We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style on a tight budget, wifi, room service, safe”
Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Isabel
Ranked #168 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The antique style tall ceiling rooms and l covered courtyard make this place have charm while in the center of downtown. Good value, about $22 a night for one. Safe for a woman traveling solo. Has emenities like Wi Fi (a bit slow), Room service, room safe, tv, a homey cafe and bar. Seems to be popular with European tourist. The rooms have very old time high ceiling, vintage hotel furnishings, showers. Not beautiful but basic. A little run down but for the price and location who cares. I like the balcony rooms with the old fashion glass doors. The staff is not overly friendly but very professional. Nice Day of the Dead altar in the lobby one visit.

Room Tip: Chose a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sirenanathalieNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

I´ve been staying here for the past five summers. It's not the Ritz or even the Holiday Inn, but it's clean, inexpensive, safe, and within walking distance to the metro and many tourist destinations. There is no spa and you pay to use the computers in the lobby. Internet access for your laptop is available. I've never used room service, although many guests take advantage of it. Staff members are helpful and friendly. And they'll call a safe taxi for you, whenever you want one.

Room Tip: Your choice is usually between a noisy room and a sunny one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbaritava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

One of my worst experiences, really rude front desk staff, a nightmare sleep, leaky bathrooms were enough to run away from there first nite.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielJop172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Clean & quiet and an easy walk to the historical parts of the city. No breakfast included but a good restaurant attached and a fun little bar to meet the locals and try the tequila!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolabah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This hotel is located just blocks away from the Centro Historico in Mexico City making it an ideal place to stay. The Hotel has a beautiful internal courtyard too.
With breakfast included the price was good for the one night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gen177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is very helpfull and clean, the location is great and there is a nice roof terrace were you can hangout in the sun.
When we returned on the way back to mexico city we could leave our backpacks here for free in the luggage room during the day, which was very nice.
You can pick a room with or with shared bedroom so for every one's budet there is something.Downstairs is a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner which is nice and close..
There is free wifi also.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Btravel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I spent two weeks in Mexico on business, four nights at this Hotel. Hotel Isabel was recommended, by a friend who had stayed here previously, as a base for exploring the Historic Centre.

It is situated a couple of blocks from the Zocalo and very convenient for the whole of the historic centre.

My room was very large with an en-suite. There was a safe large enough for my laptop and valuables and I had a view looking down the street which was good to get my bearings. The decor is dated with sickly peach furnishings and bedding plus some clashing patterns to add to the effect, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Service was friendly, there was free wifi, free water and perfectly located for everything I wanted to do in the area. Plus it was very cheap.

I didn't try the restaurant as I quickly discovered Cafe El Popular nearby which was great for breakfast or a coffee and snack.

As a solo, female traveller, who was going to be going out and about, the hotel was fine, as was Mexico City on the whole. I didn't go out alone after about 9-10pm when the streets were much quieter but otherwise I felt safe enough to travel on the metro and local transport.

If you are looking for budget accommodation in the Historic Centre this is most definitely a good bet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Littlemisswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#131 of 312 in Mexico City
262 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#58 of 312 in Mexico City
307 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#127 of 312 in Mexico City
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel El Salvador
Hotel El Salvador
#147 of 312 in Mexico City
94 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#150 of 312 in Mexico City
138 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#104 of 312 in Mexico City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica 63, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £15 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Isabel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the Historic Center of Mexico City quite a few steps from the Zocalo, with elevators, Internet, all services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Isabel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing