We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent place”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #15 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value, excellent place”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed twice at the "Catedral"' the first time was upon our arrival and the second time before we left Mexico. The hotel is very good especially for the price you pay. Its in excellent central location, clean and the stuff is friendly for the most part. Two really minor things i didn't like, but generally this place is highly recommended.The first time, we didn't make reservations was actually better, our room had a beautiful view, it was spacious, clean and the stuff was friendly and helpful. Before we left Mexico we wanted to return to the hotel and we booked a room, we got a confirmation from the hotel about the date and time of the day and for our request for a room with a window to the outside (some rooms have windows facing a corridor). When we got there (in the evening, the room was suppose to be ready hours before) the room was not ready and the receptionist was neither friendly nor helpful, just said we have to wait an hour or so. After a while we showed her the letter they sent us, she gave us an "upgraded" room with a Jacuzzi but window facing the corridor. we didn't mind so much for the room, just for the time spent and the arguing. The day after we left the room with the "Do not clean the room" and when we got back we found the room cleand. Its only very minor things but i didn't like it as i don't like my personal belongings being organized by others. That's why you have that sign (plus they ask you to help the environment with that sign so why not respect that).
Overall the "Catedral" is a very good choice to stay in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you very much for his sincere comment and us it regrets knowing that it had these two problems during his stay and we offer him a sincere excuse, have for insurance that we will check that it was what happened with his room to be able to prevent this type of situations do not from returning to happen in a future.

Concerning the service offered to receipt have for insurance that is not it is if the service that we offer always we do the possible thing for offering to him what is needed, this situation of was analyzing with my companions and in question with the rooms with sight cathedral, dress to the street or balcony they manage as preference in his reservation and up to the moment of his arrival it is known if we have this type of rooms due to the fact that in occasions the hotel fills days before and these rooms never deal from much before for such a motive there is guaranteed, but what if it has for insurance is that always we try to separate the rooms when the preference is had.

We are grateful for both observations that it did to us to be able to go I end an analysis of what I spend and we wait us of the opportunity to have it again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    400
    68
    22
    16
See reviews for
264
358
116
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North America
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I decided to stay at the hotel Catedral on the recommendations of friends who had been there.

Upon my arrival I was greeted by several of the staff, all were very friendly and accomodating.
Since I had just arrived from the Pacific coast after a 12 hour bus ride at 8am and check-in time was still hours away I was able to leave my bagagge in storage and take the Turi-bus to see Mexico City in a leisurely way.

Upon my return a very nicely appointed room was ready for me which faced an inner courtyard making it quite quiet.The room had a very comfortable bed, a 32" LCD TV, A/C and heating, whatever your pleasure. The bathroom and showere were spacious and very clean. No street noise or noise from the zocalo either.
My room was made up every day with fresh towels and 2 bottles of bottled drinking water as well as some very nice candies.

That being during the Easter weekend made the hotel quite busy, but there was still a relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant and the breakfast room, never felt rushed about anything.
The in-house restaurant serves some very nice and tasty dinners at reasonable prices.

I have no compuction to recommend this hotel to anyone.

As an aside, I met a couple from my home city who originally stayed in a hotel along an expensive hotel strip in D.F. That hotel smelled of sewer and was more expensive than the hotel Catedral, they said they wished they had moved earlier into the hotel Catedral.

Buen viaje

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street may receive noise from nearby bar. Rooms facing the catedral will get bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
We are grateful for his friends for having recommended ourselves widely with you, beside thanking him for credit it decides to lodge with us and to have known the service that we offer. Likewise we him mention that our check in is opened it is to say if we have the rooms from early the access can be offered to him without mattering the hour of arrival or one guards his baggage and later there is assigned he. Our rooms are new which already possess already this box of safety and the air conditioning in process of remaining worked and the new thing are the windows which already rely on special glass that it does not allow the entry of any noise.

We are grateful for so sincere comment that did us and the time that you take to write it and it makes us happy to know that his stay could find everything what he needed and what never had any problem, have as insurance that always we will be to serve him. We wait to possess his visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico City and Hotel Catedral was a perfect starting point. The location is great, the room looked as if recently upgraded and the staff was courteous. The only complaint is that our room card had to be reprogramed everyday...we would go up to the room and it would not work so we would trek down to the front desk every time...this should be addressed as it is a daily irritation. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: They have rooms that look out to the street or with a view or an interior light well. If you are noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422gostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We are glad that we were his first choice to stay in Mexico City and that our location was very favorable for their activities. Also we invite you to visit our breakfast buffet with which we, the breakfast offers a variety of dish and every day just keeps changing with different dishes. Also hopefully on your next visit to have the opportunity to meet our seventh floor terraces and wonderful view they have.

  We offer an apology for the inconvenience that was every day with his key detail we know this will hurt his stay with us, but rest assured that we will review it won´t happen again in a future visit. We look forward to a return visit and it was clear this detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Excellent value, great breakfasts (buffet style), helpful staff, very close to everything.
I was travelling alone, and found the hotel convenient, safe and clean. I would stay there again.
Ask for an inside room, they are quieter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinggirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you very much for such a heartfelt comment that makes us, us is very satisfying to know that our location favored him enough so he could visit the places we have around us, our staff is here to serve in what you might need from a water bottle to help getting somewhere or something else they needed. Also we invite you to visit for your next visit a cathedral view room with balcony, these rooms are subject to availability on the day of arrival and likewise know the new windows that are implementing where noise is no longer penetrable room, new windows are already in operation.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write it and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hi -
Friends invited me to stay with them in San Miguel Allende, and I decided to spend several nights in Mexico City, as I have never been there. I agree with all the positive comments others have made about the hotel. I was concerned about safety (as I was traveling alone), cleanliness and convenience to major attractions. I also desired a boutique Mexican-run hotel instead of a major US hotel chain. My hotel room was spacious, clean with a comfy bed. Terrific value. Earlier reviews mention that the hotel does not have safes, nor air conditioning. But that was not the case with my room. It must have been one of their upgraded rooms. Breakfast was included in the price. Nice buffet with a variety of breads, juices, eggs, meats, beans, fruits, and hot cakes. One morning they also had salmon. I also tried the front restaurant one morning with a delicious omlette. My room was 613 with a view of the National Cathedral. The front desk was helpful in giving directions. Noise levels were minimal. My room was not on the street, and I could occassionally hear a neighbor entering their room. That was about it for noise. This hotel is recommended in several travel books that I read. It is just around the corner from the Zecalo - the main square. You can pick up Bus Tours there, or walk to the sights yourself. Lots of restaurants in the area. One small nit is that they didn't leave wash cloths. You might wish to bring your own.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
His words leave us in awe of the service you received and all my staff are satisfied and happy to be able to have made your stay more than perfect if I may say, but the best thing is knowing that we fail not and gave us the opportunity to meet our service.

Our rooms as well mention it has a new design all this change is being done to provide greater comfort and relaxation during your stay, safe and air conditioning is a plus more for their rooms, on him Noise Ratio commented that they are placing new windows to prevent noise. Also let me mention that the breakfast buffet is always changed to provide greater variety of dishes, plus if you crave some other dish my chef can prepare without any problems.

We are always here to serve you with your needs and we hope to have her back here at home Hotel Catedral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We spent 5 nights here in early March. I couldn't agree more with all the positive comments posted about it: good location, clean, updated decor, attentive and helpful staff. And the included breakfast was plentiful and varied. We would definitely stay here again.

The only problem was loud music on Friday night from a bar down the street when we stayed in a room on the front of the hotel; and when we were in a room on the back of the hotel there loud music from the rooftop cafe at the neighboring Spanish Cultural Center. Having a room on the 6th floor helped to lessen this annoyance somewhat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director General at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for send us your impressions after having stayed with us. We always find it very rewarding to know that our hotel offered what our customers expect. In addition to that we are happy to know that you liked the new decor of our rooms. In relation to noise unfortunately we have a front bar and a disco behind us and weekends are a bit noisy, this issue is of great concern to us and rest assured that you are taking the necessary steps, because this is are implementing a new type of window which prevents noise happens, be assured that your next visit to this problem is already solved.

Also for your next stay please do not hesitate to ask our staff at reception and expect a quiet room visit soon here at home Hotel Catedral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Really lovely hotel with very nice boutique style furnishings in the rooms, good shower and comfortable beds. Our room overlooked an inner courtyard which wasn't pretty as work underway, but meant it was very quiet. The rooftop terrace has great views of the city and the cathedral. Very friendly and helpful staff with excellent English. Location is good for sightseeing, but not for evenings out as very few restaurants and bars that open for dinner. Condessa is the area for eating and drinking with lots of choice and safe to walk around after dark. We paid 120 pesos for a cab there and 100 back which is fine but a bit of a way and as we like our evenings out with dinner and drinks we'd probably stay in Condessa another time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We appreciate your kind review and we are pleased to serve you and make your stay a pleasant experience. Our location is privileged to be in the center of Mexico City, and also inform you that we have restaurants near the hotel expect for your next visit will give us the opportunity to tell which options are nearby. Our rooms also have views of the cathedral or Donceles Street invite you to know that, these rooms are subject to availability on the day of arrival and given that you want a quiet room these rooms have a downside on Thursday, Friday and Saturday as there is noise because of a bar and a disco.
This comment and like everyone else, it's makes my staff to know which will give much pleasure to know that the work they gave him was so well received.

Thanks for such sicero comment and hopefully give us the opportunity to have him with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 310 in Mexico City
1,395 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 310 in Mexico City
2,658 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 310 in Mexico City
898 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 310 in Mexico City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing