We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur Rare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a stunningly beautiful hotel from an era past. How refreshing!
The rooms are large, the beds could be a little softer but the bedding is lovely, bathrooms
spacious. The staff is great and go to all lengths to ensure that your stay is good.
My only complaint is the restaurant. It has a wonderful view across the Zocalo but the
food is completely tasteless. It's a shame, because the hotel desires better!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for writing your review. Comments are always welcomed and very useful for us in order to improve our service. Our beautiful hotel is a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered the most beautiful and sumptuous building of the capital city. The Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico offers 60 uniquely-designed rooms that will enrapture you back to the warm environment of ancient Mexico, with the luxury and comfort of modern life. We hope you give us the opportunity to receive you again here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,813 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

A friend suggested this historic hotel because of its location near the Zocalo. Within walking distance of Constitution Plaza, we were able to view the magnificent Mexico City Cathedral, the ruins and museum at Templo Mayor, and the murals of Diego Rivera at the National Palace. The staff made our stay a memorable one -- especially because of our language limitations. The concierges, Estephania, and particularly Jose Luis, were exemplary. Roberto, at the reception desk, went beyond the call of duty to guide us daily during our vacation. This hotel is at the epicenter of Mexico City: I recommend it with the highest of accolades.

Room Tip: Instead of spending twice as much for a room facing the Zocalo, select a quieter one on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prufrock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review. As you rightly mentioned we have a privileged location: just in front of the Zocalo; so our guests have the opportunity to visit main touristic attractive, besides our guest service team can help you to organize some tours before your stay or once you arrive so you can know better the city. For us will be a pleasure to receive you again here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Everything about our stay has been outstanding from the gracious staff who have been very helpful and accommodating, greeting us with a glass of champagne, rooms are lovely, beds very comfortable, and the Tiffany three domed ceiling - gorgeous. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for share your opinion about your latest stay with us. For us is an honor to know that you enjoyed this experience; maybe next time you visit us you can try at our restaurant “Terraza”, here you will enchanted by our amazing view of the Zocalo besides our delightful menu and professional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visit "again" with my fiancee this marvelous place, as usual they were so kind with us all the time, the service was outstanding by all the staff since the maid trough the reception ( we miss Cesar he is not there any more) this time Roberto helped us tons since the check in being very nice and polite and every time we need it, best regards to Roberto and the rest of the front desk, I have to mention and greet as well and a lot to Jose Luis the Guest services Chief who helped me with personal stuff by receiving a very important envelop that i was waiting for days, even when he had to stay longer than his shift required that was amazing from him .... We only have thank words for all the staff, the whole place is marvelous, being able to wake up with the view of the Zocalo and the Government Palace really worth every Peso and having the lunch with that view as well is a plus. We definitely recommend it and of course we will back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review and the mention for our collaborators. For every one of us knowing that you enjoyed your stay and service; we can assure you that our entire staff will always help you with all your requirements before, during and after your stay. Maybe next time you visit us, you can try at one of our both restaurants “ Café Ciudad de Mexico” with a delicious executive menu or if you prefer it “Terraza” with an spectacular view of the Zocalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Absolute iconic masterpiece of original Art Nouveau architecture with its crowning glory of the magnificent stained-glass Tiffany three-domed ceiling. Absolutely exquisite environment and service to match. The Terraza Restaurant looks over the expansive Constitution Plaza (known as the Zocalo), which is flanked by the spectacular, historic Metropolitan Cathedral. All of the staff were wonderful. I'd also recommend using the hotel's service to book group sightseeing tours. My day at the Teotihuacan Pyramids was unforgettable in itself but even the journey was made enjoyable by our great guide, Tony Torres. This hotel provides value for money, a higher class experience for an unexpected reasonable cost. I would recommend the Gran Hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Botticelliangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review for us is a pleasure to know that your stay with us fulfills your pre-established expectations. At Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, besides our imposing building and our Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908; you will always find an efficient and professional staff that will always help you with all your needs before, during and after your stay. We hope we can have the opportunity to receive you in a near future, for us will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I confess that I did not stay in this hotel but dropped in to see the stunning lobby: Tiffany-style roof, Art Deco from top to bottom, including the elevators. Anyone vaguely interested in design and art/architecture should do the same. A few steps from the Zocalo.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and review, we feel glad to know that you enjoyed our architectonical style, we will be honored to receive you soon as a guest, we can assure you that you will enjoy our service, equipment and quality that will make of your stay an unforgettable memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Had about 30 people from all over Latin America in for training. The hotel did a great job. Nice place for all our visitors to stay and see. It's ild but that is the charm. Our training room was right off the street side and the organ grinders out side were a bit annoying so we had to talk loud so keep that in mind if you have an event here. The roof top deck is great to oversee the square and worth a drink or dinner for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JSMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review, our beautiful building is a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered the most beautiful and sumptuous building of the capital city, secondonly to the Palace of Fine Arts, besides we are strategically located in the southwest of the Constitution Square (Zocalo), where you can admire an unparalleled view of the National Palace, the Mexico City’s Cathedral and beautiful Government buildings. For our entire team will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,468 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
186 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
947 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £94 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing