We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Best Location Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #5 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
The World
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Value, Best Location Ever!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Probably one of the most architecturally stunning historical Deco buildings I have EVER seen!

The Good:
An amazing bargain at under $100. We paid $75 in low season!
The service is great. They are very accommodating and even upgraded us at no charge. Very nice.

The location is noisy but you trade a view of the Zocalo for a bit of noise. We didn't mind.

The Bad:
The devil is in the details. The windows need to be cleaned at the top and the bottom. The drapes need to be cleaned as do the drape pulls.

Room Tip: Try to get a Zocalo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripReviewer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions about us by this media. About the details on the windows you kindly mention, we would like to thank you for your attentions. We always appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests because it gives us the chance to keep improving our services.
As for this particular situation, we would only wish to have more details about the room you stayed in. Nevertheless we would like you to know that, in collaboration with our Housekeeper, we have established a new revision of the rooms specially focusing on this detail. We are sure that this will help us locate this aspects when existing and would also help us in fixing them immediately.
We hope that you think of us for your next visit to Mexico City. It will always be a pleasure to receive you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,016
    448
    93
    26
    29
See reviews for
736
996
173
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel was immaculate; I do not have any negative comments as our stay was perfect. The rooms are spacious, the restaurants were excepational, great costumer service throughout the hotel. Special thanks to Daniel C. in the restaurant by the lobby. He waited on us every morning and by the second day he knew precisely what we wanted. Once again, this hotel was excellent I will definately stay here again and will recommend family and friends to do the same.

Room Tip: If your room faces the Socalo it might be a bit noise. I would recommend a room that does not face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nolgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We feel proud to know that you will consider visiting us for your next trip to Mexico City. You will always be gladly welcomed and our colleagues will continue to do their best in perfectly adjusting into your specific requirements. We do appreciate a lot our returning guests, since they offer us the chance to attend them with a more personalized service each time they stay with us. Due to this we will be looking forward to your return in order to help you make your visits to the City into wonderful experiences. Perhaps for your next trip you would appreciate suggestions on where to eat and where to go for touristic activities. Our colleagues will be delighted to give you different alternatives in order to introduce you to the principal touristic locations on our beautiful city. We hope to have the privilege of attending you again soon, you will always be well received!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I booked this hotel for a trip I planned for my partners 30th birthday, and my choice was based on the reviews already on here! We stayed for 9 days and it more than lived up to the expectations we had. Staff were wonderful and helpful with our requests for trips and tours, the building itself is a work of art, the breakfasts were varied and delicious, we had one evening meal at the hotel and it was fantastic and the cocktails in the bars up stairs matched the views over the square.
Our room was exceptional, we slept very soundly, the bath was very comfortable and it was very clean and our lovely maids maintained it really well (we especially loved the chocolate lady bringing us treats!) It made a fantastic base to come back to after a day on our feet and travelling around the surrounding areas in the sun.
It's a great location with some lovely markets in walking distance and access to the under ground across the square.
Thank you Gran Hotel for a truly memorable trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you can get one with a view of the square it's even more special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your preference and for selecting us to receive you on your trip to Mexico City. We are delighted to know that you decided to spend your mornings touring on the surroundings and that, each time you returned, you felt relaxed and comfortable on your room. We do take a lot of care of our guests sleep and rest. We are aware of the importance of this aspect on any lodging experience, which is why we count with ergonomic mattresses in all of our rooms and a specially- designed pillow menu in order to match each guest´s specific preferences when it comes to sleeping time.
We feel very happy to know that you enjoyed this key aspect in your lodging experience, as well as the rest on the details involving your visit. Please consider us for your next stay in Mexico City as we would love to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Close to numerous monuments and resturants. The hotel is in a great location. . .The staff was always courteous, friendly and extremely helpful.

The room was always very clean and serviced in a timely manner. The entire hotel was very quite even though we were so close to many attractions. Our room was very big and warm.

The staff was also very knowledgable about the different sites we wanted to visit and also what metros to take. Obviously they made our trip much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We feel proud to know that the assistance provided by our colleagues improved your recent stay with us. It is also excellent to know that you were able to visit some of the numerous touristic spots nearby. Hope you also had the chance of going to a favorite choice among our foreign guests: Teotihuacan.
This archeological zone is very close to Mexico City and mostly known for its pyramids. Before the Spaniard conquest over the different civilizations that habited our country back in the 1500´s, this site was major city and a very important religious center. In 1987 it was declared “World Heritage” by the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) and nowadays it functions as one of the most important touristic spots in Mexico. In the hotel we count with tours to this site; which is very popular among our guests. Perhaps you would like to take it for your next stay, we are sure your would have a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Me and my Girlfriend stayed at this amazing Hotel the for one week starting the last weekend of July;
The service was outstanding, Cesar the Front Desk Manager and his staff treated us marvelous,always looked after us, he made our reservations for the tours restaurants atc;
We checked in late night the Saturday 28th (2:00 am) due of a storm our flight got soooo delayed, the next morning Cesar invited us to try the brunch breakfast at the Terraza which was amazing not just due to the food, as well because of the service and view of the Zocalo "this restaurant is open only on Sundays for brunch and is available for everybody not only for the hotel guest, we highly recommend it" ;
Since the first moment we felt very close with the entire staff,Roberto, Eduardo, Jose Luis, , Sergio, Salvador and Cinthia (she is a very sweet and polite girl) they always helped us a lot with information about where to go, how to get there etc;
The room was truly amazing we stayed in a suite with Zocalo view wich was beautiful, waking up every morning with the view to the zocalo and all what that means "special thanks to Sra. Luz Maria our maid she was very kind also";
The restaurant for breakfast was very nice a lot of business people around everyday, the food was very good, the service was gorgeous by our friends Viridiana and Daniel they were really kind and polite with us everyday treating in a very charming way.
We have nothing but greetings for the staff of this place, we always take for granted that in a hotel like that the service must be according with the expectations, but this group of people were beyond their duties " one of them even gave us his buss pass day so we couldn't have any trouble getting it" Those type of things should make proud all the managers and area heads because those values are hard to find in an average workers " that staff really counts"

If you travel to Mexico City and have the chance stay at this amazing place which is beyond more luxury art and the famous "Tiffanny Vitral" you wont regret .

Greeting to all you guys From Mike and Alexis ! ! !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review about your recent stay with us. We could not feel happier about receiving your kind congratulations to the members of our staff. We feel very proud to know that you were eagerly assisted in the different areas of our hotel and that the service your received pleased you every time.
We also feel very satisfied to know that, besides staying with us, you also decided to try our Rooftop Terrace restaurant. We often suggest our guests to visit this place because we love to share with them the beautiful view that can be enjoyed from there. This, combined with our gourmet menu, turns the Rooftop terrace into an ideal place for spending a comfortable and pleasant evening. Also, this restaurant counts now with its own website form where you can purchase different promotions and specially designed packages you will find nowhere else. We definitely suggest visiting it so you can take advantage of this benefits, we are sure you find excellent deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The building is way up there with any other in Europe.. truly magnificent.. tastefully cared for by enthusiastic staff.. attentively maintained by management and tradesmen.. we only wish that we could have stayed there for a week or so.. we had a room overlooking the Zocalo, with two double beds.. a minibar... a chaise lounge... tons of hanging space... roomy bathroom.. AND you can drink the water out of the tap as the entire hotel has purefied water in the entire system... no more keeping your mouth firmly closed in the shower in case a drop gets into your system! wonderful "cooked for you "breakfasts. book on the net well in advance and get this SUPER bargain for under a $100 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your detailed review as well as for giving us the chance to receive you. We feel very happy to know that you were able to take part of the specially designed promotions we offer through our official website. By your words, we believe you reserved under the “Early booking promotion”. This is a special feature that is available for our guests who make their bookings a certain time before their actual arrival. The rate gets this special feature when booked 60 days in advance and gets even better with a 90- day advance. This special option as well as other specially designed alternatives are daily available by this media, so we definitely recommend for next time you decide to stay with us. You will be always gladly received, thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel was located in a very central area of DF. The architecture is beautiful, the building and the air of the enviroment relaxing. The room I had was big and cosy. The whole staff, from the restaurant to the recpetion to the concierge online has been kind, helpful and nice. In the small circumstances when I needed some assistance I have been helped soon.
From roooms facing the plaza de la constitucao and from the balcony of the restaurant you can see the ceremony of striking the flag in the afternoon (around 18,00 if I am not wrong).
Food was good and Internet worked pretty well. Useful also the small business center with scanner.

Room Tip: A room facing the plaza might be more charming i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franktravel767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We feel very proud to know that you had such a pleasant time on your recent experience with us. It is also a great satisfaction to know that you felt comfortable on our rooms. In the hotel, we count with 60 rooms divided in 5 categories. These categories are specially designed to fulfill every single guest´s requirement in order to provide them a truly special lodging experience. These different categories are meticulously detailed on our website, where you will also find different pictures of our rooms and other interesting features. We also count with a booking engine in there, which makes this portal an excellent alternative for reserving rooms and adding special services. Please consider visiting it the next time you are looking for where to stay on Mexico City. We would love to hear from you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,374 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
749 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 310 in Mexico City
635 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#9 of 310 in Mexico City
1,311 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 310 in Mexico City
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing