We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #12 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent value, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was a little concerned regarding what we were getting into, After all, our room was only like 70.00 per night. My expectations were not high at all. To my surprise, the hotel was very clean and updated. Our room was very spacious, and the location was amazing! I was expecting a motel experience, but, wow! It is a nice Hotel! I can't complain one bit for the price we paid. Service was great, the breakfast was more than generous, and the location cannot be beat. I would recommend this place, and I will come back. I can't even get a divey room back home at this price!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It makes us happy to know that the image that tape-worm of us initially it changes in its entirety and that you I take a great surprise to him with the service that we offer, has for insurance that we worry for each of our guests in order that he feels as comfortable as possible or it sits down like in his house.

Our location as well it mentions it is unsurpassable since it centres us between the principal tourist places to a few minutes of distance walking or in bus. We count with tours to different destinations, hope that in his near visit it has the opportunity to know them and to encourage to take someone, I am sure that will not repent.

Likewise also we invite them to that you know our terraces that you find in the seventh floor with a spectacular sight of the Cathedral of the Mexico City. We wait for his visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    384
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
232
344
111
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you are looking to be able to walk to the zocalo, catedral, and bellas artes, and palacio nacional this is a great location. I was astounded at how many people there are at all times and at how late and loudly they party. It didn't bother us too much once we were in the room though. Everything was really clean. The staff was helpful in answering questions. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mucuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great central location. The price great for a central hotel. Mexico city is not for
the faint of heart.Non stop visual and audio. It is the Madre de Madres in Mexico.
The hotel provided a clean comfortable place to decompress after a day on town.
Gustavo the doorman was great on getting us cabs that were safe and reliable he also made us comfortable in his hotel. Breakfast staff are friendly and attentive. Jessica and Sandra especially.Short order omelets great. not fancy but safe ,clean and central to world class sites
Great value ,very well run

Greg Cleary

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I came here on a business trip, and the hotel worked out fine for me. I was working nearby, so the location was perfect. It has a convenient restaurant and cafe, and there are a number of nice places to eat nearby. The staff were professional and attentive. This is not a high end hotel for fussy business travellers, it's more of a budget place. However it is clean, well run and works well. I gave it four stars -- it would have been five if my experience with the WiFi had been better (it worked OK in the end, but didn't let me on initially).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colmenareno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

It's been said before but Hotel Catedral really is a great find in Mexico City.

The location is great, the staff are friendly and professional, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the terrace is a great spot to relax.

Our room, with a balcony, was a bit noisy but it didn't bother us too much and we liked being able to look out onto the street.

All in all highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazDwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great value and very well located for the historic centre of Mexico City. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is yummy and the rooms are clean. The only downsides are 1. the wifi is very slow and 2. the walls and doors are very thin so you can hear everything from the corridors. But overall a good place to stay and great value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

4 of us shared 1 room with double beds. It was pretty comfortable, great experience. Customer service was excellence. Elevators were a little slow so we often had to hike up and down the 6 floors, good exercise anyway! Breakfast is excellent, the kitchen crew is outstanding. Telma is an excellent cook and goes out of her way to please customers. Jazmin was also really great in the dining room area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
2,427 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
672 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing