We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #5 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with fantastic service.”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico is a beautiful hotel located in the main square of Mexico City. You can't get more central than this. We had a great view of the Metropolitan Cathedral, Templo Mayor and National Palace from the room. There was also a magnificient view of the zocalo from the terrace restaurant who also was pretty nice. The hotel is very clean and well organized. Our room was clean and very spacious.

They have free WiFi and own secure taxis who you can booke at the front desk. The service we received from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out was first class. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A special thanks to Ceasar, Salvador and Eduardo for their excellent service.

I know which hotel I will stay at the next time I'm in Mexico D.F.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eragr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to congratulate our Front Desk team by this media, we are sure they will feel very proud to know you were fond of their attentions.
We also feel very happy to know you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi access that our hotel offers to our visitors. This is a very useful service for our guests that are fond of traveling with their portable computers or smart-phones since it enables them to always have access to their personal email accounts and other internet portals. For our guests that do not count with this kind of devices, we count with a Business Center that is equipped with desk computers. This Center is open for all of our guests also under no additional cost and has full internet access so, in case you forget to bring your smart-phone next time, rest assured we will have an internet option available for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    447
    92
    26
    29
See reviews for
734
995
173
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel is the grand dame of the Centro. Classic wrought iron elevators, elegant open lobby, classy service (chocolate covered fruit in each room). It played the role of Paris in the film Frida!
We stayed for just one night, at the end of a week long trip through Mexico, in order to treat ourselves before flying out home. We had planned to check out some local bars and cafes in the area, but instead just ended up spending the evening enjoying the magnificient view of the zocalo form the terrace.
I was mildly disappointed in the food at the terrace restaurant - a little pricey for the quality, but I guess you pay for the location and view, not the food. Besides, the service was top notch. Also, a comparable hotel and location in virtually any other major metro in the world would cost around 3 times as much!

I just wish we had had longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivv_vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
We also had wished to have the chance to attend you for a longer period. Nevertheless we hope that you will consider staying with us for your next trip to Mexico City since we will always appreciate the opportunity to attend you. Maybe for your next stay you will consider sharing with us a little bit more details about your specific preferences in food. Our cheff gladly accepts any special requirements our guests may have and feels happy to prepare a specific course according to the preferences detailed. We will be happy to receive the opportunity to match your expectations on both of our restaurants so please do not hesitate in asking for this option for your next stay. We will always try to completely fulfill your requirements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here for a splurge and it was worth every peso! Do it! Even though you might be able to find something cheaper. (Not to mention a splurge here is just a typical, boring hotel room rate in the states.)
The thrill of walking through that lobby to get to our room set us giggling every time. And beyond just the architecture of the building - the staff here takes great care to offer wonderful little touches, like a complimentary plate of chocolate dipped fruits.
White-glove clean. Great beds.
And THE MOST attentive, friendly, and patient staff I've ever experienced. Sometimes when we splurge, our kinda grungy appearance will garner us raised eyebrows and brusque service. Not here. We felt truly welcomed by sincerely nice people.

Room Tip: The rooms on the zocalo have a better view, obviously. But we are very sound sleepers. If it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatatejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
You will always be gladly welcomed with us as we appreciate all of our kind guests. Perhaps for your next visit you would like to consider booking through our official website, where you will find interesting promotions as well as the best rates available. In this portal you will also find a collection of pictures, a full description of our rooms and services, our official history and even a special section where you will be able to directly contact us for any doubt or requirement you might have. We gladly attend and personally answer every mail we receive so please do not hesitate in contacting us for your next stay. We will feel very proud to receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The hotel was centrally located, clean, safe, reasonably priced AND the staff was friendly. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We were there over a big holiday, November 20, and loved the quite respit the hotel offered in the midst of so much activity.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoAmyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
We feel very proud to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Perhaps you would be interested in visiting us again for this upcoming Holiday season. Our hotel and the Zocalo itself are beautifully decorated due to Christmas time. We proudly present a huge Christmas tree that covers the three floors and counts with the classical Christmas lights. As for the Zocalo, it presents the traditional Ice Rink along with lots of other attractions and a special illumination in the main buildings that surround it. All this becomes a truly beautiful scenery highly frequented by families; which creates a very amusing end enjoyable environment. Therefore we definitely recommend this season for visiting Mexico City, we trust you will have a most pleasant time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at this historic classic hotel recently and had a wonderful experience. Both the attentive staff and location cannot be beat. The roof-top terrace restaurant overlooking the
Zocalo is very nice for breakfast or a sunset cocktail. Despite being in the very heart of Mexico City, we found our room 217 to be very quiet and huge, not to mention very clean. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Mexico D.F. Also, the Centro Historico is very safe for walking and visiting the many museums, restaurants, and shops. A special thank you to Ceasar at the front desk for his excellent service.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the inner court yard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDpilotClaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comment and for the congratulations sent to our colleague. We would love to receive you again, in which case we will try our best as always to make your lodging with us an excellent experience. Maybe for your next visit you would be interested in taking one of our tours. The most popular options among our guests are the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the City tour, but we also count with other alternatives in case you are interested in something more specific. Please ask for our Concierge on your next visit in case you require more information about these tours, he will gladly assist you in booking them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We landed at the Gran Hotel unexpectedly after a bad start to our trip in Mexico City. We booked a room over the phone at 9 am, and were able to check in to our room just after 10 am.

The front desk staff were more than helpful - we needed to book a bus to Oaxaca on a busy holiday weekend, and they personally walked us over to the travel agent and translated to make sure we got the right ticket. The hotel itself is very nice, the lobby is quite striking with the stained glass ceiling, and the rooms are spacious and well-maintained. Their Day of the Dead altar was one of the best we saw in a hotel on our trip. The restaurant at the top of the hotel has a wonderful view and the food is surprisingly good, and inexpensive for a hotel right by the Zocalo.

We don't normally stay at large hotels in the tourist area of town, but were pleased with our experience at the Gran Hotel. Mexico City can be daunting at first, and this was a great base to explore the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
We feel very happy to know that staying on our hotel improved your visit to Mexico City. Like you may have already noticed, all of our Staff members are deeply committed to achieve our guests ´satisfaction and will gladly come out with different alternatives for achieving this.
As for your booking, we are sorry to know you had problems with it. Maybe for your next trip you would like to consider booking through our official website, where you will find interesting promotions and the best rates available including our popular “Early Booking rate”. It will always be a pleasure to attend you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The location of this hotel is very central - it is 2 minutes walk from the Metropolitan Cathedral, Templo Mayor and National Palace. The hotel is very beautiful. It is an old building with charming old Otis lifts and Tiffany glass ceiling. The rooms are decorated like an English majestic hotel. The service is outstanding. And their terrace restaurant overlooking Zocalo offers great food and views at the same time.

Room Tip: Get a room with Zocalo view. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indrajray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
It was our pleasure to attend you and we are looking forward to have that privilege again soon. We also feel very proud to know that you enjoyed our decoration style. The hotel´s common areas as well as our different room categories follow the Art Nouveau style, a popular decoration originated in France. It is inspired on the Nature and it is distinguished by the use of curved lines, the asymmetry among them and the use of construction materials like iron and crystal. Our hotel has the privilege of being considered one of the most beautiful examples of the Art Nouveau style so we feel very proud to know that you liked it. Please visit us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
743 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 310 in Mexico City
635 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,306 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 310 in Mexico City
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing