We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value”
Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #14 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent service and value”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We choose this hotel based on location and value. Upon arrival we were shown a room at our request that we found very small and potentially noisy as it was low in the building and on a busy street. The desk staff and bellhop were very accomodating and helpful and kept showing us rooms (4) until we were totally satisfied. We couldn't have expected better service. The beds were a little hard, as are others in Mexico. We were also impressed by the cleaning staff. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    389
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
236
350
113
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We came with a large group of 41 Canadians & Americans. We spent 5 nights at the hotel and thought it was 10 out of 10...for value, location, service and cleanliness. The staff were more than accommodating for our large group. We only wish we could have had buffet breakfast rather than all being served the same thing each morning...next time we will opt out of paying extra for the "group" breakfast. The hotel restaurant was very good..their Aztec soup was scrumptious..as was most things we ordered. Our group met on the 7th floor terrace for happy hours and some ended their evenings with a night cap there. We had 5 1/2 very full days, and toured with a fantastic local tour guide by the name of Monica. We highly recommend her, she can be reached by phone or email..-- or --
We thought Mexico City far exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to return. While there we saw the sun and moon pyramids, Xochimilco and Coyoacan, did the turibus city tour which was excellent, went to the Cacahuamilpa Caves and Taxco, toured the Museum of Anthroplogy as well as Templo Mayor and made a quick trip to the Torre Latino mirador..a very full visit. We will stay at the Hotel Catedral on our next visit...again...Thank-you staff at the hotel and Monica for making our trip such a success...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The beds were hard as boards, and the pillows were uncomfortable too. But if you don't mind that, it's a great value. You get a 10% discount if you pay cash, so we paid about $60 a night, including tax! Breakfast is extra, but the buffet is not a good value unless you like to eat a huge breakfast - you can probably eat cheaper in the hotel restaurant. They charge for internet use - nearby internet cafes are cheaper.

If we go back, we won't stay in the center/Zocalo - noisy, crowded, and bleak-looking. We liked the nearby neighborhoods much better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkland_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I've stayed at this popular hotel many times. For the price, it's hard to beat. The location, cleanliness and service are excellent. The hotel restaurant serves tasty food as well, if you don't have the energy to go out after a day of exploring the city. There's also a lovely veranda for sitting and enjoying the view. Hotel Catedral oftentimes fills up on the weekends and most holidays. Book ahead. If you can't get in, try the Hotel Gillow nearby.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsXina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is a European style hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating to all our needs. The breakfast buffet which is extra but very reasonable was extraordinary in terms of variety and quantity and freshness. We liked our exterior room overlooking the street and this hotel has access to the important sites of the Historic District and access to the Metro which is only about a block away. There is a roof top terrace where every night before dinner we had wine or beer bought at a local store and enjoyed the evening breeze. On the corner near the hotel is a tiny latte place for those who love their coffee drinks and night and day one can cruise the pedestrian street to other outdoor cafes. .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannecorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Great location one block off the zocolo and the inner rooms are quiet! Friendly staff, clean and spacious room, good buffet breakfast. Only down side is the hard beds. If you can handle that, it's a sweet little hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I have stayed in Hotel Catedral a number of times over the last 7-8 years while visiting Mexico City for work.

I keep coming back because 1. it's good value for money, 2. the location is great (if you want to be near the Zocalo) 3. staff are friendly 4. restaurant (especially buffet breakfast) is good 5. rooms are clean and functional with internet included

I'll be back there again in a couple of weeks for 2 nights

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,356 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
716 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
683 reviews
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#117 of 305 in Mexico City
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing