We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, awesome hotel”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #15 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location, awesome hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is located close to many landmarks in Mexico City. The rooms have air condition with digital control. This is helpful in winter since many places in Mexico City don't have heating facilities. The staffs are courteous and very helpful. In particular, the concierge, Ms. Soron P., helped with our next stop hotel reservation, bus tickets etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamadTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    399
    68
    22
    16
See reviews for
262
358
116
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arrived on December 23, relaxed and had dinner. December 24, took a bus tour to the Pyramids and other sites, attended mass with the Cardinal Norberto R Cabrera at the Basilica Metropolitana. This was a surprise for us. Received a special personal blessing from the Cardinal and then enjoyed a dinner of all the traditional foods served during this time of the year. December 25 took a bus to the Basilica of Guadalupe and the Museum of Anthropology. Highly recommend.

The Hotel Catedral is located in the Centro Historico and within walking distance of many sites. The restaurant catered to our special needs and the service was absolutely excellent.

We are going back in July 2014 to visit other sites and museums. Lots of things to do in Mexico City.

As in any country it is always best to be cautious of your surroundings although we had no problems with security and felt safe while we walked during the day.

Mexico people are friendly and always willing to help. Enjoyed the trip immensely.

Felipe & Juanita

Room Tip: We did expect a Queen size bed and found the room had a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguileras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Weckbaugh
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Everybody loves this place for good reason so I'm going to talk about special benefits. I traveled alone and got a HUGE single room (check out the prices), walk-in shower, granite sink, safe that was big enough to fit my laptop and my "jewels." I mentioned I loved the sugar cookies they make, and they brought me up a huge plate, gratis. (Don't know if I should thank them for that as I ate them all.) The breakfast changes everyday, but Telma whips up the best omelettes ever--I had Oaxacan cheese and flor de cabeza. They even had spaghetti a la carbonara!! And a green juice made from orange, celery and nopales for digestion. Plenty of rolls and cereal and yogurt and all the regular stuff but you really don't have to eat until dinner after this. Sandra and Mayra help out in the breakfast room --anything you need, it's there in a NY second. The young women that staff the desk are all beautiful--must be a prerequisite--and so accommodating. Jessica welcomed me the first night and I felt I was home. Eddie in the restaurant and Gustavo in the lobby were so attentive to my requests. Rosy always left my room immaculate. I would suggest hairdryers be put in every room but that's my only criticism. Thank you, HC!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

i was thoroughly impressed with the hotel..was just renovated .. room are very modern..means lots of room to lay your stuff around..even a dispenser of filtered water in bathroom...generous with their bottled water..amazing buffet for breakie..very helpful staff...had an awesome room with view of cathedral....geat sound insulation from the windows that open!!.beautiful view from terrace on top floor....5 min walk to zocalo and metro.. all for 64 dollars canadian ( inclusive of buffet)
Will definatly come here again and recommend highly to all!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of cathedral which means higher floor and back of the building..less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitte2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was in a good location in the historic centre.and was like a modern Thistle hotel or similar. Staff were friendly (not all speak English so brush up on your Spanish) - it is mostly other Mexican guests. Breakfast was hearty in true Mexican style! Beds comfy so made a good base to get over jet lag and explore the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are grateful for his sincere words and likewise the time that I take to write this comment. It makes us happy to know that his demurrage with us was very pleasant and that our location was of great help for you.

Hotel Catedral possesses a privileged location since we locate ourselves in the tourist downtown of Mexico and the principal places has them closely together. Likewise it fills with pride us to know that our collaborators did of his stay the best of Mexico. Our breakfast buffet is the only value for us, since always it contains a great variety of saucers and besides it our bonus is that it can request what you want though he is not there.

We wait for his visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We've stayed at the Catedral three times in the past few years, most recently in early November.
It is consistently comfortable and the hotel staff service is excellent.
The restaurant on premises is convenient, but the food's not the greatest.
Bottom line, you can't do a lot better for price and location. Clean, well-run, and location, location, location.
Never hesitate to recommend this place.

Room Tip: interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It makes us happy to know that we continue being of his preference and that like that it will continue being in every trip that they do to the Mexico City. We are grateful for the confidence vote that they offer to us in every visit and have as insurance that we will never do anything to defraud them, always we are working for you to offer to him the best service that is deserved.

We companions of cleanliness always are brightened for offering to them the best cleanliness that it could obtain in any other place, since for us the cleanliness is a very important point in order that you feel entrusted of being able to use the room to 100 %.

All our collaborators always will be to serve them in every visit that does us and likewise we invite that he us visits very soon for that we will be waiting with the opened arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was a little concerned regarding what we were getting into, After all, our room was only like 70.00 per night. My expectations were not high at all. To my surprise, the hotel was very clean and updated. Our room was very spacious, and the location was amazing! I was expecting a motel experience, but, wow! It is a nice Hotel! I can't complain one bit for the price we paid. Service was great, the breakfast was more than generous, and the location cannot be beat. I would recommend this place, and I will come back. I can't even get a divey room back home at this price!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCatedral, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catedral, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It makes us happy to know that the image that tape-worm of us initially it changes in its entirety and that you I take a great surprise to him with the service that we offer, has for insurance that we worry for each of our guests in order that he feels as comfortable as possible or it sits down like in his house.

Our location as well it mentions it is unsurpassable since it centres us between the principal tourist places to a few minutes of distance walking or in bus. We count with tours to different destinations, hope that in his near visit it has the opportunity to know them and to encourage to take someone, I am sure that will not repent.

Likewise also we invite them to that you know our terraces that you find in the seventh floor with a spectacular sight of the Cathedral of the Mexico City. We wait for his visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 309 in Mexico City
1,394 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 309 in Mexico City
2,653 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 309 in Mexico City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 309 in Mexico City
894 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#119 of 309 in Mexico City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing