We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanborn's

Sanborn's
Ranked #10 of 94 Nightlife in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two restaurants and a jazz bar in a colorful atmosphere located in an 18th-century building.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slow but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I went once and the service was extreamly slow and it was at 3pm but I ordered some tacos of cochinita pibil and they were great, I can say I didin't mind waiting.
The 4 dishes we ordered were really good and the milshakes we're so good we order 2 more to-go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valevillalobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Reliable Sanborn's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Near the Palace Hotel in the Zona Rosa, we always visit the Sanborns and take a meal or 2. The prices may be a little more than the surrounding, but the quality, safety, and service are worth it. It is also nice to see the same faces for many years. Also an easy way to pick up things you may have forgotten, our with our last trip a Birthday cake for one of our fellow travelers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go For The Experience, Not To Eat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Sanborn's is one of the most popular restaurant chains in Mexico. The food isn't wonderful but it isn't terrible either. It's like a Denny's or Big Boy's.

I always bring tourists here when we're visiting El Centro/Zocalo. This location is special because the building was formerly the palace of a wealthy family. The building is covered with blue and white tiles, which are famously produced in the Puebla area of Mexico. The building is a sight to see with its blue tiles, fountains, and waitresses in colorful, uncomfortable looking outfits.

Most people feel like they need to partake in the Sanborn's tradition while visiting or living here. The restaurants are everywhere. This flagship restaurant has numerous beautiful dining areas, a gift shop and a nice little bar tucked away upstairs in the corner.

There's a fee to use the bathroom, unless you're dining in the restaurant. Something many people seem surprised y when they try to visit the bathroom and are asked for $!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeMarigolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“For people who don't like Mexican food (or good food for that matter)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I've had better Mexican food at Taco Bell in the USA. I can't imagine why this chain is so popular in Mexico! The food is....bland, over-cooked, tasteless, and reminds me of the cafeteria food they serve in schools or at hospitals. Which is why it seemed to me that mostly older people were eating there. What a disappointment. And the prices are too high for the quality. I'd rather eat a few delicious tacos at the taco stand by the subway station for a fraction of the cost.
This is the address of the Sanborn's I visited:
AV.JOSE VASCONCELOS NO. 106 SAN MIGUEL CHAPULTEPEC, México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BetsyinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We recently enjoyed lunch at Sanborn's in the Tile House. I would recommend a visit to anyone visiting Mexico City and the Zocalo area. The food is good, not the best in the city, but certainly adequate. The environment, however is beautiful and quite charming. It is located in a centuries old house adorned with blue tiles, and the building also houses a small department store. But the courtyard area where the restaurant is located is really wonderful. A recommended experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2kornsontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanborn's also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanborn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing