We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging beauty; great rooftop view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Ranked #116 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Aging beauty; great rooftop view”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We honeymooned here 24 years ago and were eager to see how the old Majestic was holding up.

The lobby and grand staircase are still eye-popping. The human-operated, brass elevator takes you to a bygone era, for sure. The place is old and needs an overhaul. Our room had an insanely noisy neighbor, so the front desk moved us to a more secluded room which was tiny but had huge closets.

No natural light or air (we followed the lead of previous TripAdvisor reviews and asked for a fan but there were none). Nice bed, problem-free plumbing; aging electric outlets wouldn't hold our chargers.

The rooftop restaurant offers a great view of the zocalo. Breakfast buffet is pricey (try the jugo verde, a refreshing juice made of cactus & celery), but the coffee keeps coming and the scenery is fantastic. As the cathedral bells rang, we saw zocalo action (two different protest marches, Sunday morning church-goers) and the snow-capped volcano.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Yeah, the Majestic is showing its age, but is a good bargain for its central location and old-style feel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the street noise, get a room facing the zocalo: the 5:30 a.m. flag-raising is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdub333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    144
    117
    64
    48
See reviews for
98
148
55
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I was attracted to this hotel because of its situaiton next to the Zocalo, the main square, in Mexico City and I was really happy to be given a room overlooking the square, with a clear view of the two volcanoes Popocatepetl and Iztaccihuatl in the distance. The hotel is showing its age in its fittings and furniture but it has a certain charm and I was glad to have chosen it for an overnight stay (the airport is only a 10-15 minute taxi ride away). I had always wanted to visit its rooftop restaurant where I had breakfast the next morning. The negative aspect was what happened inbetween- ear-splitting noises above my head from what sounded like a giant stone washing machine and then very, very loud bangs as if from a metal rod. Very frightening and disturbing, even for me (extremely hard-of-hearing). I didn't call to see what it was as I kept thinking it would stop. After about 2 hours, I managed to fall asleep so I suppose it did stop eventually. Hopefully I will get an explanation as I mentioned it in my check-out survey, and the problem will be solved for future visitors. I'll keep you posted. BTW, excellent price for this city-centre hotel - just over £65 including breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathbaker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The location off the Zocalo is excellent. The hotel was built in 1937 and looks like it needs a complete renovation. The room was clean. The bed was hard. I had to call twice to have the toilet fixed. The balacony doors were hard to close. The biggest problem is the noise. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
733 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arrived early at 530am into MEX airport. The taxi dropped us off at the hotel and it was locked or looked closed. At first I was shocked and thought they must of went out of business. The taxi driver told me they close the doors overnight due to security. I am glad I stayed at this hotel it was in a perfect location. We were given a room that overlooks the Zocalo, it was Mexican Independence week so all the buildings were decorated with lights. The hotel is old but still satisfies with its helpful staff. The price is beyond reasonable, I would stay here again if or when I return to DF.

Room Tip: You must request a Zocalo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were happy with the location. The view from the room is fantastic. If you want the old style Mexican hospitality and care from a great staff, this is it.
However, the old place needs a rehab. Plumbing was iffy, electrical more so. The cleanliness standards don't match up to any other Best Westerns we have been to.
Never mind any of the negatives, if you book on Hotels.com and get the $80 rate, it''s a good deal and a nice memory. Try it, you'll like it. Just ignore the negatives.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flylowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in 2 rooms and enjoyed the lovely building and the good location. Nevertheless, the rooms were very dark, shabby and loud. The connection door between the rooms couldn't e opened. The roof top terrace is beautiful with a fantastic view of the Zocalo, but the breakfast buffet leaves definitvely room for improvement. Good for a night or two, but 5 nights was too long. The internet connection is lousy and didn't work most of the time. The hotel computer is hopeless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Zocalo view. The interior rooms go to the patio and are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rombach00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We enjoyed the location and chose our room to face the Plaza. It was a little noisy, but we loved opening the window and hearing the church bells and the hustle and bustle of Mexico City. It is on the walking street and easy to get around from there. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. However, it is easy to see that they are not improving their rooms. We had lamps without bulbs and much of the room looked a little shabby. Wi-fi almost impossible to use and the "business" center computers are close to unusable. The restaurant, which has a great location, was had very average or below food. Wouldn't recommend it. Hallways echo and are noisy. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,374 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 310 in Mexico City
880 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#124 of 310 in Mexico City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
747 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Majestic

Property: Best Western Hotel Majestic
Address: Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Majestic Hotel Mexico City
Best Western Mexico City
Mexico City Best Western
Best Western Hotel Majestic Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing