We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #5 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, very nice staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the action, and in Mexico City is plenty, being the second most populated capital in the world. We spent three nights here, two in our way to Acapulco and one in our way back. First time we choose a junior suite facing Zocalo. Room was very clean and spacious and even people say that it comes a lot of noise from the main square, in the night was very quiet so you don't have to worry about this. The second time we choose a double bed room, facing the interior, also a very clean and big room. The staff is very helpful and nice, we received a lots of tips from them about tours, restaurants, souvenir shops etc. The hotel offers transportion to/from the airport in exchange of 165 pesos, about 14 USD. I will recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a real taste of Mexico DF.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma_Mabarak, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. It is very pleasant to know that during your stay with us, everything was excellent. As you well mention, our hotel is located in the heart of the Historic Centre which is a great advantage to each of our guests since you can visit several places more easily. Concerning our rooms, each one of them has a unique design reflecting the ancient Mexico, full of elegance and tradition in order to feel at home. Our services are one hundred percent planned for a complete experience, thank you for your preference and we hope to receive you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,008
    447
    92
    26
    29
See reviews for
733
994
172
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Gran Hotel is a clean, well managed property with large rooms. We had a beautiful room, with both traditional windows that opened over the historic Zocalo as well as flat screen TVs. Best of both worlds and the elegant atrium is a nice quiet respite from the hustle of Mexico City.

There is a noise problem from being right on the square -- the weekends include plenty of street traffic and often there are demonstrations in front of the government buildings but being in the historic district near all the new pedestrian friendly areas is an excellent tourist friendly location. The staff are english speaking and very helpful. The top floor restaurant, while sometimes inexplicably closed, is a beautiful spot for breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was actually a suite -- two rooms with a door that closed between them and TVs in both area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 12 July 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comment and share with us your experience. Indeed we have a great location in the heart of the city and surrounded by the main tourist attractions in the area. Our Art Nouveau hotel is beautiful and great Stained Glass Tiffany let him always impressed. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The food was always great. The wait staff were friendly and quickly honored every request. The buffet at the spectacular roof top restaurant was tasty and wholesome. The flan was the best ever!
The staff was very efficient and provided help with a cheerful attitudes. Breakfast in the cafe had low calorie options which were not secondary in quality to the regular menu.The close proximity to the Zocolo is a plus! When we needed help with printing our boarding passes the staff was knowledgeable on accessing an English website and using an unfamiliar keyboard. The art deco design was inspiring! The front desk employees were always well informed and gave accurate advise on travel within the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLongmonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 12 July 2015
We appreciate your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel style Art Nouevau and our staff has provided you with a friendly and attentive service and will be attended promptly. Our hotel has a great location allowing you to explore the city and its surroundings.We look forward to your visit very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband, my 5 years old daughter and I spent 3 nights on March 2013, at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de México, located at the heart of the Centro Histórico in Mexico City. The lobby is really marvelous, if you are not staying here, you must go and see it. It’s really grand with the Tiffany stained glass ceiling and Art Nouveau architecture.

LOCATION: If you want to stay mainly on this part of the city (centro histórico), the location couldn’t be more perfect. However, if you are interested in getting to look around other neighborhoods (zona rosa, Polanco, santa fe, Coyoacán, bosque de Chapultepec, etc) I strongly recommend to choose another hotel in a more centrally located area.

ROOMS: We stayed at room 206, it’s a master suite with 2 double beds. Good size room, good vibe, furniture ok.
- Views: It has a partial view of the Zocalo and Palacio Nacional.
- Illumination: Since is located at a corner of the building, has lots of big windows and lots of light, very sunny (with blackout curtains, so don’t worry about waking up early). At night, the room it is not well illuminated, It feels really dark and I don’t like that while I’m still awake and trying to do stuff.
- Beds: Very uncomfortable beds. 2 of 3 nights I couldn’t sleep, and the last night was only because of exhaustion. Mattress too hard, too thin, bed too low.
- Noise: The windows are not sound proof, and since you are in the heart of the City you can hear noises all night long. Be prepared.
- Cleanliness: It was clean, no complains here.

SERVICE: Very disappointed. We think is a hotel really understaffed. We felt the staff is respectful, but undertrained and non efficient.
1. They didn’t help getting a cab. We asked and they send us to the Street to get one.
2. No concierge during our visit.
3. The second day I needed to check-in on our flights and print the boarding passes. They have a small business center. Only one of the 2 computers was working and it was busy. I asked for help since the other one was not working (I tried to turn it on), nobody came. At the end the person working in the other computer let me use it, and I could not print the boarding passes, asked for help again, at last somebody came, he tried 4 times without success and it was obvious that he did not know what he was doing. Nobody knew which printer to choose. I save the file on my USB to be printed later.
4. That night we arrive to the hotel around 10 PM; my husband stayed behind at the lobby to try and print the boarding passes. My kid and I went directly to our room, and surprise, the door was open. Of course I did not touch the door and immediately called my husband, since he still was at the lobby. He asked for somebody to go immediately to our floor and search the room, they said “of course, our security manager will be there”. My husband arrived and waited with us, and waited, and waited (my kid was really tired, and I was getting really angry), after lots of minutes 2 people got there, checked the access codes with a computer and said it was safe for us to enter (without checking the room), my husband asked them to enter first, and they said again that everything was ok. What we understood was that when the maid entered to turn down the beds, did not close the door. It was scary dough…even my kid was looking on the closet looking for bad people.

FOOD: We only have breakfast twice at the Café Ciudad de México (located in the main Lobby). Food was good, service ok.

Room Tip: Room 206 its a corner room... so it's big and sunny, with views of zocalo and palacio nacional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 12 July 2015
We appreciate your comments and observations kindly shares with us. Sorry you have had this problem and we sincerely apologize for the bad time that you lived. Rest assured that we will follow to prevent such situations in the future. We look forward again with their preference and provide a new and better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I've just checked out of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. As all the reviews here indicate, its a grand old beautiful old hotel. The decor of the rooms are a bit dated, but everything is spotless (but they need to work on their wifi power in the rooms).

The location of this hotel is also perfect for Temple Mayor, Palacio Nacional, Zocalo, etc. However, the place is a bit of a 'no mans land' if you like to go out in the evening. The streets are desolate and there is little in the way of bars and restaurants.

My time in MC was split in two halves. The first was in the fashionable neighbourhood of Condesa (also near Zona Rosa). It is central and we were very fortunate to be able to walk out of our hotel of an evening and have a choice of places to have a drink, an ice cream, and have several choices of al fresco dining. It was also very safe (the area around Gran Hotel isn't unsafe, but dark and 'closed').

If your choice is to stay in the hotel for dinner then you are probably fine. the rooftop buffet bar didn't look to be up to much (nor the keyboard player) but the views are splendid. If you are staying book a table for the 6:00pm lowering of the flag.

Good luck!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidtinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 12 July 2015
We appreciate your comment and your kind remarks
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you were able to explore the city center and other areas. We are also pleased it you enjoyed the wonderful views from our balcony. It will be a pleasure to have your visit ag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grover Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The tripadvisor reviews and information described just the kind of place I really like. It is as stunning art nouveau as hoped and more. It is definitely one of my favorite hotels ever.

We booked a tour and tickets to a performance (last minute) at the Palacio de Bella Artes without drama. All the staff was great, and If you are lucky, the delightful Cynthia at front desk will be there to help.

It may not be hotel's fault, but the wi-fi drops off and needs to be signed-in over and over. Even when my iPhone simply went to standby. Not a deal breaker, but very irritating.

We were lucky to have dinner one night in the Terraza Resturant-Bar with a beautiful view of the historical center! It was only open one night during our visit, but not to be missed if possible.

For such an old historical hotel, it must have had a functional renovation, as everything seemed to work quite efficiently.

The location could not be better; you could do a whole vacation within walking distance of hotel.

Room Tip: A friend mentioned street noise, but our interior room was totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 12 July 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our stylish and comfortable rooms and our staff has provided you with a friendly and attentive service. It will be a pleasure to have her visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Some friends and I recently stayed at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico for a week while we explored the cultural sites of Mexico City. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Walking into the lobby you are transported to another age, the magnificent glass ceiling is not to be believed. Our rooms were spacious, reasonable and it is perfectly located – if you enjoy being in the heart of the old city. Just steps away from the Zocalo, we were able to walk to the Diego Rivera murals (not to be missed), the Palacio Postal and the Palacio de Bellas Artes. But overall, I would say it was the staff that made our stay so enjoyable. They were professional and personable, assisting us in multiple ways.
As for sightseeing - Mexico City is loaded with culture and most everything we did met or went beyond our expectations. Just to mention one - we spend an entire day at the Anthropology Museum and had time allowed would have returned for a second visit. But there were a couple of disappointments. I do not recommend the city tour on the “Hop On Hop Off” bus. Because of the traffic, it crawls through the city streets, the commentary on a loud speaker is in Spanish, poorly scripted and very loud, making it difficult to hear the English version on head phones. Frankly, we were bored. A second disappointment was the well-known and highly touted restaurant Izote de Patricia Quintana. Several people had recommended it to us and we thought it would be a highlight. To the contrary, the food was mediocre at best and it was very expensive. We had much better food and much better service at a reasonable cost at a little restaurant called Fonda Refugio in The Zona Rosa.
To end on a high note, one museum that we had not been aware of prior to our visit is the Soumaya Museum. It is the collection of Mexican billionaire, Carlos Slim, and it is an amazing collection. No entry fee. And, despite some pre-trip concerns about violence, we never for a moment felt fearful. People were very friendly and we felt comfortable and safe walking the streets.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are the most spacious. Not all have a view however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 12 July 2015
We appreciate the time you took to write your kind comments, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and you can appreciate the beauty of our Stained Glass Tiffany, also we are glad that our staff has provided an attentive and friendly service and thanks to our great location you could visit the main tourist attractions of the city. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 309 in Mexico City
1,371 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 309 in Mexico City
737 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 309 in Mexico City
634 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 309 in Mexico City
1,304 reviews
Live Aqua Urban Resort Mexico
#3 of 309 in Mexico City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing