We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Courtyard, ok Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel de Cortes
Ranked #258 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Courtyard, ok Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I got a great deal last minute from a third party booking site, and thought the hotel has a great location and a beautiful building, however, there were a few odd things. Like the other reviewers mentioned, the hotel is fairly loud, in addition to the music, our room was located next to what must have been an elevator, and you could hear it going up and down. The room was spacious and clean, but the clear glass leading into the bathroom was rather odd, and the room was laid out in such a way that you could see directly into the bathroom from the bed. The staff was nice, and helped book a tour, though I wasn't a huge fan of the tour company they use.

Room Tip: You can hear the elevator from the rooms on the south side. Noise from the courtyard is right out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 718WorldTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    57
    23
    22
    28
See reviews for
18
73
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The room has several fails: leaks at wc, tube dirty, bad tv channel selection and bad tv channel selection.
Dangerous wood floor
Bad people attitude, desk clerk (we had several during our stay) were not involved in improving our experience

Do not waste your money.

The room was not ready by the moment we arrived.
Previous arrangements were not honored.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Large open courtyard (where the main eating area is located) surrounded by two floors of rooms, non-stop music pumped in from early morn to 11pm. Don't even think of asking them to turn it down. If you enjoy listening to all of Michael Jackson's hits back to back, this is the place for you. Nothing like listening to Thriller full blast while you're trying to enjoy your meal or you're just trying to relax in your room after a long day touring all of Mexico City's beautiful museums. And if you think the racket stops at 11pm, you're in for a wonderful surprise when the crowd that goes up to the rooftop lounge (beautiful view of the city), leaves and exits thru the courtyard making a ruckus.
If you still want to stay here, bring the best ear plugs you can find and a can of hot paste wax to fill in the gaps.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77mike1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Average is the best word to describe our experience at the BdC. We had 3 nights there. The room was nice enough, clean, spacious, modern. The 'boutique' idea is there but I can't find much to justify the price apart from good the location.
Staff were friendly and helpful, which is probably the most important thing, but it was a shame there were a few things letting it down - the towels were old and frayed. The included breakfast was distinctly average (fruit, cold toast, coffee.) (Maybe it was unfortunate we had just come from somewhere that cost less but gave us a full breakfast every day.) And there was no acknowlegement we were on our honeymoon.
The location is great for the Centro Historico, but we would not feel particularly inclined to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Do not go there. Very bad Hotel Management. The rooms look nice in the first view. But there is must everywhere. Furthermore the hotel personel did steal 40.-USD out of our luggage wihle we were doing a city tour. Boutique Hotel de Cortes NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful part of town in the Centro Historico however the hotel could be so much better.
We stayed in one of the suites which turned out to be beside the lift that you could clearly hear whenever it was used. Not bad the first few days because the place was empty but a problem the last night. To make matters worse there was a mechanical noise every night I suspect was from the air conditioner, sleep was impossible.
We ate breakfast the first morning but the stale pasties sent us off to Wings for the remainder of our stay.
The cab we booked with the concierge turned out to be a private car with no meter, charged 150 Pesos for a 60 Peso ride..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elista
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I agree with earlier complimentary reviews and would like to note one moment which annoyed me a lot. Please upgrade your wifi system and increase the speed. If you think you cannot afford it free of charge, charge for god sake to have a decent wifi connection.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Director General at Boutique Hotel de Cortes, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Mr. Alex,

We appreciate your staying with us at Hotel de Cortes. Our main goal is to provide our guests with excellent service. Before 2013 ends, we will be upgrading our serve. We hope to see you again in Hotel de Cortes and may you have a wonderful year 2014.

With my best regards

Mr. Martin Morales
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#121 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Centro Historico
BEST WESTERN Hotel Majestic
BEST WESTERN Hotel Majestic
#114 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#30 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#48 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#16 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de Cortes

Property: Boutique Hotel de Cortes
Address: Esq. Reforma, Centro Historico Avenida Hidalgo 85 | Frente Alameda Central, Mexico City 06300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel de Cortes, one of the earliest hostelries in The Americas, has been transformed into a modern Boutique hotel which is located on the main entrance of Mexico City’s Historic Downtown Our guests will be absorbed by the cultural and historical transcendence of the place, through the elegance and the most beautiful contemporary minimalist decoration.Boutique Hotel De Cortes is widely recognized for its personalized customer service. The services provided by our Dynamic Professional subjected to the most stringent high standards, same team that only work with the only purpose to make every guest happy and satisfied and make them wish to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Cortes Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing