We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Ranked #20 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I hardly ever write reviews, but I want to warn travelers to stay away. I typically stay in the Marriott next door but they were booked this time. As my colleague is staying there, I opted for the Intercontinental to be close. Got here today. The room first of all was not king size as reserved, second it was not really clean - half empty water bottles,used coffee pod still in coffee machine. The water in the coffee machine had brown gook floating in it - it was disgusting, yuck. I have to do some work on my laptop. A cleaning lady comes in without knocking - and does not even apologize, just tells me she has to bring a new shower cap. Also, there seems to be renovation going on - I hear hammering, the noise is awful. When I complain, they tell me they will give me a new room - this is now over 30 minutes ago and I have not heard back! Can't wait to leave!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMM153CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us your feedback about your stay in the hotel. I am really sorry for all the inconveniences that you experienced in our hotel, there are no excuses for the bad service that you received from our staff. Rest assure that I already shared your comments with our management staff in order to take action and prevent this kind of incidents. This is not the service that we are use to and it is a real shame that you had such a bad impression of our hotel. I hope you can give us another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the service that you expect from an InterContinental Hotel.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    442
    194
    74
    39
See reviews for
145
184
97
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is centrally located in "safe zone" area of Mexico city called Polanco. I stayed in club level room so I do enjoy the benefit it brings including breakfast in 39th floor where I can view the beautiful Mexico City in the early morning. The service is good and attentive. The breakfast comprises of quality food but the variety is quite limited and no salad at all. The room is clean though rather small compared to other hotels in the range of US$400! It has a big window so I can watch the beautiful city of Mexicon day and nights. I like it. The bathroom is decent with limited supplies of soaps and shampoo and the like. In general, the room is fine. The only problem that I already learn from previous travelers is the noise of door closing from other rooms. I checked and found out there is a big gap between the floor and the door so most of the time, I am waken up by heavy noise from other doors closure. I think the management should look into this matter, otherwise it is difficult for guest to get a nice sleep.

Room Tip: Anthropology museum is just next to the hotel; hop on hop off bus stop for city tour is right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location, Club Lounge, breakfast, room, view and most of all the service provided by our staff; I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with the noise produced by doors closure. I would like to share with you that we are under renovation process of all our guest rooms and we are trying to improve on this matter, we do appreciate your advice regarding the gap between the doors and floor. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time and better soundproofing in rooms.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a very imposing property and typical of the Intercontinental chain. Everything about it is very grand, but it feels impersonal (as you would expect from such a huge hotel, to be fair).
The rooms are now dated, but very functional. Plenty of choice of restaurants/bars, but expensive, even though quality is good.
Big downside is that there is absolutely no space to relax outside, so if you want to enjoy the sunshine, you have to find a local bar/cafe. After a week here, I felt like a caged animal!
I am sure that, for the money, there are much nicer places to stay in Mexico City, but for a business stay for a couple of nights, it is bearable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsnakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for giving us your feedback about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our restaurants, bars and rooms which are dated as you mentioned but I would like to share with you that we are under renovation process and on your next visit you can ask for a renewed room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Pros:
- Great location. The neighborhood is great away from the mess of Zócalo. There are great restaurants, bars, parks and museums nearby. It is really an upscale place.
- Great hotel with lots of restaurants inside.
- Staff was very kind to us from bell boys to front desk. Flawless service!
- Nice breakfast (yet we do think that we got food poisoned by their passion fruit juice...)
- The room was great. They gave us a high floor with a great view to Bosque de Chapultepec.
- Nice bed and shower.
- Free wi-fi (for intercontinental members).
- Free bikes.
- Discounted parking for guests.
- Great gym.

Cons: NONE

ADDITIONAL COMMENT:
It is really interesting how an hotel charging a price that is not that cheap can please their guests with impeccable service and quality.

Room Tip: High floor with views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardomrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us your great feedback about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, restaurants, breakfast, rooms, gym, etc, but most of all that the service provided were up to the standards you were looking for. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did on your last visit.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Consistent property in the Intercontinental family. There is a great selection of restaurants in the hotel and in an overall great location. The staff was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our restaurants, location and most of all the service provided. We are willing for your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Pros: good staff and service, good beauty salon and hairdresser on site, good choice of restaurants in the hotel and superb location, in the heart of Polanco which is a relatively secure and attractive part of Mexico City

Average: Rooms are comfortable but the decor is a little bit tired: some look as though they need a substantial overhaul. Beds very comfortable. Prices are too high to justify anything other than very fresh and elegant decor

Cons: Lobby is large, noisy and decor is tacky. In general, prices are extremely high. Breakfast area very cramped when I stayed there (Oct 2013, I believe they may have expanded it since)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlandesaenMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The location is great as there are many restaurants and close to public transportation if you want to go the Zocalo area. Zocalo is a half hour cab ride. It is walking distance to the anthropology museum, Lincoln park and the chapultec park. Great concierge staff - especially Victoria.Thanks!

Room Tip: Choose a room which overlooks the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for sharing your great comments about our stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, our location and most of all the service provided. We are going to congratulate Victoria for her great job and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 309 in Mexico City
1,976 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 309 in Mexico City
1,091 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 309 in Mexico City
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 309 in Mexico City
1,230 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 309 in Mexico City
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Property: InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 218, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#30 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Mexico City is an award-winning hotel in Polanco, one of the capital's most dynamic cultural, business and shopping areas. This prestigious building is close to the National Museum of Anthropology, Chapultepec Park and Castle and the National Auditorium. Nearby Mazaryk Avenue and Antara Mall are also worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Intercontinental Mexico City
Mexico City Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing