We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice people, old building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Ranked #19 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great location, nice people, old building”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel sits by the Marriott and the W in the fanciest part of town, but is unfortunately a little old, noisy and dingy. However, it makes up for the so-so rooms with great service, mainly with the concierge. The hotel is also steps to a 7-11, Starbucks, HSBC and some wonderful museums and restaurants. Location, location, location.

We stayed on floor 29 which smells a lot like it might have a water damage/mold problem. Our room, in addition to the halls, also smelled a bit boat-like. This might have something to do with the lack of a fan in the bathroom. The walls are thin and you can hear anything from your neighbors conversing to loud outdoor noises such as marathons, traffic noise, or hammering/drilling due to the renovations (even though you are high up on the 29th floor). The rooms as far as decoration and such are concerned are pretty standard. Also, I agree with the comments about the temperature being too hot. We had to turn our room to about 64 degrees to sleep comfortably in bed.

On the other hand, the location is fantastic and a quick walk to some hip, safe, upscale areas and restaurants. The concierge is great and have connections to private cars/tour guides which take you wherever you want to go for about 20 US dollars an hour. This is how we saw a lot of attractions and even went on some impromptu side trips at the suggestion of or driver/your guide. All in all, we had a wonderful stay in Mexico but would preferred if it had been a little quieter.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WineEnthusiast2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us your feedback about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location and concierge services; on the other hand as you mentioned we are under guest rooms’ total renovation, our main goal is to provide a better product and service nevertheless we are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced in our vintage rooms. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so you can try our renewed rooms.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    431
    187
    74
    38
See reviews for
139
179
94
908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is going through a major renovation for the remainder of 2014. I would ask for specifically a renovated room that tends to be in the sweet spot of floors 14 to 16 currently. The newly renovated rooms are nice modern clean and add a much more comfortable experience to this hotel. This is a good hotel for business trips when in Mexico City in a nice area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sopans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the new rooms, our location and service, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel was probably at its best 20 or 25 years ago, now its getting old. Rooms are not modern and defintely not clean. The clean up of rooms is the worst I have seen in many years. They are renovating many of the floors and the noise is intolerable, they begin every day at about 8 am... no point in trying to sleep late here. On the other hand, room service was fast and the food and presentaion was excellent. My biggest peave was there during world cup and they blocked out all world cup games from room TV and made it a point to tell everyone that world cup games could only be seen in the downstaris bar and only if you were actually consuming something at the bar. This was a resal bummer.
Although most of the restaurants ( they have about 6 in the property) were very good, I certainly would not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure construction has ended before you book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al Dearteaga d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Al Dearteaga d,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed our food and restaurant selection. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the condition of the hotel and renovations may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BsAs
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is well located in the heart of Polanco close to the Bosques of Chapultepec and many museums. The facilities are great, rooms nicely decorated and big. The breakfast buffet is varied though the set up is rather uncomfortable. The gym offers many alternatives and the spa should not be missed, massage is great and the area offers a kind of private jacuzzi and steam bath. Unfortunately there is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for sharing your comments with us, we really appreciate it. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to offer the same good services.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a short business trip. The location was ideal and convenient. However, there was construction that was a minor inconvenience. I had a new room so that was nice. There was also major construction at the nearby shopping district. The hotel bar was nice and had a World Cup atmosphere. We also visited the convenient Starbucks directly across the street. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the new rooms, our location, bar and service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with the same good service we did last time.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an old school hotel in a very nice location. It is undergoing a renovation since rooms look kind of old. Service was great for a hotel this size (is really big). Good food. It feels kind of luxury. I will recommended it if you are not a modern hotel freak (I mean like W hotels as an example)

Room Tip: Get the higher rooms for a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie7fR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, food and most of all the service provided; we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future so you can try our renewed rooms and to provide with the same good service.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I been staying for 2 night at the business floor (39). This hotel have an amazing view, and the hotel itself is well maintain.
the service is amazing!!!! you get what you pay for. the staff will take care of every thing you need.
the location is really good. it have a lot of restaurant around and great other stuff near by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo447, Gerente at InterContinental Presidente Mexico City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and for sharing your great comments about our stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, our location and most of all the service provided. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Valencia V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,904 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 305 in Mexico City
1,067 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,268 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
630 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Mexico City

Property: InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 218, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#30 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Mexico City 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Mexico City is an award-winning hotel in Polanco, one of the capital's most dynamic cultural, business and shopping areas. This prestigious building is close to the National Museum of Anthropology, Chapultepec Park and Castle and the National Auditorium. Nearby Mazaryk Avenue and Antara Mall are also worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Intercontinental Mexico City
Mexico City Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing