We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Ranked #13 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed here 3 times over the past years and always found it to be clean, the staff courtious and the location close to where i need to be.

The breakfast choice is excellent, i especially like the omelet bars.

The conference facilities are also good and the bar and restaurants make it an ideal option

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANSBWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Attractive and pleasant if you can get past the incongruous British name and decor. Brief appetizer menu as well as drinks. No outdoor drinking or smoking space, which really is a loss with the warm winter temps. Still, a relaxing end to a busy day of work or sightseeing.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank FJBCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for one week on the Club Level. Upon arrival we were taken to the 40th floor for check-in, which was smooth and uncomplicated. All the benefits were explained to us. Upon check-in, as it was our honeymoon our room had roses, champagne, and strawberries. Very nice touch.

There were generous hours for breakfast, cocktails, and appetizers for dinner. The breakfast offerings were served from 6-11 a.m. and the hot items included eggs, bacon, sausage, sometimes stewed tomatoes or hot spinach and mushrooms. They also had cereals, soft cheeses, sliced meats, salmon, sometimes another fish, pastries, bread for toasting, fresh fruit and fresh juices. The juices and fruits were always excellent. They obviously serve a very international crowd. Starting at 1 p.m. there were light snacks and you can always get bottled water. Apparently, you can have drinks from 1 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. From 6:30 to 9:30 cold appetizers are served which include some of the items served at breakfast such as the meats and cheeses. They also had small sandwiches, nuts, potato chips, lovely morsels of desserts, and savory pastries.

When you enter the lounge there are two sides with a wall of windows overlooking the city from the 40th floor. No matter what time of day, after you sit, staff will offer you something to drink... coffee, bottled water, wine, or cocktails. The service was professional and prompt. This was largely a business hotel and we saw no children in the lounge during our week here. If you don't speak Spanish that's okay but they seem to appreciate the small phrases in Spanish. I've stayed at many hotel "special" floors and this is in the top one or two.

The rooms are not big by American standards, but immaculate and everything carefully thought out. We had a king bed that was very comfortable, but it seems others disagree. It felt like a firm-ish bed with a nice pillow top.There was a good sized safe, plenty of hangers, a large picture window and we had a great view from the 39th floor. The bathroom was exceptional for a few reasons. I travel a lot for business and no matter where I'm staying I appreciate a well done bathroom. There was a deep soaking tub/shower with a beveled tub bottom to avoid slipping. The shower pressure and temperature was consistent and strong. There is a non-fog center part of the mirror so you never have to wipe down the mirror. There are two marble shelves for toiletries which frees up extra counter space. The shampoo, etc. were very good quality. The only negative is that, as the week wore on, we must have had a smoker in the next room because we smelled smoke in the bathroom (shared ventilation?), but not in the rest of the room. I don't know if smoking was allowed in certain rooms.

We used the pool area almost everyday after walking to areas and museums. There is a large, indoor pool, two-level outdoor deck, and padded loungers in all of them. They also have a steam room and separate sauna, which felt good after a long day of walking. There is a significant workout area which faces the indoor pool, as well. The hotel does offer guest memberships, I guess to nearby residents, so we did see children in the pool on several days (no problem, just something to know).

The prices at the hotel restaurants are steep, beware. Wine is very expensive here. We had a glass of wine at the Shelty Bar, which was very nice, but did not go back. We also had a roll and wine and the Teppan Grill. It was good, but, again, steep. Part of what you are paying for is the location in one of the most lovely, safe areas of Mexico City. We realized what a value staying on the Club level was. There are plenty of lovely restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We had French, Mexican, Italian, Japanese, and dined one night at the famed Pujol.

Police and armed guards in and around the Polanco is very noticeable and after getting used to it, made us feel safe walking at night in that area. Overall this hotel extremely good at what it does. I would stay here again anytime. It's excellent for business people and couples. The proximity to the huge park (larger than Central Park) that has world class museums was a great perk. The staff is very respectful and used to dealing with international guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of this sprawling city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here for a week on business from 21st - 28th February 2014. This is a very hotel in a very good location. Currently undergoing refurbishment but don't let this put you off.

I will stay here again if in Mexico.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil-Angie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is my favorite location in Mexico City; I was concerned that with the major renovation of the lobby, things would slip. But the staff does an excellent job of maintaing the quality. In addition, the food is quite good, not would I would have expected from a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in the Hyatt Regency for six nights last week while visiting Mexico City for the first time. From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed, the front door staff even remembered our names after a few hours. All the staff very courteous and helpful. We never felt as though this was a huge corporate railway station type hotel as many of the others do, even though there was a convention or two while we were staying there. True, that there was remodelling work going on behind the scenes but we did not find it intrusive. The room on the 24th floor overlooking the city was fabulous. Comfy beds, pillows and linens. Free wi-fi. The bathroom well-equipped and the bath a decent size which was lovely. We enjoyed picking up pastries, yogurt, coffee and juice from the bakery in the hotel every morning for breakfast. They make their own pastries and confectionary - all delicious. We had dinner one night at the Japanese restaurant which was very yummy. One of the best sushi restaurants we've been to. The Shelty Bar has a great cosy English clubby feel to it and you can eat there too. One morning we decided to eat fat and went to El Jardin. The spread was from here to there and covered the eating habits of many nationalities. Didn't have to eat again until dinner time! The Hyatt is situated in Polanco which we felt was a very safe area of Mexico City. Lots of good restaurants, very leafy, lovely old houses (a lot of which are now restaurants). We felt very safe walking around at night. Have never seen so many valet parkers and men in black business suits though. You can easily walk to the Museum of Anthropology from the hotel as well as Chapultapec Park where we particularly enjoyed the Castle. Would definitely stay here again and will be interested to see how it looks when all the remodelling is finished. Oh, I nearly forgot the gym which was very good. Spinning bike room, cardio room with lots of machines and plug ins for headphones to individual TV screens on some of the equipment, strength training room, saunas, indoor swimming pool, outdoor deck, upstairs sun deck too. There is a Spa too but we didn't try that. So glad we chose this hotel for our first stay in Mexico City. It was all we could have wished for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The big corporate hotel still has multilingual staff who will try to help with curly questions, and useful advice for the area.

The area is one of the capital's better districts, with a heavy police presence keeping the well heeled and the diplomatic corps comfortable.

There's plenty of good bar and restaurant options nearby, even one twenty-year burrito institution.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goat-whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,168 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 312 in Mexico City
989 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#9 of 312 in Mexico City
1,014 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos No. 204, Polanco Chapultepec, Mexico City 11550, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Nikko Mexico)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £120 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 755
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FITNESS CENTER Our renewed Athletic Club has three tennis courts, sauna, steam room and fitness center area it is available for our guests 24 hours. We have cardiovascular and weight lifting equipment. Our outdoor sundeck and indoor pool is kept at a temperature of 30 ° C (86 ° F). They are located next to the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikko Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing