We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still nice as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Ranked #11 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still nice as usual”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is the first time that a stayed at this hotel since becomes Hyatt, the staff and service still perfect as from previous Niko hotel, the room service is fast and you can ask for a nice black angus steak. The breakfast looks like a very nice lunch for around US$ 28. The localization is very good, you can find nice restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    540
    92
    38
    17
See reviews for
187
284
100
1,207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel on business, and from the moment I was dropped off at the hotel, the service was attentive and impeccable. Being an executive club member, I was able to check in on the executive floor (40th floor). Had a great view of the city from my room on the 38th floor. Room was clean, modern, with all necessary amenities. There is a breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor that is awesome, and I also had a great breakfast in the executive club lounge. Very convenient location, to restaurants, museums and shopping as well.

Room Tip: Any room on a high floor will give you a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ushuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I spent four nights on vacation at the Hyatt Regency Mexico City. We chose the hotel partly because of its proximity to Chapultepec Castle, the former residence of Viceroys and Presidents that is now the National History Museum. The museum was spectacular, although it was a longer walk than we had thought (15-20 minutes through the Bosque de Chapultepec). The Museum of Anthropology is a somewhat shorter walk and is also spectacular, with many artifacts from the Aztec, Mayan, and other indigenous cultures. The upscale shops and restaurants of the Polanco neighborhood are also an easy walk from the Hyatt.

The hotel itself is up to Hyatt standards -- clean and comfortable rooms, pleasant public spaces, adequate gym and indoor pool -- but I would not describe it as a world-class hotel like some of the Hyatts in Asia. We are Diamond members in the Hyatt Gold Passport program, and we used one of our four annual Diamond suite upgrades, so we had a suite on a high floor with a view of the city and the mountains beyond. The suite included a bedroom and living area that were really just different sections of the same room, and it also included a separate room with a conference table and about ten chairs. We had no use for the conference room, but business travelers might like it. We also had access to the Regency Club executive lounge, but unfortunately neither the space nor the food was anything to write home about.

The best thing about this hotel is its staff. Everyone seemed capable, diligent, and cheerful. The staff in the Regency Club -- waiters, reception desk personnel, and everyone else -- were particularly charming and helpful. Non-Spanish-speakers will not have too many problems here, since most staff members speak good English, although we encountered a couple of waiters and a few cleaning ladies who spoke only Spanish.

Another good thing about the Hyatt is that it's about a three-minute walk from the Auditorio subway stop. You can go almost anywhere in Mexico City by subway. It's far from trouble-free -- the cars can be crowded, and the various exits at each subway stop are not clearly marked so sometimes it's impossible to know which exit is the right one for your destination -- but it's nice to have an alternative to taxis and city traffic.

Room Tip: High floors are always better. Rooms facing south have a view of the park (Bosque de Chapultepec) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My Sister's & my family stayed here for 5 nights. The location, Polanco is really trendy & upmarket. There are various fine dining restaurants, 7 eleven, Starbucks/Subway within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms are decent sized. In our room we were 2 adults & 2 kids. Good sized bathrooms & good quality toiletries are provided.
We were especially impressed with the extensive breakfast buffet. One of the head chefs (sorry do not remember his name) was extremely helpful & friendly. He went out of his way to explain various local dishes they had at the buffet. The staff serving the tables were friendly too. Unfortunately we were not able to try their other restaurants. The concierge was really helpful.
There were two issues, they did not have currency exchange facility at the hotel. The only option was Intercontinental, next door, which offered terrible rates. Fortunately there is an ATM machine with in Hyatt premises.
On the first day we hired the Hotel car to go to Zocolo. On our return journey we had to hire a local taxi. That is when we realised the price difference. After that we experienced that the staff manning the entrance & the hotel car driver were not very happy when we chose to hire a local taxi. When we asked for local taxi they were not at all helpful. There is always an expectations of tipping for any service. But we realised that is the case in whole of mexico city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaampapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was in Mexico City for two weeks on a business trip. This hotel was the perfect location its located in the heart of Polanco one of the trendy areas of Mexico City. Its within walking distance to great restaurants Aqua Y Sol, Solea, The Plam, P&W, just to name a few of my favorites. In addition the hotel has it own great restaurants one Hibachi style and the other Sushi they were both great on the nights when I didn't feel like walking to one of the other previously named restaurants I enjoyed a great dinner at the hotels in the Hyatt.

The breakfast buffet is also very very good everything is very fresh and flavorful. The customer service of the morning breakfast staff was also great. Outside of being located next to great restaurants the room was very comfortable and modern I loved the décor.

My only drawback is the size of the gym. They have a separate section for cardio equipment (i.e. treadmills, ellipticals, stairmasters, etc) and another section for free weights. It has very great equipment in both areas but the cardio area is not big enough to accommodate the guest when the hotel is sold out. If you like morning workouts this cardio room is packed to capacity by at least 5:30am. Instead of working out in the morning you may choose to work out after 6pm at which time you would have a better chance at choosing the equipment you would like to use.

Another drawback is the Spa. The spa treatments are very limited no body scrub, hot stone, or body wrap treatments. I actually had to make my spa appointment outside of the hotel at the W. It is located on the same street two hotels away. They have great spa packages.

Besides those two things this hotel is great and I would definitely recommend staying at this location. The size of the gym and the spa packages are not deal breakers at all. Just some little things to keep in mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Polanco is a great place to stay in DF. Lots of great restaurants, galleries, street life and pretty safe. In this desirable location, the Hyatt is a good property with several restaurants, large gym and a nice swimming pool. Rooms are comfortable and have coffee makers. Service is professional and helpful. Everyone speaks English. A good option at a reasonable rate.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

For a bussiness trip this hotel is ok, but the rooms are small for latin standards. My objection is, for nearly 300 us per night you can do better in this area of the city, specially considering how small these rooms are (perhaps because this was formerly a japanese chain nikko hotel) On the service side, i have no complaint, it was good and according to a 4 star hotel standard. I would stay here again provided i could get less than 200 per night, otherwise the neighboring jw marriott or or w seem better choice

Room Tip: Get a good rate or an upgrade to jr suite, otherwise look other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barranqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 305 in Mexico City
1,071 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,275 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
910 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 305 in Mexico City
939 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Property: Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11550, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FITNESS CENTER Our renewed Athletic Club has three tennis courts, sauna, steam room and fitness center area it is available for our guests 24 hours. We have cardiovascular and weight lifting equipment. Our outdoor sundeck and indoor pool is kept at a temperature of 30 ° C (86 ° F). They are located next to the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing