We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As comfortable as it is beautiful - a real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I booked this hotel for a trip I planned for my partners 30th birthday, and my choice was based on the reviews already on here! We stayed for 9 days and it more than lived up to the expectations we had. Staff were wonderful and helpful with our requests for trips and tours, the building itself is a work of art, the breakfasts were varied and delicious, we had one evening meal at the hotel and it was fantastic and the cocktails in the bars up stairs matched the views over the square.
Our room was exceptional, we slept very soundly, the bath was very comfortable and it was very clean and our lovely maids maintained it really well (we especially loved the chocolate lady bringing us treats!) It made a fantastic base to come back to after a day on our feet and travelling around the surrounding areas in the sun.
It's a great location with some lovely markets in walking distance and access to the under ground across the square.
Thank you Gran Hotel for a truly memorable trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you can get one with a view of the square it's even more special
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for your preference and for selecting us to receive you on your trip to Mexico City. We are delighted to know that you decided to spend your mornings touring on the surroundings and that, each time you returned, you felt relaxed and comfortable on your room. We do take a lot of care of our guests sleep and rest. We are aware of the importance of this aspect on any lodging experience, which is why we count with ergonomic mattresses in all of our rooms and a specially- designed pillow menu in order to match each guest´s specific preferences when it comes to sleeping time.
We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed this key aspect in your lodging experience, as well as the rest on the details involving your visit. Please consider us for your next stay in Mexico City as we would love to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,725)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Close to numerous monuments and resturants. The hotel is in a great location. . .The staff was always courteous, friendly and extremely helpful.

The room was always very clean and serviced in a timely manner. The entire hotel was very quite even though we were so close to many attractions. Our room was very big and warm.

The staff was also very knowledgable about the different sites we wanted to visit and also what metros to take. Obviously they made our trip much nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We feel proud to know that the assistance provided by our colleagues improved your recent stay with us. It is also excellent to know that you were able to visit some of the numerous touristic spots nearby. Hope you also had the chance of going to a favorite choice among our foreign guests: Teotihuacan.
This archeological zone is very close to Mexico City and mostly known for its pyramids. Before the Spaniard conquest over the different civilizations that habited our country back in the 1500´s, this site was major city and a very important religious center. In 1987 it was declared “World Heritage” by the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) and nowadays it functions as one of the most important touristic spots in Mexico. In the hotel we count with tours to this site; which is very popular among our guests. Perhaps you would like to take it for your next stay, we are sure your would have a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Me and my Girlfriend stayed at this amazing Hotel the for one week starting the last weekend of July;
The service was outstanding, Cesar the Front Desk Manager and his staff treated us marvelous,always looked after us, he made our reservations for the tours restaurants atc;
We checked in late night the Saturday 28th (2:00 am) due of a storm our flight got soooo delayed, the next morning Cesar invited us to try the brunch breakfast at the Terraza which was amazing not just due to the food, as well because of the service and view of the Zocalo "this restaurant is open only on Sundays for brunch and is available for everybody not only for the hotel guest, we highly recommend it" ;
Since the first moment we felt very close with the entire staff,Roberto, Eduardo, Jose Luis, , Sergio, Salvador and Cinthia (she is a very sweet and polite girl) they always helped us a lot with information about where to go, how to get there etc;
The room was truly amazing we stayed in a suite with Zocalo view wich was beautiful, waking up every morning with the view to the zocalo and all what that means "special thanks to Sra. Luz Maria our maid she was very kind also";
The restaurant for breakfast was very nice a lot of business people around everyday, the food was very good, the service was gorgeous by our friends Viridiana and Daniel they were really kind and polite with us everyday treating in a very charming way.
We have nothing but greetings for the staff of this place, we always take for granted that in a hotel like that the service must be according with the expectations, but this group of people were beyond their duties " one of them even gave us his buss pass day so we couldn't have any trouble getting it" Those type of things should make proud all the managers and area heads because those values are hard to find in an average workers " that staff really counts"

If you travel to Mexico City and have the chance stay at this amazing place which is beyond more luxury art and the famous "Tiffanny Vitral" you wont regret .

Greeting to all you guys From Mike and Alexis ! ! !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review about your recent stay with us. We could not feel happier about receiving your kind congratulations to the members of our staff. We feel very proud to know that you were eagerly assisted in the different areas of our hotel and that the service your received pleased you every time.
We also feel very satisfied to know that, besides staying with us, you also decided to try our Rooftop Terrace restaurant. We often suggest our guests to visit this place because we love to share with them the beautiful view that can be enjoyed from there. This, combined with our gourmet menu, turns the Rooftop terrace into an ideal place for spending a comfortable and pleasant evening. Also, this restaurant counts now with its own website form where you can purchase different promotions and specially designed packages you will find nowhere else. We definitely suggest visiting it so you can take advantage of this benefits, we are sure you find excellent deals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The building is way up there with any other in Europe.. truly magnificent.. tastefully cared for by enthusiastic staff.. attentively maintained by management and tradesmen.. we only wish that we could have stayed there for a week or so.. we had a room overlooking the Zocalo, with two double beds.. a minibar... a chaise lounge... tons of hanging space... roomy bathroom.. AND you can drink the water out of the tap as the entire hotel has purefied water in the entire system... no more keeping your mouth firmly closed in the shower in case a drop gets into your system! wonderful "cooked for you "breakfasts. book on the net well in advance and get this SUPER bargain for under a $100 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your detailed review as well as for giving us the chance to receive you. We feel very happy to know that you were able to take part of the specially designed promotions we offer through our official website. By your words, we believe you reserved under the “Early booking promotion”. This is a special feature that is available for our guests who make their bookings a certain time before their actual arrival. The rate gets this special feature when booked 60 days in advance and gets even better with a 90- day advance. This special option as well as other specially designed alternatives are daily available by this media, so we definitely recommend for next time you decide to stay with us. You will be always gladly received, thank you for your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel was located in a very central area of DF. The architecture is beautiful, the building and the air of the enviroment relaxing. The room I had was big and cosy. The whole staff, from the restaurant to the recpetion to the concierge online has been kind, helpful and nice. In the small circumstances when I needed some assistance I have been helped soon.
From roooms facing the plaza de la constitucao and from the balcony of the restaurant you can see the ceremony of striking the flag in the afternoon (around 18,00 if I am not wrong).
Food was good and Internet worked pretty well. Useful also the small business center with scanner.

Room Tip: A room facing the plaza might be more charming i think.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franktravel767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

We feel very proud to know that you had such a pleasant time on your recent experience with us. It is also a great satisfaction to know that you felt comfortable on our rooms. In the hotel, we count with 60 rooms divided in 5 categories. These categories are specially designed to fulfill every single guest´s requirement in order to provide them a truly special lodging experience. These different categories are meticulously detailed on our website, where you will also find different pictures of our rooms and other interesting features. We also count with a booking engine in there, which makes this portal an excellent alternative for reserving rooms and adding special services. Please consider visiting it the next time you are looking for where to stay on Mexico City. We would love to hear from you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Gran Hotel de Ciudad Mexico is a wonderful place to spend a short time visiting Mexico City.

This is great hotel for those visiting Mexico City, especially for tourism. It is beautifully decorated, has a wonderful view, and has helpful and friendly staff.

The most impressive feature is the interior architecture. A stained glass skylight covers the entire lobby and the rooms are decorated with an old style colonial decore. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the many sites of the Centro Historico district of Meixco City.

The best thing about the rooms are the enormous full size windows which stretch all the way to the vaulted ceilings. The interiors are decorated with Victorian era furniture. Bathrooms have modern fixtures with good waterflow. The beds are older and could be due for upgraded matresses, but are otherwise okay.

Hotel staff were helpful and very accomodating. Staff were able to assist us with our 12 am check in. They were able to move us to a room overlooking the Zocalo (Central Square) when requested it at the time of check in. The staff was always pleasant and had positive attitudes.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are visiting Mexico City for a short time for purposes of tourism.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the Zocalo.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwhiz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your beautiful words, it was our pleasure to receive you. We feel very proud to know that your enjoyed our decoration and architectonic style so much. Like you may already know, that building was originally made to host the “Centro Mercantil” (like an antique shopping mall). It was made under the directions of the famous architect Sebastian Roberts, whose initials can still be seen on the handrails of the hotel (SR) and was inaugurated back in 1899. Later in 1968, the owner at the time had the idea of turning it into a hotel due to the Olympic Games that would be held in Mexico City that year, which is how the “Centro Mercantil” became the Gran Hotel Ciudad de México.
Like the building itself, each key aspect of the hotel like the stained- glass ceiling, the elevators and the wrought- iron handrails have its own interesting story. Our concierge knows it very well and gladly gives a personal tour to every guest that wants to know a little bit more about our origins. Do not hesitate in asking for this tour on your next visit, we are sure you will enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent 5 nights in Mexico City at the Gran Hotel in July 2012. We stayed in a Master Suite Vista Zocalo room which worked well for traveling with a family (2 adults and a 13yo). The view of the Zocalo was wonderful. We enjoyed watching the constant activity on the square and the daily lowering of the flag. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were very accommodating and polite. This is a great location with many sites within walking distance. We never felt threatened or unsafe while touring the area. We will definitely stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had the opportunity of experiencing the daily flag ceremony. This is in fact a beautiful event that our guests who choose to stay on our Zocalo view rooms have the chance to witness. We feel proud to have the opportunity to show this ceremony to our guests as it is an excellent way to share some of our Mexican pride with our national guests and also with the visitors from other parts of the world.
Also, it is very good to know that you felt the safeness and security of the area we are located in. This is a lively area where it is common to see policemen around, which helps our guests feel confident enough to visit the numerous touristic attractions located nearby.
We do hope to have the opportunity to receive you again, we are sure that next time your experience with us will be just as satisfying as last time or even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,419 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
804 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,372 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
920 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £98 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing