We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great well priced hotel in Mexico City”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #13 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great well priced hotel in Mexico City”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a great mid range hotel very conveniently located in Mexico City. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast in the morning is delicious. The best part of this hotel is the staff. They are extremely helpful. Also, don't worry about the safety of your belongings. I left a very nice jacket in my room and they staff saved the jacket for me and I was able to collect the jacket a week later even though I did not report the jacket as missing!

I would recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csnively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    385
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
236
347
111
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed there 3 years ago and suggested it to our daughter and her boyfriend who are there now. They love it as well- great location, great price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Located only meters from the Zocalo, you get the benefit of being close to the action, without all the noise.

We had a recently renovated room with a view of the Cathedral. I really recommend you request a room like this and pay a little more.

The morning buffet breakfast was great and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbourne505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Have stayed in the Hotel Catedral many times over the years and it never disappoints. If you are like me and are looking for value, location , cleanliness and service, look no further. Its a bonus to have a good restaurant on site.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Maria Antuanetta, the cook, was always friendly and the breakfast was extremely delicious. The rooms are very clean and in excellent condition. The roof top has an amazing view over Mexico City. Polite stuff and very accommodating. If you do not mind noise from the street and night clubs, this is the great location with ample security.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Do not expect a 5-star hotel experience, but the Hotel Catedral has a perfect location, truly excellent service, and offers great value. Stayed three nights in December that coincided with both the feast of the VIrgin of Guadalupe and a 6.5 earthquake (that did very little damage in Mexico City), so hardly a typical period. But the staff were very, very helpful throughout, and calm and professional even when faced with something as unexpected as the earthquake. I needed to plug in a medical device next to my bed, and since there was no outlet close enough the staff went out immediately and bought a long extension cord to run unobtrusively along the baseboard for me. The cook and attendant at the breakfast buffet -- Mary and Nohemi -- were really charming and looked after needs and preferences beyond expectations. The rooms are large, clean, and recently redone. I also appreciated the solidity of the hotel when the earth was shaking for more than a minute (the staff at the desk said it was not at all a frequent occurrence, yet they never lost their cool). Being able to stroll to the Zocalo in under five minutes was great, yet as another traveller noted the hotel was a comfortable refuge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband, brother-in-law, friend and I stayed there 3 nights the week of Thanksgiving. I picked this place based on reviews on Tripadvisor. It was an excellent value. Friendly and efficient staff. Awesome views from the terraces. Good food. The rooms facing the outside have very nice views, but are noisy. Bring ear plugs. The inner rooms facing the ventilation shaft have not view, but are quiet. The decor is tasteful and practical. It reminded me of nicer travel hotels in Europe. The location cannot be beaten. Free wireless. Filtered water comes out of its own faucet in the bathroom. Flat screen TVs if you have time to watch it. Walking distance to all points of interest downtown the historic center. We were out walking around 10PM-11PM, never felt unsafe. Things have changed downtown. Few years ago, things would shut down by 8PM, streets were dark. That's no longer the case. Maybe it's because it was close to the holiday season. Would stay at Hotel Catedral again whenever we need to stay downtown.

Room Tip: If you want views, pick a room facing outside. If you want a quiet room, pick one inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texmexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#23 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#33 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing