We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reservation on file”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel de Cortes
Ranked #256 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No reservation on file”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

I would have liked to stay here. The evening befor my arrival I called to dbl check on the room and was told they had no record of my reservation. My travel agent advised they were unaware of what a confirmation number was. Later I was called and told I needed to cancel my original reservation in order for them to create a new one. As well they could only provide a room for 1/2 of my requested time. In light of all the shinanigans I decided to stay elsewhere. Definitely verify that they have a room for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watercooled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    58
    23
    22
    28
See reviews for
18
74
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a great small hotel centrally located. The staff is pleasant and rooms nicely outfitted. My only negative comment is the bottled water provided is extremely expensive bottle which is added to the price of the room.

Room Tip: No pool or spa. Second floor rooms appeared to be larger but basic room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejs740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Newly refurbished room, comfortable bed and overall good service. A tad noisy at nights if you get a room facing the avenue Alameda, but other than that nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Very handy to stay so close to downtown in Mexico city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Migsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in downtown Mexico City. The room was spacious and comfortable and pretty. The breakfast in the courtyard was lovely and I found the staff to be very friendly and they couldn't do enough to help us whether it be booking taxis, giving advice or coming up to fix the flooding shower on our last morning. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel gets most things right, but it falls short of its ambitions. It is very well located, steps from metro Hidalgo, lines 3 & 4 of the metrobus, and a short walk to the Zocalo. Nicely remodeled property with clean and stylish rooms. Good but not stellar restaurant and rooftop bar on weekends (overpriced). But it is the details. On my first visit, I stayed in room 201, right below the bar. Contrary to previous reviews, the noise wasn't too bad, that is, from the bar. Sadly, there is an industrial strength exhaust fan for the kitchen that lets out right next to the shower skylight, so there is a 24/7 rumble that invades the room. Also, when shutting the bar, the crew threw the bar mat on the slylight, so as i looked up in the shower, the nice visual was ruined. Other minor annoyances, one day the water bottles were not replaced, though unlike a previous reviewer, the coffee was. On my last day, I had breakfast from the menu, and the refried beans with the huevos rancheros ware cold, and I feared they might be unsafe. Oddlyy, on my first visit, I didn't get turn-down service (not that I care, since it's largely BS), but did on my second stay. As I said, it's details and consistancy. Again, this hotel gets most things right, but the really unexcusable fault is the cleaning crew entering the room unannounced at 8:30 am on 2 successive days until I learned to put out the "do not disturb" card. I have never, anywhere, experienced that kind of inappropriate intrusion.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PuraBuenaOnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I did not know of this hotel. It has an awesome terrace where to hang out if weather is nice. The hotel seems to be very old and well kept but the interiors are modern and chic. Interesting combination. Service at the bar was awfully slow but that was not what makes me want a hotel anyway. Location is great to scout around downtown or to leave to the airport early the next day.

Room Tip: Choose downstairs and opposite to the street and bar. Less noise from the outside for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSoyDeAquiNiSoyDeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just came back from a two night trip to Mexico city where colleagues and I stayed in this hotel. The hotel is in a beautifully restored building looking onto a central courtyard. Probably would have given this 5 stars had it not been for noise and a few issues with breakfast. We all stayed in the deluxe rooms on the 2nd floor.

Positives
- Beautifully restored building and rooms
- Very comfortable beds; rooms also have ironing boards, safes, free wireless (ask reception for password), big flat screen TV with a large selection of channels
- Best shower I've had in a hotel - rainforest shower with great water pressure and a skylight two floors up
- Incredibly friendly and helpful staff - especially the bell boys
- Great location - easy walk to Revolution Monument, to the historic district and the main city square
- Rooms very clean

Negatives
- When the roof top bar is open (it was on Valentines Day), fairly loud music is played in the courtyard which carries clearly into the rooms - although it didn't go on too late
- Breakfast on the first day took over an hour and not all items were delivered, although they still tried to charge for them
- On second day, although breakfast was meant to start at 7am, by 7.20 it still wasn't open, so we had to go to Starbucks across the park

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms as they are on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#116 of 312 in Mexico City
136 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,670 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 312 in Mexico City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,398 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
661 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#32 of 312 in Mexico City
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Property: Boutique Hotel de Cortes
Address: Esq. Reforma, Centro Historico Avenida Hidalgo 85 | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel de Cortes, one of the earliest hostelries in The Americas, has been transformed into a modern Boutique hotel which is located on the main entrance of Mexico City’s Historic Downtown Our guests will be absorbed by the cultural and historical transcendence of the place, through the elegance and the most beautiful contemporary minimalist decoration.Boutique Hotel De Cortes is widely recognized for its personalized customer service. The services provided by our Dynamic Professional subjected to the most stringent high standards, same team that only work with the only purpose to make every guest happy and satisfied and make them wish to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Cortes Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing