We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best budget friendly hotel ever”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #14 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best budget friendly hotel ever”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I just love staying at this hotel. I stayed at this hotel 5 yrs ago and it's still great! The service is great, the location is great and there are so many restaurants and bars that u can go and i had a hard time deciding which one to go to. Definately go to Teotihuacan( the pyramids) with the hotel travel agency, the guide is excellent and the price is about 400 pesos which was reasonable. I stayed at the 7th floor with three queen size beds and i loved the fact that the terrace is right near the room. I along with two girlfriends walked aroud the hotel area 10 at night and it wasn't scary at all b/c there are policemen on every block.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    393
    67
    22
    16
See reviews for
250
356
114
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights during spring break. The hotel is very nice and the location is excellent. We were given room 205, carpet, two double beds, ceiling fan, tv w/remote and cable, balcony opening to Donceles st, nice bathroom with long counter, large, glassed-in shower, variable hot water . . . note: turn on the cold water first and then turn on the hot. It took us 2 days before we hit on the correct procedure. When we turned on the hot first, the water would fluctuate from scaling to freezing the entire shower.

The is ice available on each floor, a nice roof-top terrace on the top floor, and two bottles of water are provided to guests each day . . . along with candy and fresh fruit in a bowl at Reception.

The cathedral and zocalo are right around the corner, a 7-11 is on the corner, and an internet place is just down the street. Plus, I think the hotel offers free Wi-Fi.

Will we stay here again? You bet . . . we paid $53/night and that rate is 10% less for cash . . . great deal for so close to the action. Only negative: hard beds and pillows.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I'll keep this simple. The hotel is conveniently located in the historic center (literally a block from El Zocalo), it's very clean, the employees are nice, the room was a nice size and had a good ceiling fan, and it was very reasonably priced. They did give me a discount for paying in pesos, so you might want to go that route to save a few bucks. And it cost me 120 pesos from the airport in a taxi - the prices do vary at the taxi stands, so ask a few if they quote you a higher price. A good local place for breakfast is Cafe Popular, on Cinco De Mayo, about two or three blocks up from the Zocalo on the right hand side.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We were in and out of Mexico City 3 times this winter and stayed at Catedral each time, with rooms on 5th, 4th, and 1st floors. Rooms and service were consistent and great. Place is squeaky clean. Breakfast food is great and service is fast and efficient. The staff is friendly (everyone says hello, someone always jumps to open doors). Tour desk is helpful.
Purified water is nice to have. Shower is great. We love the roof top terrace (they seem to be repairing/changing one end at the moment - so only one end was open. But we were up there on New Year's Eve. Great fun to toast in New Year with some other guests, WATCH the Cathedral's bells be rung, and see fireworks over the city.
I'd like to clone this place. Price is terrific and you can lower it further by paying cash.
The location really can't be beat - so easy to see many, many museums in a short walk, plus Templo Mayor and easy access to Metro. Agree with others that someone needs to open some more good restaurants in Centro. If you happen to be there on a Saturday night, expect alot of noise from culture centre's neighboring disco. They kept it up till 2 last week, and they were loud. Not sure which side if any of the building would be immune to it. Also staff put a rubber like mattress pad on our bed the last night we were there. ugh - that thing was hot and noisy! A bad idea that needs to be abandoned immediately. But really, we love this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Basic clean rooms with internet access and excellent buffet breakfast, two blocks from the Zocalo. Ask for a room with a balcony; these rooms face north and have an absolutely incredible view of the city all lit up at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

After almost 17 years as a client, I enjoyed Catedral again last week. For anyone wanting the Historic Center of Mexico City, the price cannot be beat unless you want hostel-level accommodations. The main square, the Aztec Templo Mayor, the murals, and much of the rest of Mexican history are within a few blocks, easily walkable.

Do not choose this hotel if you want corporate sleek (and the price). The rooms are clean, the staff is accommodating, and the location is perfect for the historic center of town. The potable tap in the bathroom supplies safe water (unusual in the country). The food continues to attract both locals and tourists.

To my surprise, one guest last week described the food as not that great, although the food has been one of my secure reasons for going. Later, I realized that he may not have known about the daily afternoon "menu" or comida corrida. Sometimes you have to ask for it - 4-6 courses at a very reasonable price with continual surprises in each course. Don't miss the cremas!

The hotel plans a tremendous expansion. I am not sure what this means in terms of inconvenience and noise. Ask before you go!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The hotel staff speak English and are friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and nicely furnished with a small round table, two chairs and a padded bench/footstool. The bed was hard, which is to be expectted in Mexico unless, I suppose, you are staying at an American chain or a higher end hotel. There was plenty of storage room for clothing, andthe bathroom and shower stall were attractive and roomy. The buffet breakfast was good and provided lots of options. We had dinner in the dining room one night and while the food wasn't gourmet, it was satisfying. The location is central to shopping and within walking distance to some tourist attractions and close to a subway station. We were only there for two nights and the room was quiet on one night and on the other some guests were speaking loudly late at night as they passed our room. Tip: always bring earplugs on your trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capricorn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,374 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
749 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
688 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 310 in Mexico City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing