood Heywood Wakefield style and a few new dark wood pieces. The light system in the room was a nightmare. Everything in the room was controlled from a computer screen at the night stand. It was like getting in a new car with a new and foreign control system. At least one has a long time to figure out the auto, but not in a five day stay in the hotel. We were constantly waking each other in the night trying to turn on the bedside lamp and instead all the lights would come on. Shame on Hyatt for this bait and switch.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMC G, Director General at Hyatt Regency Mexico City, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit at Hyatt Regency Mexico City and for having taken the time to write about your experience on Tripadvisor. Your feedback with regards to our facilities and services are extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our services.

I´m very sorry to know that you experienced challenges in handling the control panel in the room. Our Engineering team has been advised to check the device and we will make sure that a clear instruction on how to operate it will be shared to all colleagues working in Rooms Division once again, to avoid this challenge from happening again.

Regarding your feedback about the hotel, yes indeed we are located in Colonia Polanco and I'm pleased to inform you that after almost one year take over from Hotel Nikko, soon we will begin the major refinement of public areas, meeting rooms and outlets to bring out the best of Hyatt atmosphere. I hope you could visit us again in the future to experience a fully renewed Hyatt Regency Mexico City.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and I hope you will choose to give us another opportunity to host your stay in the near future.


Sincerely,

Kurt Straub
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    550
    93
    39
    18
See reviews for
192
296
101
1,243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Great location and service

Indoor pool with perfect temperature 31 celsius (90F), great for the kids!

For the breakfast I was expecting something better for such a price (280 pesos/person), great selection of fruit, bread, cheese and entrees, not that good in main dishes for breakfast.

We spend here a couple of days for anniversary and turned out really good, for the food there a huge variety and selection near the hotel so this is not a turn down to come back again, highly recommended hotel specially if you are traveling with kids!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I used to stay next door at Intercontinental but I've now stayed here twice (one last year when it was Nikko) and I'd continue to stay here. It's as good, but with a nicer price tag. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is truly worth it and the staff polite and helpful. They will help arrange any kind of transportation. The location is good if you need to be in the Polanco area or nearby -- otherwise you'll face a lot of traffic issues, though in Mexico City it's hard to scape that. We arrived late at night and were very hungry and the Japanese restaurant on the first floor was already closing, but they allowed us in, which obviously made a big difference.

Room Tip: If you like ceviche or want to try it, go to the "cevicheria" across the street from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Getting in and out of Polanco can be difficult at rush hours, but the neighborhood is still the best choice if you have to visit many different parts in Mexico City due to its central location. If you like to go out at night, you can walk around safely and you will find many upscale bars and restaurants (the museums are also walking distance)

The hotel itself is excellent. I love the fact that wifi is free and fast, and that rooms have that Japanese touch in their deco from when it was a Nikko hotel. Food is very good an also service in general. The pool and athletic club are a big plus also: loved them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floors look nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This was my first trip to Mexico City, and thanks to the staff and services offered at the hotel; it was a success. I utilized the transportation service offered by the hotel, having a driver and car meet me at the airport. If you are at all worried about security, having a Hyatt employee meet you at baggage claim and transport you to the hotel...and have the charge added to your room bill is a giant benefit! I also used this service during my business trip and never had to worry about the local taxies. It is about 30-40% more than a taxi, but...you do not have to worry, and it is safe!
The open bar area in the lobby is an excellent place to have an informal meeting after work...and the restaurant, La Garden, served a top notch meal with a very friendly staff.
Most people speak English in the hotel, but Spanish is always appreciated.
The area around the hotel is safe and beautiful. You will find that the level of English drops significantly the further away you walk from the hotel...but go out, there are some great restaurants!

Room Tip: I was on the 29th overlooking the park...beautiful! Others stayed on the other side and said it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san juan capistrano
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here when it was the Nikko Hotel and were pleased that the Hyatt is as good. Reservations were less than stellar in that our requested room king, non-smoking was not available. Settled for a lesser room which was OK. Rooms are clean and well-appointed. Free wi-fi is great. Ate 3 meals at El Jardin in the hotel and thought they were adequate.
Hotel staff were polite and most were bilingual.
Great location for restaurants and museums. Feel every safe in this neighborhood. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hyatt Regency (Mexico DF) is a good hotel for business, well located in Polanco with a lot of resyaturants at hand, formerly "Nikko", now managed by Hyatt. The rooms are comfortable, very clean, good access to wi-fi internet, 3 restaurants with 2 japanese choices and one Mexican-International. Service is very good. Gym is very complete but "crowded" at early morning.
Public areas are big and very comfortable. I recommend the hotel !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcmdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 309 in Mexico City
1,088 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 309 in Mexico City
1,326 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 309 in Mexico City
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 309 in Mexico City
637 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 309 in Mexico City
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Property: Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11550, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FITNESS CENTER Our renewed Athletic Club has three tennis courts, sauna, steam room and fitness center area it is available for our guests 24 hours. We have cardiovascular and weight lifting equipment. Our outdoor sundeck and indoor pool is kept at a temperature of 30 ° C (86 ° F). They are located next to the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing