We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #17 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel 05-09 February 2013. It was frustrating getting this hotel to confirm our reservation - took them 4 days to reply! Anyway, we booked a junior suite at a reasonable price. As construction work is undergoing in the hotel, we were aware that there will be noise and the hotel assured us the work will stop around 6pm. We went to bed around 9:30pm after a tiring 10 days self-drive trip in Yucatan wishing for a good sleep. Around 10/10:30pm, the bell boy called asking for the hair dryer which we borrowed earlier and which my husband has told the same bell boy that we will return it the next morning. That was not all, at around 3am, we heard drilling sound from downstairs. My husband tracked the sound coming from the kitchen and he asked them to stop but they said that they will 'just' finish what they were doing. Same comment from the male receptionist on duty! The next morning, after a no-sleep night, we went down for the buffet breakfast (not included but we had paid for), had to beg for butter and the 'hot' water was lukewarm! I had enough and went to the reception asking for a refund of our remaining 3 nights as we wanted to change hotel. Patty from the reception handled the complaint well: apologised for the phone call re hair dryer, for the noise at 3am and for the lukewarm water. She proposed a room in a quieter part and reimbursed us the money as the new room is cheaper (Patty also agreed to charge us the cheaper rate for our no-sleep 1st night). The new room has a view to the Cathedral so you will hear music blasting at least until 11pm each night & midnight on Friday & Saturday. Well, this is not the hotel's fault. One last complaint: when we booked a taxi via the hotel to the airport on the 9th, the hotel told us the price is MX$130 for Terminal 1 & MX$150 for Terminal 2. As we were departing from Terminal 1, we expected to pay MX$130. When I paid the driver MX$200 and he returned us only MX$35, we were surprised and were told that the price is MX$165! Either the hotel made a mistake or the driver cheated us! All in all, we don't think we will use this hotel again but have to say that we appreciate what Patty has done.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hope you are well and that your trip back home was nice. Also appreciate your sincere comments and again we extend an apology for the inconvenience you had with the service during their stay, knowing from his own words helps us to improve our service every day.
We'd love to have the opportunity to correct any issue that has upset him, so we extend a warm invitation to return with us and yourself can realize improvements in our service. Since each of the comments made in relation to our facilities and service are for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just one night at the end of a months trip to mexico. Arrived at 8am from overnight bus journey, no reservation and tired. Receptionist gave us a room straight away and included extra breakfast for free.
Hotel is slightly dated, but not off putting.
Buffet breakfast is good value, loved the fresh made hot cakes.
Would recommend for 1 or 2 night stay in the historic old town area of DF.
Mexico is getting bad press these days, we've travelled from cancun through central area and pacific coast and have experienced only lovely friendly people and no troubles at all. Viva Mexico

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klyfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely appreciate knowing that your stay was very comfortable and satisfying. Besides knowing that the breakfast buffet was your total satisfaction.

We are always providing the best dispicisión of the room as soon as possible, of course this depends a lot on the occupation of a previous day, and fortunately we were lucky to give room soon and that could happen to rest, be assured that you always make you feel at home from the smallest detail that we can provide

We hope you had a good trip back and have you visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Right behind the Catedral Metropolitana, this hotel was a great find for our three nights in DF. Breakfast was included- either a buffet in breakfast room or a la carte in restaurant. Liked the restaurant best as it was from a menu and very tasty. You had a credit of up to 75 pesos for this and just about impossible to go over. The hotel, itself, has nice remodeled rooms, spacious and clean. Any problems are addressed immediately by staff. There is a nice rooftop terrace where you can take your own drinks and sit and admire view. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor is in midst of Reno so request a room from 2nd to 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions About your recent stay with us. It was our sincere pleasure to Attend you and we felt very proud To Have Counted with Such privilege. Also It is very good to know you were Able to take advantage of our friendly location. This is a very popular among our guests benefit That visit us in to stay since Leisure They can find many attractions nearby culture and entertainment.

For us it was nice to know that the breakfast buffet in its 2 different ways of taking it was very convenient. Besides diversification of the dishes we have in the two restaurants for breakfast. Rest assured that this comment will be disseminated among my colleagues to continue this service and provide something better and different

We are confident that we will have a visit very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

In January, I stayed in this hotel for the second time. Since my last visit, many of the rooms in this hotel have been remodeled, and I must say, my stay here was even more pleasant than the first time. It is not a large hotel, nor a particularly luxurious one, but it is extremely comfortable, and a bargain for the price. The location near the Zocalo is great, the rooms are quite pleasant, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the view from the 7th. floor terrace is unbeatable. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Mexico City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Welcome to let us conquer our service and an unforgettable experience again, but above all that we exceeded that took Expectancy since your last visit with us, we're glad that we did was remodel your total satisfaction and comfort.

We are in the best position to help to make you feel at home, for that reason our collaborators will assist you with your needs and fortunately we have the location is great for leisure time and can visit all the places of the historical center. Also the invite you to our rooms have a balcony and cathedral view for your next visit just that these rooms are subject to availability but we will do our best to give you some.

We hope to have a visit soon, home Hotel Catedral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I visited Hotel Catedral in January, 2013, for another excellent "comida corrida" in their restaurant, El Retiro. 2013 marks my 20th year as a client of the restaurant and the hotel, and both have yet to disappoint me. I cannot think of a better match between reasonable prices and high quality, anywhere.

Several staff persons remembered me (always an honor), and they were happy to show off the various changes since I was there last (four or five years ago - too long). Rooms, lobby, and restaurant have been refreshed and updated. The quality of food remains the same.

I will be back!

Room Tip: I've always chosen a high room in back (cathedral side). Yes, especialy on weekends, area event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013
Google Translation

Al contrario para nosotros es un honor recibirla con nosotros y muchas gracias por seguir considerándonos su casa cuando visita México y lo mejor de todo es que nunca la hemos defraudado y no lo haremos téngalo por seguro. Agradecemos sus sinceros comentarios y el tiempo que se tomo para escribirlo y nos agrada saber que todo el trabajo de nuestros colaboradores por el cambio de diseño ha sido de todo su agrado.

Siempre sera bienvenida en su casa hotel catedral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel has a great location, especially for those who want to stay in the historic city center. Prices are not expensive and the staff is very kind, as generally throughout Mexico. People are extremely friendly in this country. The problem is that if you are a light sleeper, you will have a lot of trouble trying to sleep, because of the noise from a disco that goes late into the night. If it were not for the noise and the fact of the mattress be a little bit hard, it would be an excellent choice to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

It is an honor for us to have received in our hotel and know that everything was to his liking. Fortunately as mentioned our location is suitable to meet the main locations in the center of town so we invite it on your next visit to see some of which handle tour. We also handle buffet breakfast starting at 8 at 11:30 am.

Regarding the disco and we worked on it, got up a letter to the authorities in order to avoid this inconvenience to you. I respect what the mattress if sincere thank you very much for your comment and creame comment will be considered for review

Look forward to your visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Construction noise starts about 8 and continues through the evening. It is very very loud. Ear plugs will not block the noise. On check-in, the front desk staff told us the noise would not begin until after ten in the morning - not true.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen-MLae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory and verify the hours you are working in building remodeling, believe that the work actually does not work that night if safe because the rest of the guests is very imporant for us and we offer an apology for the inconvenience you had and thank you very much for your sincere comment.

We hope and trust that we will soon visit in order to change this detail we had with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,437 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,762 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
824 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
932 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 312 in Mexico City
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £546 - £817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing