We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Catedral -- right behind the Zocalo, the hub of the city”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were turned on to this hotel by our friends that live in Mexico (her boyfriend lives on the north side of town, and she lives in Cabo) -- anywho, right behind the Main Cathedral, and the "Zocalo" -- the main plaza -- shops, cafes, cathedrals, -- you name it, you are right in the middle of it at this beautiful, clean elegant hotel, that is VERY affordable (for being right in the heart of the City) -- want a drink?? Go to the 7th floor terrace with a view of the backside of the Cathedral, and the Zocalo, use the phone to call down, and voila -- drinking in the drink AND the view (our friend even managed to snap a photo of a hummingbird visiting some of the flowers planted on the terrace) The Rooms are comfortable, clean, well maintained -- and the location cannot be beat... We found excellent food choices nearby, as well as the shops, and the cultural offerings in the neighborhood -- if you plan on visiting Mexico City, you BEST bet is to make use of this hotel as your base camp (did I mention that there is a Metro Stop at the Zocalo which is only a short walk away!!) ENJOY all the offerings of Mexico City, and have a comfortable place to relax after a busy day!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and in the back perhaps, but not sure there are bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent hotel with a high level service.
The breakfast is very tasty with a lots of choice
European food is also available and of course mexican food.

Special notice for the bathroom which is very large and friedly

High recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grégory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of the Historic District of Mexico city. The service is great, the location is great, all around, a great experience.

The breakfast option is also well worth it, an excellent selection of food is provided and very tasty. The service and attention provided by Thelma was awesome, she even cooked us up some custom breakfast and prepared it exactly as we like it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stay at this place every time I'm in Mexico City and want to be in the Centro. The price is right, the location is great. The restaurant downstairs is handy, good and reasonably priced. I've had mixed experiences with restaurant service, but the last time (April '14) it was excellent. One caution: the street side rooms can be noisy if the music club is open and some of the internal rooms are musty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tivolicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

It was wonderful to have such a nice place to stay for our 5 day Mexico City adventure!
Location: This is a lovely boutique hotel behind the Metropolitan Catedral . The location is perfect just around the corner from the Zocalo. We were within walking distance of most attractions and lots of good restaurants.
Reservations: We have a friend who speaks Spanish call and make our reservation. We tried to book on-line and it didn't work.
Food: We included the breakfast option with our reservation. We are early risers so we would start with coffees from Marissa at the restaurant. She spoke good English. When the breakfast area opened Jazmin greeted us and escorted us to a table. Telma the cook was excellent. She made delicious omelettes, the most yummy hot cakes and was so happy and friendly. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was okay.
Rooms: I read on Trip Advisor to request rooms on the 4 th floor or higher to have views of the Catedral. We got them on day 2 you could see the top of the Catedral. We really liked that you could open the windows for fresh air. The beds and pillows were excellent, we got clean towels and bottled water daily. All of our rooms had safes. The rooms were very clean. We were on the 4th floor and usually walked the stairs. They had one elevator which was very busy, however, they were installing a 2nd one.

Reception Staff: Jessica at the front desk spoke good English. Fernando the bell-man was very helpful.

Bonus: At the end of the day we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop terrace. Tip....if you see a store that sells beverages (wine, tequila,etc.) buy them and enjoy them on the terrace. The only store close by was a Seven-11 and the selection was not good.
This was where we would unwind from the day and discuss the next day's adventure.
A wonderful place to stay in this fascinating city!

Room Tip: We started out in room 213 and moved to room 413. We'd have been happy in either one. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very comfortable room, great location, a nice breakfast - my expectations were exceeded in every way. Great terraces, too. I had an inner room, so it was very quiet. Also a single - and the size of the room really surprised me. Very spacious. The location was extremely convenient, even if the streets were a bit crowded. That didn't surprise me. The staff were very attentive and professional as well. I had a problem with the Wi-Fi in my room when I first got there, and they resolved the problem right away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginalandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at the Catedral seven or eight times over the past ten years, but the last two times we were disappointed with a decline in customer service and a significant increase in room rates. The service in the restaurant at the front of the hotel is indifferent to non-Mexicans. We first experienced this in 2010 and thought it was just a one time thing. Then in 2013 we were ignored and left after fifteen minutes of nobody taking our order. I put my concerns in writing to hotel management but received no response. This year we decided to try one last time and again left after it became clear that they weren't interested in our business. We also had difficulty with the front desk staff, none of whom could help us in English when we tried to make it clear we didn't want the breakfast included rate. On a positive note, the concierge service is excellent and can help with any information or bookings you may need.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,468 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,814 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#34 of 312 in Mexico City
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#137 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £63 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing