We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop in to see the Art Deco interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I confess that I did not stay in this hotel but dropped in to see the stunning lobby: Tiffany-style roof, Art Deco from top to bottom, including the elevators. Anyone vaguely interested in design and art/architecture should do the same. A few steps from the Zocalo.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and review, we feel glad to know that you enjoyed our architectonical style, we will be honored to receive you soon as a guest, we can assure you that you will enjoy our service, equipment and quality that will make of your stay an unforgettable memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Had about 30 people from all over Latin America in for training. The hotel did a great job. Nice place for all our visitors to stay and see. It's ild but that is the charm. Our training room was right off the street side and the organ grinders out side were a bit annoying so we had to talk loud so keep that in mind if you have an event here. The roof top deck is great to oversee the square and worth a drink or dinner for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JSMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review, our beautiful building is a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered the most beautiful and sumptuous building of the capital city, secondonly to the Palace of Fine Arts, besides we are strategically located in the southwest of the Constitution Square (Zocalo), where you can admire an unparalleled view of the National Palace, the Mexico City’s Cathedral and beautiful Government buildings. For our entire team will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a surprise to walk into the lobby with birds chirping and a spectacular stained-glass roof. We were greeted, enveloped and well taken care of. Our room was perfect, updated and mellow with a view of the Zocalo, the city square. We thought it might be noisy but the sound-proofing was good. The hotel arranged a city tour with an 82-year old guide who knew everything. The neighborhood is alive and the choice of good restaurants endless.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite that was behind a second locked hallway door so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rgale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest, we appreciate your review, for our entire staff is an honor your recommendation, trough our architecture, history and quality service, we generate unique experiences. At our both restaurants “Terraza” and “Café Ciudad de Mexico” you can enjoy this virtues besides delightful meals and a wonderful view. We hope you can give us the opportunity to receive you soon here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff at the Gran Hotel de Ciudad could scarcely have done anything more to make our stay more enjoyable during our recent trip to Mexico City. From the complimentary glass of champagne on arrival to the nightly turndown service and the endlessly helpful staff at the concierge/check in desk, this is a hotel that knows how to look after its guests.

Aside from the immaculate service our room was impeccably clean and of ample size for the two of us. Another pleasant aspect to the hotel is its location within the historic city centre, just off the Zocalo square it's within walking distance of a number of attractions and metro stations.

This is a hotel with a history that has been carefully restored for guests to enjoy. it's expansive lobby and wrought iron elevator help to capture some of the antiquity of the historic district of Mexico City.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We feel honored to know that your stay with us has generated on you such a wonderful memory. At Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico we have a professional and efficient staff that will always assist you on all your needs and special requirements you might need. We hope we can have the opportunity to receive you soon and continue creating on you amazing memories, will be a pleasure to welcome you again here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Unfortunately we stayed in the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico only one night as we were passing through Mexico City. It was a wonderful experience from the art deco surroundings to the warm and welcoming staff. It is perfectly located for sightseeing, and the cafe was superb. Our room was spacious, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean.
The staff are very obliging and helpful, wanting to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and the online concierge, Estephania Garcilazo, corresponded with us prior to and after our stay to make us feel welcome in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 303BobC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We appreciate you share with us your review. At Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico we are people with responsibility, love and passion for our job so we can assure you that you will receive a wonderful attention of our entire staff before, during and after your stay. We hope you give us the opportunity to receive you again here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Mexico City. The building itself is stunning, the view of the Zocalo could not be better, and the staff is friendly and attentive: the concierge and bellhop made the visit great from the beginning. For the level of service at this hotel, the price is also excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JB9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review, we feel proud to know that your expectations were accomplished, our building is a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered the most beautiful and sumptuous building of the capital city, second only to the Palace of Fine Arts. This on balance with our exceptional service will make of your stay a memorable memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Not only is the hotel beautiful, but it is spotless! All the staff is very friendly and willing to help you. My friend went to see the museums and the pyramids. I don't get around very well, so I spent a lot of time in the hotel and in my lovely large room. I had a canopy over my very comfortable bed. The bathroom was elegant and everything was immaculate. I had a corner room that overlooked the square. It was noisy but I can sleep through anything. It was the staff that made my stay special. Javier and Claudio were especially nice and friendly. I have been in Paris, DC and other places in very good hotels. This is one place I would definitely go back to.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the 3rd floor were lovely and sunny with great views. As I said, it was a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We appreciate you shared with us your review; we feel proud knowing that the service provided by our staff was pleasing to you. As you mentioned we have rooms with a wonderful view to the Zocalo, where you can live and be witness of the main events on this area; besides we have rooms with an internal view that are excellent options for travelers who prefer a quieter stay. For us will be a pleasure to welcome you again here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
227 reviews
Centro Histórico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 313 in Mexico City
1,544 reviews
Centro Histórico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 313 in Mexico City
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Centro Histórico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#4 of 313 in Mexico City
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £99 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing