We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a couple of issues...”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #17 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our experience of this hotel was mostly positive with some things that could be improved. The room was clean and comfortable. The price was moderate. We asked for and got a very quiet inner courtyard room and while the view was non-existent our need for quiet was satisfied. The breakfast and the breakfast staff were just wonderful. Wifi in our room was fine and they had hotel computers we could use to print boarding passes. Air conditioning worked.
We did have 2 non-functioning light bulbs and a beeping smoke detector in our room which they promptly fixed when we pointed it out....(in my opinion this should have be noticed by the staff before we arrived)
My main concern is that front desk staff had a very hard time communicating with us about their policies regarding payment. For some reason we had to pay in advance for our room or come to the desk every day to pay. They did not seem to understand or be able to keep a hotel tab for us held by a credit card as is normally done in most hotels in which I've stayed ... We had a small snack in the restaurant one evening and signed for it using our room "account" which we assumed we could do. Ended up that they phoned our room after we were in bed and told us we had to come down right away and pay the restaurant bill in person. This was frustrating to say the least. I'd suggest that they provide a written policy in clear English or whatever language because I never figured out what they actually required even though we speak a good deal of spanish. Front Desk staff just could not communicate this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

well, to begin with, they have a very gentle people and good customer service, the staff were very helpful and friendly as well. good enviroment and good prices,nice and comfortable rooms. The food it's so delicious and the people at the buffet service (Jazmin, Jessica and Anselma) have very nice people skills,helpful and friendly. I really do recommend this hotel and it's pretty much close to la gran tenochtitlan city. Nice view and an excellent location a few of minutes away from the socalo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goku_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It was really a very good choice to visit the Mexico City. Very well located, very good service, good breakfast, very nice staff, with some nice and interesting details, for instance: electricity sockets prepared for European plugs without adapters, purified tap water in the room, internet access throughout the hotel without additional fee, free fixed post internet for those who did not bring computer, sweets and fruit at reception...
The restaurant needs to be improved, but still has some tasty dishes including the "Chamorro" that deserves to be appreciated and almost gives for two people.

Room Tip: Chose a room with balcony, but at weekends take care because there are a disco very near the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Hotel was fine,clean,modern,one block from the Catedral where the turibuses had the main stop. Had 5 days downtown,2 on the turibus and did not see some sights. Only critical opinion of the hotel were the dining room chairs. Very uncomfortable, when I could I chose a booth for back support.Restaurant food was very good,service good, buffet was outstanding,main dishes changed every day,service was very good, the cook behind the buffet was offered outstanding service. The hotel was a very good value. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamerto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Catedral while visiting the DF and would definitely come back. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. Our room was also nice and had a great view. The hotel's location is excellent and only a few minutes away from some of the main sites around the zocalo. We would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Mexico City!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel Catedral is well located in the heart Mexico City's historic district - a short walk from good restaurants, the Zocalo and the SEP (if you like Diego Rivera). It is pretty quiet. The room we had was clean, comfortable and modern.

The internet connected PCs were of very poor quality - infected with viruses and SLOW. But there are plenty of internet cafes nearby. I'm not sure if there was Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Ideally you want an interior room, but if you are on the 4th floor or higher the street noise is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have stayed regularly at the Catedral. It has an excellent location close to the zocalo. It is comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast is terrific. We would like to thank, especially, the chef, Antelnia, and the assistant, Jessica and the rest of the staff for their warm welcoming and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiamaria11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,437 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,763 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
827 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
934 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £550 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing