We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Excellent Restaurants, Pleasant Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maria Cristina
Ranked #106 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Excellent Restaurants, Pleasant Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

ROOMS: Tried the single the first night. It was a tight fit and lacked air conditioning, but was adequate. Upgraded to a Deluxe Double thereafter that was quite spacious, clean and had a pleasant view of the courtyard.
STAFF: Receptionists went, in my opinion, beyond the normal call of duty to help me and other guests with information...maps, phone numbers, itinerary information, etc. The restaurant staff was interminably patient despite "energetic" children dining. I also found the recommended doctor...Dr. Mora... very helpful when I was in need of services.
RESTAURANT: Excellent variety, including calamar. Always pleased w/ the multiple meals I ate here. And I appreciated efforts to segragate smokers from non-smokers.
ANCILLARY: Nice little shop offered essentials and postcards. Also, 3 Internet computers available 24x7, rather inexpensive and I never had to wait for one. Very attractive courtyard.
LOCATION: OXXO selling Mazapan just two blocks away!!!!! :-) Very close to El Angel. Chapultepec w/in walking distance, but I took a taxi. Seemed to be a safe area, I never felt nervous day or night walking near the hotel.
WOULD I STAY AGAIN: I would consider it. There are less expensive places, one of which I'll try in September...Hotel Fleming.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AAJetMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    128
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
48
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2007

I would agree with the previous reviewer - nothing terrible, but nothing special. The garden is nice, the neighborhood quiet, but a bit shabby, and the hotel is getting a bit tired.

And yes, the shower/bathtub is weirdly high. You almost need a ladder to get in. Restaurant wasn't bad - breakfast much better than dinner. Probably wouldn't ever go again though.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MusicFoodTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

After the rave reviews on this site I had expected something special so I was a bit disappointed. We had 3 rooms for 3 nights.

Location: Quiet, easy to get anywhere by taxi, lot of rundown properties nearby.

Room amenities: I missed having a clock/radio! Had a lot of minor problems - no water early one morning, no phone system one day, keycards didn't work etc. Plus a nearly 2 foot step to get into the bath which would have been difficult after a few beers (I didn't try).

Restaurant: Much better than expected. 4-course lunch for under 10 dollars was well worth it. Excellent service. No high-chair for babies though.

Overall there was a nice ambience, good service - but not much above average for 100 dollars a night.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Minor technical nusiances
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

I stayed at the Maria Cristina with 3 other friends,we had a lovely time. The food in the restaurant is o.k. the waiters are very good and friendly. Only one problem. we booked 2 rooms with air conditioning but when we arrived they were not available. A bit disappointing but we didn't let it spoil our time there. If you want a tour of Mexico, ask for Javier, great taxi driver, very careful and a nice guy. Tell him Maria and her friends from England recommended him. I would recommend the Maria Cristina to anyone who wants a nice, clean friendly hotel with a family atmosphere in Mexico City at a reasonable cost.

  • Liked — The rooms were clean and well kept.
  • Disliked — We didn't get the rooms we booked so we had no air conditioning.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tynegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2007

My second stay at this wonderful place confirms that it's my new favorite choice for Mexico City lodging. The many positive attributes are repeated in the other reviews; proximity, quiet neighborhood, historic building, character, price, etc. I had a wonderful time lounging in the bar as a vivacious group of Korean diplomats got me drunk and fed me interesting tales of current events, international politics, and dodge ball. Interesting people seem to be drawn to this place. I've observed that during both stays.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jr95112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2006

I know Mexico City well, and when I was a kid in the 70's there used to be many hotels like the Maria Cristina...privately owned, well run, clean and, even though they weren't swanky or had tons of amenities, they were inviting and charming. If you'd prefer a soulless, overpriced business hotel that feels like Denver or Kyoto or Frankfurt, don't stay here; you don't deserve it. The Maria Cristina is a charming, well run, respectable hotel with a solid staff who have seen it all. The rooms are quite, cleaning ladies efficient, the restaurant a deal and all for WAY below what you'll pay at the Fiesta American or Sheraton...all in a great location. I'd rather you NOT know about this place, but I want to make sure they stick around for awhile and compete with the big guys around the block. If you're a seasoned traveler, you'll understand once you're there.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank NYDCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

What a nice place to stay. Clean and convenience location hotel. It was so comfortable to stay Maria Christina. It's quite enough and also walking distance to Zona Rosa. My favourite place was Bar. It was such a nice place to drink beer and take a rest. Restaurant was not good. I recommend to go to any taco stand near by. If I go to Mexico City again, I will stay there. Because it's very clean, safe, nice, good service and beautiful colonial style hotel which you can not find in the U.S.
26OCT-29OCT2006

  • Liked — Clean, safe and good location.
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Exchange rate was better than Mexico City Airport
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Tabi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Bristol
#147 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Eurostars Suites Reforma
#110 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina
Address: Calle Rio Lerma No. 31 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maria Cristina is located in the most important Financial Center in Mexico City, near the best entertainment places. Enjoy comfort and top service in one of our 150 guest rooms with internet service (WIFI)and convenient hotel amenities such as restaurant-bar, beauty salon, souvenir shop, a business center and function space for meetings or special events and the hotel has a beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Mexico City
Hotel Maria Cristina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing