We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Nearby Hotels
US$471
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Emporio Reforma(Mexico City)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$892
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,303)
Filter reviews
3,303 results
Traveller rating
2,656
488
100
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,656
488
100
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelterrace restauranttiffany glass ceilingtiffany styleart nouveauoverlooking the squarejose luiswrought ironnational palacedepartment storemaster suitetemplo mayormetropolitan cathedralmain plazatop floorhistoric buildingthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 3,303 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This wonderful hotel in the heart of the Zocola area is truly gorgeous. The foyer takes your breath away from the moment you step through the door. The first sight is a the enormous chandelier hanging over the staircase. Then you enter the incredible foyer and see the wrought iron and stained glass ceiling. So beautiful. It can be seen from every floor and gets better the higher you go. We stayed in a double room and it was very spacious and clean. We didn't have a view of the square but it didn't matter. The hotel is the perfect spot for walking around this marvellous city... Don't miss the tour of the bells in the cathedral . The views are amazing

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsybeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review, for us was a pleasure to assist you in your latest stay. As you kindly mentioned we have the privilege to be located into an amazing building, a remarkable example of “Art Nouveau” and considered the most beautiful and sumptuous building of the capital city, second only to the Palace of Fine Arts. As we always think in all our guests needs, we have rooms with internal view for travelers that prefer a quieter stay, besides you can find rooms with a wonderful view to the main square of the Zocalo. We hope in a near future we can have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great stay.

The hotel is stunning and our room was lovely, comfortable and huge. We had a view on the zocalo which was nice.

The staffs were all friendly. Breakfast was nice. We would definately recommend it to anyone going to Mexico City.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cpaineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your preference and visit. As we are located just in front of the Zocalo our guests are able to enjoy an amazing view of the main square since from rooms with view or from our restaurant “Terraza” where you will always find a delicious menu besides our entire staff will receive and assist you with professionalism and efficiency. We will be honored to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stunning location overlooking a key corner in the central square - get the Master Zocalo Suite, you won't be disappointed! Charming character with a separate living room and a Renato, the front doorman that exudes the charm and warmth of the city we have come to love only after 3 days. It was only with Renato's guidance that we were able to maximise our cultural and sightseeing experiences, avoiding all the dangerous zones that Mexico City is sometimes known for. Unforgettable!

Room Tip: Get the Master Zocalo Suite - the extra investment is worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate the time you take for writing us your review about your latest stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the experience to be with us and that the service provided by our staff member left on you such a good impression. At Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico our entire staff will always assist you with all your needs and special requirements to make of your stay with us an unforgettable experience. We will be honored to welcome you back soon here at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Gran Hotel on our way back from San Miguel de Allende. It's a beautiful Art Deco hotel right on the Zocalo in the heart of the city. The staff are friendly and warm, the rooms spacious and comfortable. The meals we've had are good and the restaurants cater for all tastes.

It was Mother's Day during our visit and we were given flowers by the hotel staff. There was an amazing free concert in the Zocalo square which we watched from the Terrace restaurant.

If you want a hotel with a fabulous central location where you feel safe and comfortable, the Gran Hotel is perfect

Room Tip: The bed was a little hard but that's personal preference. If you want peace and quiet ask for a back room as the square could be hosting an event.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your nicest comment about your latest stay with us, we feel proud to know that you actually enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to have the experience of being at our hotel and live what Mexico City offers you. As you kindly mentioned, we have a wonderful restaurant “Terraza” where you can enjoy an amazing view of the Zocalo, and the Metropolitan Cathedral and, as you saw, an occasional show. For every one of us will be a wonderful honor to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in a classic older building, with an incredible Tiffany Glass roof. The interiors are in immaculate condition, beautifully restored.

Our junior suite overlooked the Zocalo (main square) and was spacious and comfortable. Though we had little use for the interior living room of the suite.

Breakfast had many choices, and was delicious. The roof terrace restaurant has fabulous views of Mexico City at night, and a very reasonably priced tasty evening buffet.

Service levels were high--we were very comfortable here.

Except for the Zocalo, Temple Mayor, and Palacio Nacional this isn't the most interesting area of Mexico City to stay in (compared to Polanco, where we also stayed). But this is an interesting and safe part of town if your travels bring you this way.

Room Tip: We recommend the Zocalo-view junior suites, very reasonably priced.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestService_Online, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, it's a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed our architecture Art Nouveau with the uniquely-designed rooms and the restaurant "Terraza" which as you well mention, it has the most spectacular view of Mexico City’s Zocalo, National Palace and Cathedral. We will always be honored to receive you in your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews