We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #3 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 12 March 2013

So this is a great hotel -- get a view of the Zocalo, preferably from the top floor (of course, it will be a little noisy but the sights and sounds are fascinating, in our opinion). I'll focus here however on the service, with just two examples. We changed money at a cambio near the hotel. The next day, we learned that two of the bills ($500, $200 -- pesos) were counterfeit. Upset, we spoke to the concierge, who marveled for a bit at how good the counterfeits were, then accompanied one of us to the cambio and explained the situation, whereupon they rectified it with no questions asked. Another example -- when we checked out (having carefully checked the room to be sure we left nothing behind), the desk called someone and they checked the room too -- apparently a routine procedure. Anyway, they turned up a phone charger we had somehow overlooked. Cool, eh? Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that was his appreciation of our restaurant terrace with the best view of the Zocalo. For us it is very important to provide excellent service to make your stay more pleasant. It will be an honor to have her visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,762 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

On the historic Zocalo, this gorgeous hotel serves a wonderful breakfast, concierge services. Feel like Maximilian! If you like stained glass and opulent architecture, you'll like the extravagant bird cages, the cool feel of the foyer and the access to the most important tourist destinations just across the square. Yes, Mexico City is a walkable historic museum.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shep38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

We appreciate your wonderful words, we are pleased to read that our staff provided a great service and you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in Art Nouveau style and our elegant rooms. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our second stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, which was, again, a total and complete perfection! The hotel is gorgeous, the decor is impeccable, the staff is super-friendly and helpful, the food at the hotel restaurants is superb, and of course you can't beat the location! Walking distance to top museums and major attractions, and the view from our gorgeous room was beyond comparison! When we were planning our trip to Mexico, we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else but this excellent hotel, which we have discovered back in 2011. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! Can't wait to return to your wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Take a Junior Suite-all suites have direct view of Zocalo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Image_Consultant-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience, we are proud to know that I enjoy your stay in of our hotel and the service received by our staff has been friendly and helpful. Indeed our great location allows you to visit the most important attractions of the city. We hope to keep their choice on your next visit to the city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just back from our first trip to Mexico City. The Gran Hotel was the perfect choice - for location, service, and rooms. The concierge was very helpful and arranged tours and taxis for us. The breakfast cafe was good, the dining room had a great view of the Zocalo (although a little chilly on a March evening as it is open-air). All in all, a great experience that would have the four of us returning to the Gran.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you share us his great experience and we let you know that I enjoy your stay in our stylish rooms and enjoyed the wonderful view from our terrace. We are pleased to provide excellent service to make your stay more pleasant.We look forward to your preference again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The 'Gran' is the epitome of old world classical hotels. Entering the main foyer you are struck by the grandeur of the breathtaking atrium with its Tiffany glazed roof. The original elevators are charming working antiques from a bygone era. The staff are incredibily helpful and friendly. Our room and bathroom was of a very high standard. Breakfasts offered a wide choice of Mexican, American or Continental cuisine.
Well situated closeby the Zocalo in the Centro Historico.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scirocco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are pleased to have been of your total satisfaction the Art Nouveau style of our hotel and our Stained Glass Tiffany, as well as our exclusive and elegant rooms, our priority is to provide excellent service. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Found everything to our liking..friendly service and most helpful. Clean and nicely old fashioned rooms with free wi-fi. Also, included was a simple American style breakfast (fresh squeezed juice, fruit plate, pastries and eggs w/bacon any style).
Location and view also perfect.
Recommend highly.

Room Tip: Had a large sunny suite #106
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesyl167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you for your comment and even more his kind recommendation is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoy your stay in our comfortable and elegant rooms and our staff have provided excellent service. We hope to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Beautiful architecture especially inside, it is truly a local attraction in addition to very good accommodation. Excellent location and value. Right next to the main square at the center of Mexico City (Zocalo).

Room Tip: Get a room with view of Zocalo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are pleased to read that was to his liking the beautiful architecture of our hotel in Art Nouveau style and modern comfort and service of our staff. It will be a pleasure to have your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
1,437 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
826 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
933 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £99 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing