We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable little oasis in a big city!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maria Cristina
Ranked #104 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Lovely little charming hotel at reasonable price. The little courtyards are a peaceful retreat. The beds were comfortable. There was a large tub but you needed to step up to enter it. try the sangria..a unique take and the friends I was with all loved it!...Not at all like what I have had before..or any of us there!Tho I did not eat breakfast my friends that did loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tampagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maria Cristina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Maria Cristina is like your favorite pair of shoes, well broken in, reliable, not super fancy, but something you can count on. How may hotels these days take a booking without a credit card to hold the room? The service is great at a modest price, a friendly welcome, and they will remember you upon your return. The restaurant onsite serves a great breakfast, and the bar and garden truly make this a home away from home in a very large, busy, sometimes loud and crazy city. Not chic or trendy, the neighborhood has received a recent boost with the large building/shopping center across Paseo de la Reforma - don't miss El Bajio for some of the best food in town. Sundays an easy walk to the Parque Sulivan for the artist market. It is easy to forget the chaos that is Mexico City here. We always go for the deluxe rooms - which have a/c, so cannot comment for the other more modestly priced rooms.

Room Tip: A funny numbering scheme for the floors - a room facing the garden is always nice.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Maria Cristina is just off Avenida Reforma, in a very safe part of town. To get there, either take a taxi, or it's a 15 minute walk from Insurgentes metro stop thru a nice open air neighborhood shopping district on Genova to Reforma. There, on Reforma, it goes upscale and there are high rise malls with all the comforts of home. We walked down along Reforma to Hildago metro then thru the Alameda (park) to the Zocalo. Took about 20 minutes to walk. But there are also buses running down Reforma.
The hotel is clean and rooms are less than $100/night. No refrig or ice in even the best rooms, but there is a mediocre restaurant in the lobby which also caters to your room. We found a very nice Argentinian restaurant down the block, and the Zona Rosa is only a few blocks away for wider restaurant and night life selection. Quiet and family hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spikekahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, with the intention of sightseeing and shopping. The hotel is only minutes away from the main boulevard, where you can walk (maybe a bit far for some, but we like to walk) to a lot of what is to be seen. Make sure to visit the Anthropology museum!
The room was a good size, but make sure you ask to stay in the new wing of the hotel, as the old one is OLD. I personally missed a duve, but I guess southern countries just don't have a need for those. Oh and softer pillows would go a long way!
We especially enjoyed the garden where we could soak up some much needed sun and the bar building was just beside it - all in all a good combination!
The restaurant wasn't impressive but passable, and the reception staff helped you as you needed but nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new wing of the hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel, though old, has the charm of an old hotel. it is also quiet, with and amenity quite unusual for DF: a garden. Rooms are clean and spacious, though old fashioned. Location is great- just a block behind Reforma.

It is a haven in a crazed city.

Restaurant is passable if one orders judiciously. Bar is delightful, with tables in the garden. Oh, and did I mention parking?

Room Tip: get one facing away from Calle Rio Lerma- you'll overlook the parking lot, but that won't ma...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClovisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Price was 1000 Mexican Pesos per night excluding breakfast.
Acceptable if there would not be the neglectance of travellers needs.

Here is what I experienced:
- You either have to pay in advance or sign a blanc credit card slip
- Upon arrival they did not have the king size bed available even so booked it especially - so I had to change room
- The internet charges are 20 Mex Pesos for an hour (cionsequitive use), 150 for 2 consequetive days
- Late check out impossible - or you are charged full day for check out at 17:00 hours - reson was supposed their computer system which does not allow to charge less than full day rate
- request to speak to the owner was denied - the stuff said straight forward they will not call him!
- The curtains do not keep out the early sunshine because to light-
- Hotel was undergoing renovation - only the entrance. The rooms which also need renovation (stained and worn out carpets, stained shower, etc.
- The room maid removed my room key from the slot (and took it with her) so when I came home after work the room was hot.
- Make sure you drink both bottles of free water. If not they are so cheap not to put 2 new onces in your room.

Travelling for more than 27 years I have never seen such hotel - sorry to say that I have never seen such unqualified service.

Really do not understand how others rated the service good or very good. Service is not only a smile but listening to customers needs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GermanWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed here a few times when in el DF in transit to other paces. Very nice, comfortable, homey. On a quiet street but a short cab ride to everything. The chilaquiles are among the best I've had anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globewanderist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#133 of 312 in Mexico City
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#28 of 312 in Mexico City
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Maris
Stella Maris
#115 of 312 in Mexico City
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Suites Reforma
Eurostars Suites Reforma
#112 of 312 in Mexico City
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevilla Palace
Sevilla Palace
#59 of 312 in Mexico City
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#193 of 312 in Mexico City
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina

Address: Calle Rio Lerma No. 31 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maria Cristina is located in the most important Financial Center in Mexico City, near the best entertainment places. Enjoy comfort and top service in one of our 150 guest rooms with internet service (WIFI)and convenient hotel amenities such as restaurant-bar, beauty salon, souvenir shop, a business center and function space for meetings or special events and the hotel has a beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Mexico City
Hotel Maria Cristina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing