We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great deal”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #14 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location, great deal”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hotel Catedral is right near the Zocalo in Mexico City, and wonderful walking to shops, book stores, and more. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and ours, on the 4th floor, was very quiet with a lovely view of the towers of cathedral. They should make sure their showers have mats or slipping, though, as for the first time in my life I slipped and almost fell on the extremely slippery tiles. Reception and concierge did not speak English, though I am fluent in Spanish. Breakfast is excellent with a huge variety of delicious foods. We had a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: The 7th floor has terrific views but no rooms were available when we went. There are outdoors terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    392
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
248
355
114
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Great location. Great value for money. Highly recommend. Breakfast was ample and good. Rooms clean with good WiFi access throughout hotel. Staff helpful. Going back at the end of this week for a bit more!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smallai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My favorite hotel in Mexico City. My only negative comment is regarding making reservations and the lack of a prompt response. One stay required many, many phone calls for confirmation. My last on line reservation was never confirmed. Aside from that...love the place. Also, a great restaurant. Hotel breakfast is also a winner.

Room Tip: Street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 460Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Quiet, view of the Cathedral, helpful staff, terrific location and great value. Breakfast was included in the room and while we went out for better coffee, the breakfast had hot and cold choices and a chef to make up individual menu selections.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 816Goingsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This I was our third stay at Hotel Catedral Although we arrived very late t to airline complications we were greeted graciously. The front desk night staff were extremely helpful, friendly and hospitable throughout our stay. They accommodated our limited spanish with good humor.and helped with transportation arrangements. Breakfast buffet was a great way to start our day. We had a room near the street this time and it was at times a bit noisy. Ask for a room on the inside if you want a quieter stay.. Luis was once again a friendly and helpful presence in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderingGrandparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful day exploring Mexico City and this hotel was so well located along with an excellent staff that goes out of their way for every want or need. As was mentioned in another review, the customer service seems very important to this hotel and was obvious from each person. We had a midnight flight the next day and it was so easy for us to occupy ourselves leaving our luggage well attended - this was a big plus for us as well. We will definitely return on our next visit to Mexico City.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanitayRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for US$90 per night breakfast included.

The location is fantastic! Very central, just a big city block north of Plaza Zocalo, where there is a Metro stop you could take to and from the airport. Another option to and from the airport is the Metro Bus, which stops just a couple of blocks north of the hotel (south west corner of Republica de Venezuela and Republica de Argentina).

The room was clean with a good size bathroom. There even is a purified water tap (drinking water) in the bathroom, which is a huge plus! In-room safe and free wifi throughout the hotel are included.

The selection, quantity and quality of the free breakfast were great! Eggs, sausages, cold cuts, paella and several mexican dishes. You could also order and if they can, they'll make it. A friend of mine ordered french toast and he got it. Coffee, tea and juices also included.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
743 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 310 in Mexico City
445 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#38 of 310 in Mexico City
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing