We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maria Cristina
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mexico City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Suites Marne(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Stella Maris(Mexico City)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Compostela(Mexico City)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      Hotel Sevilla(Mexico City)
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Parking
      • Restaurant
      Hotel Casa Gonzalez(Mexico City)
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Pool
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      Reviews (271)
      Filter reviews
      271 results
      Traveller rating
      68
      138
      38
      18
      9
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      68
      138
      38
      18
      9
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewszona rosarespectable hotelcolonial style hotellovely old hotelsmall refrigeratorlarge lobbybeds were comfortablebritish embassycleaning ladiesdeluxe roomhotel makesthe air conditioningexcellent locationnight lifetwo nightsfew blocksroom safe
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      122 - 127 of 271 reviews
      Reviewed 21 December 2006

      I know Mexico City well, and when I was a kid in the 70's there used to be many hotels like the Maria Cristina...privately owned, well run, clean and, even though they weren't swanky or had tons of amenities, they were inviting and charming. If you'd prefer a soulless, overpriced business hotel that feels like Denver or Kyoto or Frankfurt, don't stay here; you don't deserve it. The Maria Cristina is a charming, well run, respectable hotel with a solid staff who have seen it all. The rooms are quite, cleaning ladies efficient, the restaurant a deal and all for WAY below what you'll pay at the Fiesta American or Sheraton...all in a great location. I'd rather you NOT know about this place, but I want to make sure they stick around for awhile and compete with the big guys around the block. If you're a seasoned traveler, you'll understand once you're there.

      Stayed: July 2006
      7  Thank NYDCTraveler
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 November 2006

      What a nice place to stay. Clean and convenience location hotel. It was so comfortable to stay Maria Christina. It's quite enough and also walking distance to Zona Rosa. My favourite place was Bar. It was such a nice place to drink beer and take a rest. Restaurant was not good. I recommend to go to any taco stand near by. If I go to Mexico City again, I will stay there. Because it's very clean, safe, nice, good service and beautiful colonial style hotel which you can not find in the U.S.
      26OCT-29OCT2006

      • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      7  Thank Tabi55
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 12 November 2006

      We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and everything was perfect. Very comfortable rooms, well-equiped bathrooms, very quiet despite being close to the Reforma. Friendly staff and a beautiful colonial house....if you want to stay in Mexico City without paying the overpriced international chain-hotels, this is the ideal place.

      • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      4  Thank twixelien1975
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 October 2006

      totally agree..our experience was good. The Maria Cristina is a great hotel for the casual or the business traveler. This 'classic choice for budget travelers' It was a very individual hotel, with a classic lobby, uniformed staff. Nice breakfast at restuarant & friendly waiters. We had a deluxe double standard room overlooking the garden. Very clean and nice linens. Very quiet. AC, windows opened & fan. We are non-smokers, not sure if they have non smoking rooms, but didn't smell.
      Had considered Camino Real, but after visiting by there, was glad we chose MC. Much more convient & nice Restuarants nearby.
      Also local artists in nearby park on Sunday.

      • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      5  Thank TravelerTN
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 September 2006

      Agree with most of what is written here re the Hotel Maria Cristina being a great value.

      Beware, though: When I checked in, they tried to upgrade me to a nicer room without mentioning that it would be significantly more expensive. The way they phrased it, I could easily have thought it was a free upgrade. Fortunately I decided to ask.

      Otherwise, great hotel for this price range.

      Stayed: August 2006
      7  Thank stmalone
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews