We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and hotel”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #15 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Heber, California, United States
2 reviews
“Staff and hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Hotel was fine,clean,modern,one block from the Catedral where the turibuses had the main stop. Had 5 days downtown,2 on the turibus and did not see some sights. Only critical opinion of the hotel were the dining room chairs. Very uncomfortable, when I could I chose a booth for back support.Restaurant food was very good,service good, buffet was outstanding,main dishes changed every day,service was very good, the cook behind the buffet was offered outstanding service. The hotel was a very good value. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamerto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    398
    68
    22
    16
See reviews for
262
357
116
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Catedral while visiting the DF and would definitely come back. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. Our room was also nice and had a great view. The hotel's location is excellent and only a few minutes away from some of the main sites around the zocalo. We would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Mexico City!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel Catedral is well located in the heart Mexico City's historic district - a short walk from good restaurants, the Zocalo and the SEP (if you like Diego Rivera). It is pretty quiet. The room we had was clean, comfortable and modern.

The internet connected PCs were of very poor quality - infected with viruses and SLOW. But there are plenty of internet cafes nearby. I'm not sure if there was Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Ideally you want an interior room, but if you are on the 4th floor or higher the street noise is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EUGENE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have stayed regularly at the Catedral. It has an excellent location close to the zocalo. It is comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast is terrific. We would like to thank, especially, the chef, Antelnia, and the assistant, Jessica and the rest of the staff for their warm welcoming and helpfulness.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiamaria11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was in this hotel twice in May 2010 and July 2012. It has keept its good standard. The location is excellent, very close to Cathedral. The stuff is helpful and rooms are clean and spacious. Good deal for Mexico city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelius_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel located very central and close to everywhere. The service is excellent! The breakfast buffer is very good and the kitchen chef Antelma is a amazing chef and the service stuff Anfitriona, Dessica, Elena are very helpful and kind!! Best team!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linny1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were very impressed by the excellent quality of service we received from all members of staff.
The location of the hotel is fantastic as we were able to easily visit various sites and relatives around the city. Also, the rates are very competitive and the breakfast buffet was delicious.
From our 6th floor rooms we had a fantastic view of the the Cathedral.
We would love to stay at this Hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Cathedral. The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFudge824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
It was an honor Cathedral to have received it in the Hotel and it is good to know that the service that received seemed to him to be wonderful, we always are working for you in order that they sit down like in his house, from an amenity as fruit or cookie up to his cleanliness and a comfortable room. It makes us happy to know that our location favored him very much to be able to know our historical monuments, our museums, restaurants, etc.

Our breakfast buffet differs for being very varied and offering day after day different saucers from salmon up to a traditional saucer. We wait to see it very prompt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 309 in Mexico City
1,393 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 309 in Mexico City
2,649 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 309 in Mexico City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 309 in Mexico City
893 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#119 of 309 in Mexico City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing