We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maria Cristina
Ranked #106 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Burnsville,NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

Based on the recommendations of reviewers on Trip Advisor, my dad and I decided to reserve a room for one week at the Maria Cristina. The room was quite comfortable, and the air conditioning was a blessing. The staff was very helpful, and the restaurant was decent and very convenient. The grounds are peaceful and quite lovely. Internet is available for a really reasonable cost. Taxis are available right outside the hotel at all times. They are priced fairly and clean, and the drivers are courteous and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone unless you want something luxurious. If so, stay at one of the big chains and maybe you'll think you're still in the U.S.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mtntravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    128
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
48
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2008

The hotel was a recommendation from a friend.

The hotel is a little hotel in the middle of the city, with a beautiful garden and a lot of tranquility.
It is an independet hotel , so for big chain lovers might not be their cup of tea.
For me is perfect, more personal treatment, like a family run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank alankia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2008

HMC is easily equivalent to a US 3.5 star hotel. The property is very nice and I wouldn't entirely agree with the "uninteresting rooms" description in some other reviews. Yes, they don't have a lot of character, but they're solid and clean with nice amenities. It might get pretty rough in summer, though, as I didn't see an AC unit in ours. The location and grounds are nice and the staff was very friendly. It's not the type of place I'd go for an extended DF stay, but it's quite nice for a night or two if you're entering/leaving DF.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

I stayed there with my husband for a few nights around Christmas time. We got a deluxe room with king size bed. The room was spacious with a good sized and very clean bathroom. Our only complaint was the air conditioning. The deluxe room is equipped with a/c (which you pay the extra $20 US for). Unfortunately, our air did not function correctly and we had to call reception several times before moving to a different room. Once we moved everything seemed to work fine.

A week later, on the last leg of our trip before heading home, we tried our luck in a standard room. This was great (and cheaper). It was a bit smaller with a smaller bathroom, but all in all a very nice room.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, I would stay somewhere else, and pay a premium. If you are looking for a clean & spacious room in a great location, I would book the Maria Cristina.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Cheri_Ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Admittedly I haven't been there in the last ten years but your reviewers seem to confirm what I remember. Also friends who have been staying there for years and have done so recently agree with my memory. I have traveled the world extensively and even though I have stayed at some very grand and quite famous hotels I will be staying at this hotel when I go to Mexico City later this year.

The staff were very helpful especially the front desk. The rooms have always been satisfactory. While I do not recall the menu at the restaurant being very innovative I have always enjoyed my meals there.

For my needs the location is fine. What others have said is true about feeling safe in the area, even when walking at night. Which is more than I can say for parts of Hollywood, California, where I live.

Also it is nice to know that there is still somewhere you can smoke.

  • Liked — Attitude
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Navillus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2007

This hotel is great! The staff is super friendly and everwhere is very very clean. You walk in and you are greeted with a smile. the rooms are very large and the rates are quite afordable. The restaurant in the hotel has great food and is reasonably priced. The travel guide, Arnaldo, who has a desk in the lobby is wonderful! He will take you wherever you want to go and he knows everything and pretty much everybody! I have no complaints whatsoever about the Hotel Maria Cristina!

  • Liked — it was very clean and the staff was very friendly
  • Disliked — i loved it all!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank baltazarsanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

After reading many of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor I decided to spend a couple of nights at the Maria Cristina Hotel on a recent trip to Mexico City. I enjoyed my stay so much that I decided to stay at the hotel again on my return trip home a couple of weeks later.

If you are interested in a clean, comfortable, safe hotel at a reasonable price than this is the place for you!

The hotel is located on a rather quiet street that is a block from the Paseo de la Reforma and a five minute walk to the trendy 'Zona Rosa' district. I found the area around the hotel extremely safe and convenient to local shopping and restaurants.

The staff of the hotel was extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. The front desk day manager Carlos was exceptionally helpful.

It has been owned and operated by the same family for several years. The back of the hotel has been recently renovated and the front part of the hotel has not. I stayed in both parts (on two separate occasions). The renovated rooms are larger, have central a/c, refrigerators and cost about US$20 more per night. In my opinion they were worth the additional charge but both rooms were equally clean and comfortable.

There is a great restaurant in the lobby of the hotel that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. WIFI is available in all of the rooms for a reasonable fee, or there are a couple of computers for rent in the lobby area.

It does not have a fitness center or pool, but the front desk directed me to a local gym a few blocks away that was very clean and well equipped.

My only complaint has to do with the firmness of the beds....they were too hard! But this is a problem I have encountered all over Mexico as well as other Latin American countries and do not hold it against the Maria Cristina Hotel!!! And the hotel gladly brought extra pillows to my room so that I would sleep very well.

I highly recommend this hotel for the traveler that is interested in comfort, safety and cleanliness at a very reasonable price. This is as good as it comes!

  • Liked — Location and well equipped rooms
  • Disliked — The firmness of the beds
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank beechmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Bristol
#147 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Eurostars Suites Reforma
#110 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina
Address: Calle Rio Lerma No. 31 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maria Cristina is located in the most important Financial Center in Mexico City, near the best entertainment places. Enjoy comfort and top service in one of our 150 guest rooms with internet service (WIFI)and convenient hotel amenities such as restaurant-bar, beauty salon, souvenir shop, a business center and function space for meetings or special events and the hotel has a beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Mexico City
Hotel Maria Cristina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing