We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but very noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Having read the many reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to stay here, booking a room that overlooked the Zocalo (main square).

Firstly, the location was perfect. The zocalo is surrounded by beautiful buildings and it's right in the centre of the centro historico, so the surrounding streets have amazing architecture. In addition, it is only around a 15-20 minute cab ride to nearby places such as the Museum of Anthropology and the suburb of Polanco, both of which would cost you between 100 and 200 pesos (around $8-17US depending on the driver).

However, such a fantastic location comes with a price- noise! On the first night we were kept awake by around 5 jackhammers which continued right until 4am due to construction occurring in the square and nearby streets. It was impossible to sleep. However, it must be remembered that the hotel had no responsibility or control over the construction, so it wasn't their fault. To their credit, they acknowledged and apologised for the issue as soon as we raised it. Thankfully the construction was only on our first night; after that it wasn't a problem. On other nights however the noise of the Zocalo could become quite loud!

Thus, although the view of the Zocalo is beautiful I would be cautious when booking a room that overlooks it due to the potential issue of noise. I would recommend staying in a room a bit further from the main square in the hotel if you are able to.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! But not in a room that overlooked the Zocalo as its far too noisy if you want to get a good night's sleep?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Aussieandlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you very much for your preference. We really appreciate your review. It is nice to know that you really enjoyed our location, this is a big “plus” for the Hotel, due to, it is very easy to reach the most interesting Touristic attraction all over the Historic Center.
Recently “ 16 de Septiembre Avenue” is being reniewed and in a few days this iconic street will become one of the most important corridors of the Historic Center and the nation's capital, where pedestrians have priority. There have been inconvienience due to the noise, but this is about to be finished and ready.
The project seeks to promote sustainable mobility and enhance the heritage value of the area.
If it is posible or if there is any available room we will always offer an alternative for you to fully enjoy your stay.
I will be very pleasant to welcome you again in a near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,842 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

My junior suite looking out on Mexico City's Constitution Square was immaculate with huge four poster bed, high thread count sheets, plenty of soft pillows and cushions, tastefully decorated, windows that open onto a slim stone balcony, desk and chair of a good size, plenty of room for luggage and a large bathroom with curtains bath and shower, plenty of room to spread. The carpeted stairs, stained glass rooflight windows, velvet plush seats downstairs, birdcages, and fine service (special thanks to Minerva, Cynthia and Adriana). Ideal for business travel (24 hour business centre, free coffee around the clock), as well as romantic and shopping. I would come back always when arriving on a very early flight, and also make it a favorite for my business travel to this capital. Restaurant service was fine with good views (the high up restaurant overlooking the zocalo is the one I would recommend, not the breakfast room) although not the cheapest option on the block. Attention to detail and speedy and friendly response when I asked for a light in the corridor outside my room door to be replaced.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Zocalo (catehdral square), chose Junior Suite and above ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

We really appreciate your preference; it is nice to know that you really enjoyed your business trip. For our guest comfort we have inside each room a “pillow menu” to let you choose the one that you prefer for your dreams.
It will be a nice pleasure to welcome you back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent a night here recently and really enjoyed staying in an old historic property. The lobby area is really interesting and beautiful. The rooms are old and grand but the beds were comfy and the wifi was strong. It's a great location for visiting the old historical parts of the city. Beware that on weekends the whole area is gridlocked with people and traffic and you won't be able to get anywhere near here in a taxi - stick to the subway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences with us. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico´´ building is a real gem full of history and an amazing Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908; the Architecture joined with the excellent service create in every guest an unforgettable experience.
As you kindly mentioned, we are located in the Mexican City main square and it is place full of events mostly in weekends. Fortunately near from the hotel there are many kinds of transportation in order to avoid. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This review is written on our fourth and final night at Gran Hotel so my impressions are fresh in my mind. When we booked, we asked for a room facing the zocalo or grand plaza. We were given a junior suite which is not really a suite but a large single room. It is room 202. It is equipped with a king size canopy bed which is covered with good quality bedding. The bathroom is large and there is hot water and a tub and shower with a powerful stream. The toilet flushes strongly. There are two huge doors that open into the room from the street side (zocalo) so that you can see all of the action which goes on. If you need quiet or if your most important object of a hotel is sound sleep, stay elsewhere. If you are interested in watching a panorama of life in a city of 29 million people this is perfect. Our first night, campesinos from rural areas took enter stage protesting their treatment by the government. Amplified speeches lasted until midnight. Hundreds of police are present to monitor this small ragged band of farmers. That night and each night during our stay construction was going on in the zocalo making sleep difficult. The second night the Christmas tree in the Zocalo was lighted. Thousands of people from all over the city and beyond came to the zocalo to have fun and celebrate the forthcoming holidays. This hotel is also decorated with exterior lights of choirboys and candles as are many of the buildings on the plaza decorated with seasonal messages. Diesel fumes will come into the open doors. But if you want an unforgettable experience of family night life here, this is the place to be. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I went out each night and mingled with the friendly crowd. Not many Americans.
The drapery mechanics were broken during our stay. I didn't call attention to this during our stay but housekeeping had to be aware of it. When the drapes are closed the light from the zocalo is shut out but not the sound. These is also loud noise from the interior of the hotel but this seems to abate around midnight.

Room Tip: See above review. There may be some quieter rooms in this hotel. But that's not why you would st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for writing your review. We really appreciate the time you took to write your experience in Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Nowadays “16 de Septiembre Avenue” is being renewed and in a few days this iconic street will become one of the most important corridors of the Historic Center and the nation's capital, where pedestrians will have priority.
For our guests convinience, during all day long our staff will be aware of your arrival and will provide you assistance to make easier your entrance.
It will be great to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in a couple of hotels in Mexico City and would highly recommend the Gran Hotel Cuidad.The location is really perfect, right in the historical centre amongst the sights and shopping. The view over the Zocalo from the rooftop restaurant is really special.
The hotel itself is historic and beautiful and perfectly matches it's surrounds. It feels very grand and special to stay there. We found the staff very helpful and there were some lovely touches in our room from housekeeping. Sadly we only stayed for one night but it was very memorable and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

We feel so glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. It is gratifying that you enjoyed the experience of staying in Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico in just one day. We really hope you can give us again the opportunity to host you during more days and create a new and unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My sister and I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights at the end of Nov. it was perfectly located for touring the sights of the historic centre. We loved the Art Nouveau architecture of the communal areas and we were delighted to be upgraded to a luxury suite on our arrival as a large wedding was to take place during our stay and they wanted us to have peace & quiet. All the staff were very courteous and friendly, especially the restaurant staff and the maintenance man Jesus who sprang into action to show us how to lock the I room safe, operate the coffee machine and hair dryer !!
Very good choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you very much for your preference. For us is very important that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We enjoy creating unique experiences though our hotel´s architecture, service and history.
As a hotel recognized as “Tesoros de Mexico” or “Mexico´s Treasures” which is a prestigious National Distinctive which certifies high standards of quality and service; we feel deeply compromised to achieve this every time our guests reward us with their preference.
Please be sure we will always excel in our efforts to grant you a perfect stay every time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in this stunning royal like hotel. It's a little old but that makes it grand. The staff were friendly and could speak English. The hotel is central city Mexico and we felt safe checking out the local sites by day. We asked to stay in a room over looking the square. It was beautiful with a balcony we could stand on and overlook the CBD square. Felt like I was in a castle. The only downside was there was very loud fire works blasting all through the night. The local Mexicans were celebrating day of the dead so perhaps when you stay there you may get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melzivinkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Is nice to know that you really enjoyed the room you stayed in. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico is glamorous and fantastic, it is full of history and amazing architecture. As we are located just in front of Mexico City main square, guests are able to appreciate all the festivals and folklore the city prepares for every special event. It is worth to live this kind unique spectacles. It will be very nice to welcome you again for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,476 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
194 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#35 of 312 in Mexico City
953 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £90 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing