We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catedral
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$471
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Reforma(Mexico City)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,393)
Filter reviews
1,393 results
Traveller rating
835
436
78
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
436
78
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour desktemplo mayormain cathedralgreat bargainexcellent locationcentral locationtwo blocksbreakfast buffetsingle roomzocalo areathe hotel stafftop floorhistoric centerno air conditioningrooms are cleaninternet accessfive nights
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 1,393 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great value, great location right behind the cathedral and the Zocalo. A good experience on our first trip to this very intense and exciting City. There were no downsides to our stay here and the location really is unbeatable. The traffic seems to be almost always gridlocked so the ability to stroll out of the hotel door and be in the centre of the city with all it's sights within walking distance was a boon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have stayed here for 3 different trips to Mexico City now. The customer service is outstanding, especially the bellman Luis Angel! He goes above and beyond to assist with anything you need. the location is is perfect. close to everything. The breakfast buffet was very good. all is all this hotel is the best around for the $$.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annamariav516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We recently had a great stay at the Hotel Catedral. They are remodeling the rooms floor by floor and prices have gone up somewhat, but it was still a bargain for our family of four at 1035 pesos. Ask for a room on floor four or above for nice city views. The nightclub on Donceles is noisy, but we were happy to put up with it in return for a balcony. The rooms were comfortable and the agua purificada tap in the bathroom is great.

We did not use the buffet breakfast in the hotel because we preferred to eat out, but it looked good. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant once and I have to say it was one of the worst meals we had in Mexico. The staff at the hotel were helpful and most spoke reasonably good English. We always felt safe returning home at night. The location is perfect being a block away from the zocalo. There is a 7-11 at the corner for cerveza and tons of great restaurants on 5 de Mayo and Madero. My kids loved the cookies and candy in the lobby. We will stay here again when we are in Mexico City.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank campingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent a very pleasant week here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's just behind the cathedral in the zocalo and therefore in a super location. The staff were terrific, and so were the galletas that resembled shortbread that were almost always on the front desk. A comment has been made here already about the air: it was not functioning but I'm not sure I would have been any more comfortable. Most city hotel rooms are stuffy, in my experience. The breakfast buffet was good and included in our room rate of $78 US a night, which I thought was very reasonable given the hotel's location. I cannot recommend the restaurant. We ate there a couple of times and really enjoyed the caldo xóchitl, but most other dishes were very mediocre. Service was a bit slow too. Our room faced the very small central courtyard: no view but we rarely heard a sound from outside and one morning slept till 10 because it was so dark with the curtains drawn. We ended each day with a cigar/cigarette and a whisky on the rooftop terrace, enchanted by the scent of gardenias and less so with the interminable Aztec drumming in the zocalo. But that's merely a comment, not a complaint. Happy memories all round!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My boyfriend and I liked the hotel’s accommodations, but faced some homophobia from the front desk staff. We booked a matrimonial room online (one king sized bed), but when we showed up and asked for our reservation, the clerks laughed and made seemingly homophobic remarks to each other in Spanish. (We don’t speak the language well, but it was obvious we were the butt of their jokes). It was not the welcome I anticipated and made us feel like crap.

The hotel is also under construction, a fact the hotel conveniently neglects to announce. Construction starts very early in the morning (6-8 AM) and continues throughout the day. The room wasn’t discounted at all even though this was going on the entire six days we were there. Despite the staff's insensitivity and the construction noise, Hotel Catedral is a good budget option with clean, modern rooms. It is in a location convenient to the Metro and cultural sites such as the Zocalo, Templo Mayor, and the Metropolitan Cathedral. The shuttle from the airport ($3 US) drops you off very close and, for us, was easier than getting a cab. Other areas of the city are far more beautiful and offer more diverse dining and shopping options, but if you want to be close to several tourist hotspots this is a good pick (if only for a few nights).

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from construction if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews