We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great service, outstanding breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #13 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service, outstanding breakfast!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is truly an outstanding hotel in downtown Mexico City, close to the zocalo. The rooms are pleasant and clean. There was a new elevator being installed when we were there in February of this year (2014). The lobby is very attractive and they often have fresh fruit or homemade cookies at the desk. There is a travel agency associated with the hotel. Most staff members speak some English. Their desk staff and concierge service is excellent. Be sure to have their breakfast - you will be amazed. It is simply the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel in all our years of travelling. It includes Mexican specialties, fresh fruit, delicious granola, fresh fruit juices, eggs. bacon, special requests the chef will make on the spot - it is wonderful. Thelma is a terrific chef. The prices are very reasonable for the accomodations that are offered.

Room Tip: There is some sort of bar across the street that can get a little noisy at times. If this is a conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    385
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
236
346
111
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

You have to love the platters of complimentary cookies and guayaba fruit or plums available at the reception desk daily, all day. What distinguishes this Zocalo area hotel, and why I prefer it over any other in Mexico City, including Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, is they way they value and treat clients, with care and respect. The client is always right. I continue to come back time and again, and bring my small groups of art history lovers here to stay. The rooms are clean and fresh. There is a new elevator that you can get on from the lobby without climbing the stairs with heavy bags, and the staff at the breakfast dining room are excellent. I can't believe that with all the guests they have, they remember me, but they do! Save your money and your time searching elsewhere. This is the place to stay. P.S. Ask for a quiet room that faces the cathedral. You will have a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: I like room 414. Choose any from X floor with a window looking toward the cathedral and you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaxacaculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Traveling in Latin America since 15 years, we always come back to hotel Catedral in Mexico City where we feel completely at home. The reception and service are impeccable at all levels. The rooms are brand new, large and comfy (including the hot water), most of them very calm. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever known and it is accessible until 11.30. Check out is at 2 PM, very convenient for taking planes in the evening ; but it may become a problem when the hotel was fully booked, because it delays the time of actual check-in . The location is perfect, in the middle of the Historical Center, and secure. Internet access is fast but sometimes needs a reset.
To sum : The people at the Catedral Hotel really care for their customers and they constantly aim at offering them the best possible stay.
Special thanks to Jessica at the reception and to S. Pacheco at the Tour Desk.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a view to the outside of the hotel. Thus they receive less daylight and may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarataNatiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Catedral a few years ago but I even liked it better this time. This time I stayed five nights, great location just one block from La Catedral, modern rooms, good sized bathroom, a balcony (Room 504) and very nice staff. You might hear some noise in the morning caused by the traffic but not very loud though. Staying in the Zocalo area, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael_Baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This place has a great location. Near the zocalo and Rooms are good and bathroom excellent. Service is amicable. Jaz, Thelma and Mayra go out of their way to be helpful at breakfast in the restaurant. Value of this place is excellent. Good internet is included in the prices and they have cable tv and bottled water in rooms.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoSigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel Catedral have succeded to integrate the personal feel of a small hotel and most of the services that you only can get at a big hotel. It also combines a very central location with a relatively quiet spot in lively Mexico City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

this is my fifth time staying here, and the hotel still have excellent service, location and the price. However, the hotel is going through some renovation at this moment and construction noises can be heard through out the day. One of the two elevator didn't work and that pretty inconvenient. And my major complaint is the wifi, the connection was so unstable that I kept losing the service. other than that it's the best place stay in mexico city

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#22 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing