We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from Hell not any Best Western Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Ranked #117 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
London and Dusseldorf
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell not any Best Western Standard”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for 5nights in this very Impressive building which a lot of charming decor in the staircase in the heart of Mexico DF.

Sadly what you see from outside and with the interior does not reflect with any Best Western or any Western Hotels standards.
We have complained about the cold of the room the curtain was moving as the air come in from outside due to old windows that have absolutely no isolation at all. Over the first nights no heater has been provided until we change the way approaching the Hotel stuff and look there an electric heater has been found. Unfortunately we end up with a cold when we kicked off our tour in South America thanks to this great way of customer care.

Breakfast in winter jackets. The stuff was having this great idea to open the tares to the whole glory and raised up all the windows to share the cold with all the guests. Another great idea to have your breakfast with frozen hands. I asked the stuff if they have been cold wearing winter jackets I assumed they have been. I asked why they would open all the windows letting all the cold air coming in. No response this continued every single day. So be prepared to get your breakfast with glows if it is cold. It is like the stuff has no feeling about the customer care at all.
The Breakfast was not ready in time. Be prepared that the stuff is not worried to build up the buffet every morning to the same standards you expect. They don´t care even if you have paid for it. We been waiting 45min for an omelette because they build up the station after 09:00 even breakfast starts some hours earlier. Looks like even the guests don´t bother.

Comfort of beds. An experience that you may link with futon beds in Japan. If you are Asian you will welcome a very hard bed but if you are European and love the comfort of Hilton or Marriot than get to know your bones. This is how hard the bed is in reality. Every morning pains because of bad sleep.

Ignorance to highest standards. I called the reception that was busy playing the mobile games rather than answering the switchboard. Why would you bother even to answer the Phone to a guest? How do I know they were playing mobile games? While ringing the reception my partner went down from the 6th floor to the reception and if you look to the right side you can see the switchboard that was lightening red for incoming call and the receptionist with his mobile in the hand. Response from receptionist he did not hear anybody calling. Right...

Troubles to enter and leave Zokalo during the New Year eve celebration. It was a disaster to get anywhere or to leave the Hotel as the streets where flooded with people. No underground in some occasions they close down the entire area and we had to walk around blocks to find some police man that understood that we are the guests of the Hotel and we want to enter our Room after being very harsh with them and virtually holding the Door key in front of their nose.
Be aware of what you want when you book this Hotel because this is not even to Backpackers standards and does not deserve even to be called a Best Western Hotel. It has apparently 4Stars rating but be aware that this has nothing to do with any European, Asian, American or even Central American Standards! One Star is not good as a total failure to provide any care for the guest.

If I would look for a Hotel from Hell I think I would strongly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Do not book this Hotel during New Years Eve celebration until three Kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    144
    117
    64
    48
See reviews for
98
148
55
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Besancon, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Fantastic location, right on the Zocálo, with easy access to many sights. Very nice historical building with colourful tiles and an old-fashioned elevator that isn't manned at night, so I would walk up the 5 flights of stairs. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Zocálo are noisy, so avoid if you are a light sleeper (didn't bother me at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarlaBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Quite outstanding location in the Zocalo right opposite the Presidential Palace.You can sit on the balcony and watching the guards taking down the flag! Lovely décor with beautiful tiles. All in all a hotel with real character.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a small hotel right on the Zócalo in Mexico City. It has the most beautiful tiles on wall, staircase, and floors. A beautiful skylight is above the lounge on the second floor. Talavera vases and wagon wheels add to the colonial decor. The staff was excellent: friendly and helpful. I so enjoyed my ten days there. It was over Christmas. It was exciting with music, ice-skating, and tobaggoning in the Zócalo. From my balcony I has a great view of the National Cathedral. It was noisy until about 11 pm but it was the noise of people having fun.

Room Tip: Rooms in front and on the side are noisy but so interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anacaro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Mexico D.F. offers a lot to the visiting tourist. Although we didn't stay at the hotel, we did enjoy a terrific brunch and amazing views of El Zocalo (city center) that includes the Catedral (National cathedral), Palacio Nacional (Mexico's federal government offices) and the city government offices...all beautiful an impressive. An added bonus for the holidays is that views included a massive ice rink, toboggan slide and Christmas tree adorned the square (see picture attached).

Our brunch included traditional sweet breads (pan dulce), amazing fresh fruit that is so plentiful in Mexico and everything from hot cakes and omelets to chilequiles, molletes and chicharones in both green and red sauce. I had coffee, but my wife and son enjoyed the Mexican hot chocolate...so different than we get at home in the U.S., and SO good!

The historic Majestic hotel is well past it's prime, but is still very well maintained. The lobby and particularly the rooftop restaurant were both very nice. I did not see the rooms, so I cannot comment.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had a perfect view of the plaza although were crowded occasionally by folks wanting to take photos of the festivities below. The view was 5 stars and the food and ambiance a solid 3.5 stars!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolverine325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

BUYER BEWARE - No hot water and poor bedding. No parking and no drop off area for belongings. Parking is VERY expensive


On Dec 16the hotel area was closed due to the Federal Police blocking off and closing down the hotel area while we were attempting to stay at the hotel. The hotel was aware of this occurrence based on discussions with the Bell Captain the morning we left for Mexico City and of course we would have been happy to stay at another hotel during our stay. The hotel did not refund our stay.

Room Tip: If driving to Mexico City do not stay here.Stay close to historical district but not inside You mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As the title says, great location by being right on the Zocalo Square. Staffs are also very friendly. Our room faces the square so it's very beautiful and lively both at night and during the day. However, if you are looking for privacy or have a hard time sleeping under loud noises, DO NOT book this hotel. It's VERY LOUD throughout the day and night. Construction noises and loud voices using microphone prevalent almost ALL THE TIME. The walls are very thin so the room is never quiet. In terms of facilities, it is very minimalistic like any other 3-star hotels. No refrigerators, no heaters/AC, etc. Elevator is very old-fashioned so if you are looking for something down-to-earth and don't mind loudness, this hotel is fine for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Zocalo square if you want good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,374 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 310 in Mexico City
880 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#124 of 310 in Mexico City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
749 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Majestic

Property: Best Western Hotel Majestic
Address: Avenida Madero 73 | Col Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Majestic Hotel Mexico City
Best Western Mexico City
Mexico City Best Western
Best Western Hotel Majestic Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing