We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #13 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I really love staying at this hotel and you really can't beat the value. The roof top view is wonderful and i took beautiful pictures of sundown from there. I can't say enough about the location of the hotel which right in the middele of the centro historico. There are plenty of restaurants around and shopping areas are all over. The hotel also has a travel agency within the property which was really convenient. I've stayed there twice already and I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    384
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
232
344
111
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was traveling with a group of seveteen college students and adults. The hotel staff was always pleasant and accomodating. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was the best i have ever experienced !!! And, the individual dining rooms provided delicious mexican food and wonderful service. The views of the volcanos and the zocolo and cathedral from the lovely rooftop patios were spectacular ! I will return every time i visit this awesome city !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be a perfectly adequate hotel. It is nothing to write home about, hence the brevity of this review , but it is clean and secure and most of all it is brilliantly located literally behind the cathedral and the Zocalo. You could not ask for a more central hotel.
The rooms are okay but a bit poky, breakfast and the restaurant in general were decent too.
If you are only staying for a few days then this hotel will do perfectly. If you want luxury then go elsewhere.
It represents good value for money though at only 40 euro or 60 dollars a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our Mexico holiday. It was everything the reviews said it was; convenient location, clean rooms, good breakfast selection and helpful staff. I'd definitely recommend this place. The only downfall was the not so soft beds.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellabels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

A very clean, friendly hotel in a great location. The breakfast buffet is excellent and goes on until twelve.There are also two roof terraces with spectacular views. Also it has cable with American stations which was nice for a solo traveller. On the down side, my room was very dark and you couldn´t open the windows so I wouldn´t stay here if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room. After five nights I felt a bit claustrophic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George´s, Grenada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This small hotel in downtown Mexico City has all the ingredients for a good stay in this very busy city. The location is just perfect, in the heart of the historic center of the city; the rooms are very clean and comfortable; the restaurant has a good menu, and the service is just fantastic. This is the first time we stayed in downtown and we are considering visiting again and stay in this very good hotel. Ah, forgot to mention that the rates are more than reasonable. Truly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andie1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We spent four nights in this hotel and had a great time in the city. While it doesn't have as much character as I usually like in my hotels, it was clean, well-run, and comfortable. We had a nice view of the cathedral from our window (plus the backs of some buildings). We had the included breakfast the first two mornings, and they were excellent, with lots of hot choices, good fruit, and plenty of coffee and juice for about 90 pesos. The location is great, just a block from the zocalo on a relatively quiet side street (although I'd be wary of the rooms in the front since there was a bar across the street playing loud music). It was great to be able to walk around the city and return so easily.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blkdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing