We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five nights on the Zocolo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Five nights on the Zocolo”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent five nights at the Gran Hotel (April 29-May 4, 2014) with my wife and found it to be the perfect place to stay on our initial trip to Ciudad de Mexico. We were there with Mexican national who gave us a tour of the city highlights and Teotihucan. We had a junior suite overlooking the Zocola (well worth the extra money) with two huge double doors that openned onto the Plaza, comfortable king canopied bed, and marble bathroom. We watched May Day parades from the open windows. Of course the hotel, is a historic masterpiece with its Tiffany-ceilinged atrium. But the thing that impressed me most was the staff. Starting with the the online concierge, with whom I corresponded before and after our trip, they all spoke English and and went of their way to be friendly and helpful. The front desk receptionists (Sergio, Yessica and Cynthia) were alway in good humor and anxious to assist in whatever problem I was having at the moment. At check-in, Yessica insisted on giving us champagne followed by a ride to the top floor on one of the two ornate the historic elevators. At check-out Cynthia presented me with boarding passes which had finally printed (on the antiquated computer equipment) after I gave up and left. One morning, when I was having a problem with the self-serve expresso machine, Sergio immediately came out from behind the desk to help me and was joined by Renato, the doorman, who subsequently walked me back to my room openning doors and saying "thank-you for letting me serve you" -- I thought, "am I at the Ritz Carlton or the Gran?" Salvador, the bellboy, delivered cocktail ice within minutes of a call to the service deck and summoned cabs, which were inevitably better than the ones we managed to hail on the street. The entire staff was so friendly accommodating, they greeted us big, genuine smiles each time they saw us. Because of the personal service, I would rate the hotel and overall experience as 4.5 stars.

Richard Grice, Telluride, Colorado, USA

Room Tip: A junior suite overlooking the Zocalo is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your kindly review, we are pleased that your stay in the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico was very pleasant. For us it is a pleasure to provide the best service during your stay to ensure that you carry an unforgettable experience. We are proud that you carry a pleasant memory of all of us; we are people with responsibility, love and passion for our job so we can assure you that you will receive a wonderful attention of our entire staff before, during and after your stay. It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again here at your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    438
    92
    26
    29
See reviews for
667
964
166
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I didn't give it a five because our room really had no view and our kids room with double beds had very hard beds. Our queen room was great- the bed was great, the pillows and bedding were excellent, great towels in the bathroom with a lovely bathroom set up. We really enjoyed the hot shower. The room was quite comfortable. Wifi worked well, tv was nice when we were sick. The hotel staff was very nice and very helpful. They excelled and made the hotel better. We were right in the middle of everything. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for this part of our trip. Only thing is we didn't like always having the buffet at the rooftop bar. We would have enjoyed just drinks or snacks in the evening. Excellent Service the staff deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. As you mentioned, our location is a good start to explore Mexico City’s main tourist attractions, plus the unique view the hotel owns to the “Zocalo”.
Even though all weekends we have Brunch Buffet service in our restaurant “Terraza”, our guests can be able to enjoy some drinks to enjoy the view, we will verify that this procedure will be compliment correctly.
Our rooms are decorated in an Art Nouveau style, which contributes to create the ideal frame that will take you back to Mexico’s Golden Age. Nevertheless, you will find all the services and comfort that modern life requires.
You very much for the kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We only stayed one night, arriving on a Sunday afternoon and leaving Monday morning. The trip to the hotel from the airport was about 25 minutes, and at 8.15am on a Monday morning it took 15 minutes back to the airport! (The concierge had suggested it would take 30 - 45 minutes?)

The room was tastefully "old world" decorated complementing the almost 120 year old building. The building itself is absolutely beautiful with one of the most amazing, enormous, stained glass ceiling.

Lighting within the hotel room was very poor and only one side of the bed had a bedside table? Only one person could read in be as there is no ceiling lights.

Great shower and bed was reasonable. Good block out blinds and we had no street nor hotel noise, despite bring on the 2nd floor. Our room was facing the pedestrian mall (the hotels main entrance).

The building adjoins "Plaza de la Constitución" so fantastic position for accessing and looking around the "old" city. In the Plaza is a tourist bus, bus stop which is probably the best way to get a good feeling for this amazing, surprising city. Because this is the heart of the tourist area we felt safe walking around an area of say 3 or 4 blocks around the hotel of a night (check with the concierge).

If going to Mexico City we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kindly review, it’s gratifying to know that you enjoyed Mexico City and your stay with us. As you well mentioned, Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico has the best location to know the Historical Centre, just a few steps of Catedral Metropolitana, Palacio de Gobierno, Templo Mayor and many more attractions that you can enjoy. We hope to receive you in a near future; it would be a big pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What an amazing ceiling! So lovely, and so fun to see every day. We were here for Easter week and received great attention and care, including during the 7.2 earthquake! The hotel helped us arrange a tour to Teotihucan, which was well done. We got cabs from the hotel to museums and were close to many sights in the historic area. Great breakfasts included with the room price. The room was not as modern or fancy as one might hope, a bit worn or outdated here and there, but everything was clean and worked well. Great place to stay for first trip to MC.

Room Tip: Ask to have a view of the plaza, but also ask if a festival or fare is going on (big tents will bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DbTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are pleased to know that your stay in Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico was satisfying. For us is a real pleasure to provide the best service during your stay to ensure that you carry an unforgettable experience.
In Gran Hotel Ciudad de México our concierge will take care of your land transportation, show tickets, restaurant reservations, tours, etc. We feel glad to know you enjoyed the Tiffany stained glass ceiling from 1908, designed by the French artisan Jacques Gruber. Gran Hotel Ciudad de México, a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered one of the most beautiful and sumptuous buildings of the capital city. It’ll be a pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Mexico City was my final destination in Mexico and staying at this hotel is the best choice I made. First of all, the location is perfect. It's just next to Zocalo square,pedestrian streets, and metro. Very convenient and safe. The staffs is super friendly and welcoming. I feel really grateful to get the upgrade to a room with amazing view over Zocalo. What a nice surprise!! The building itself is very charming and arty! The Tiffany ceiling and elevator are impressive. The service is impeccable too. I will definitely come back for my next visit in Mexico City!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It is very satisfying for us to receive your comments about your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the architecture of the Hotel. Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico not only is recognized for being an amazing building with the most spectacular view of Mexico City’s Zocalo but for offering a exceptional and personalized service. It would be a real pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marquette
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great location and during the week at least, amazingly quiet....! We booked with the hotel in advance so got the internet rate which was quite good. They also put us in a corner room that had one window on the zocalo and the other facing Sept. 16th. Great room!! WE had drinks on the roof top a couple times. Not bad. But we never eat there. The hotel was wonderfully beautiful and we would stay again.

Room Tip: room 308 was a corner room....very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbing53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review; it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit and that your expectations were met. As you kindly mentioned we have a wonderful location that allows exploring the Historical by just few steps and provide us an amazing view of Zocalo Mexico City. Maybe the next time you stay with us you could try our restaurants “La Terraza” and “Café Ciudad de Mexico” we assure you that you will delight with our service and tasty food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

First I'll start off with the who shouldn't go here. If you are looking for ultra modern slick with the highest end sheets and brand new everything and fancy cars all around. This is not the place for you.

This place has something the others don't, character. It's decorated like you were in the titanic. Old school luxury. The rooms were huge. We stayed in a deluxe room which was the size of a small New York studio apartment. The halls were cavernous and the ceiling really nice. It was a nice change from modern hotels which are designed to pack people in. Even if you don't stay here it's worth a quick visit to look at the ceiling and have lunch overlooking zocalo.

The staff was also really helpful. For the most part their English was workable, and they tried to help with everything. The standouts were definitely Javier the bell boy. Jose Luis and Beatriz from the front desk and Esteban in the cafe. All great.

Things that I especially liked: free wifi, sweets on a plate on arrival along with a cold glass of wine and then to top it off they randomly brought chocolate. Get the deluxe room it's worth the extra few bucks if you will spend time in the room or have more than two people.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwell1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review about your latest stay with us and for the mention for our collaborators. For every one of us knowing that you enjoyed your stay and service its a pleasure; we can assure you that our entire staff will always help you with all your requirements before, during and after your stay. We feel glad to know that you enjoyed our architectonical style from the beginning of the 20th century, with all the comfortable amenities demanded by modern life. Gran Hotel Ciudad de México, a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered the most beautiful and sumptuous building of the capital city, second only to the Palace of Fine Arts. For every one of us will be a wonderful honor to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 307 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#11 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#35 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing