We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old historical hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #4 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Old elegant hotel in the historical center. Great location to see the historical signts. National Palace was wonderful. Not a nightlife area which makes it quiet at night. I loved that for good sleeping. Busy area during the day because its full of historical sights, Palace, Cathedral, Aztec Archiological site. Nice restaurants in hotel, really wonderful and helpful staff. Also, it was a great bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgirl2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelCM087, General Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is the perfect place to start discovering the city, just in the middle of the main tourist attractions.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,815 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

When you enter the hotel it feels a bit like going back in time. The roof especially is magnificent and something one usually seems in old movies. We had a room in the 4. floor and although our windows were towards the street, we could not hear traffic noise. However, there was an event on the main square right next to the hotel and the first night we were able to sleep only after 2am due to the load music. The room was clean and rather spacious. The hotel location right next to the main square helps to see some of the sights and is handy to catch the metro to go elsewhere in the city. During the night, however, the area is rather deserted and there is a limited selection of dinner places available. When we arrived to the hotel, the receptionist was rather unfriendly. However, all the rest of the personnel was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karhuandkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelCM087, General Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for the comments. Mexico City’s main square is a joyful place where events take place often; you can enjoy them comfortably from your Junior or Master Suite.
Our concierge will be happy to assist you if you should need advice about where to go during the night. There are good restaurants and night clubs around the square, where you can enjoy with your family or couple. The concierge can even arrange your reservation wherever you prefer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I arranged a room online at the gran hotel and included an airport pickup.
It was a real bargain and if you are new to mexico city you may want to arrange a pickup with to avoid any insecurities about using the other cabs (which are on the whole completely safe but piece of mind really)
The driver was waiting at the airport and promptly took us to the hotel where we were greeted by polite and friendly staff and an amazing building/room with antique furnishings and a gigantic walk in shower.

All in all Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank theLisbonLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelCM087, General Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

We are pleased to confirm that our staff is kind and make our guests feel confidence. We look forward offering an outstanding experience for all of our guests, and the human treatment you will always receive in our establishment complements it.
We offer round transportation Airport-Hotel-Airport, guests have the option to choose between roundtrip or one way basis. You can also book tours directly in our Website when making your online reservation, these services are great as well. We hope you try them next time you visit Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We wanted a place that was central and efficient and beautiful. Even if you don't stay at the Gran Hotel, you have to see the lobby. In many books, the image shown for "centro" is the lobby of this hotel, so even if there were problems, just the amazing art nouveau lobby is worth visiting or staying there. But, the place is actually a really perfect hotel: the shower, the free wifi, lots of towels, safe water, helpful staff, an ergonomic safe and phone. All was perfect. Anyway. It's a five star hotel, and we got rooms online for about 80 us dollars. The location couldn't be better, on the south/west corner of the Zocalo, and two restaurants on the top floors overlooking the official center of the city. The restaurant is good, not great, but the view is what you'll remember.
Some warnings: the entry is slightly off the corner, and when we came in we couldn't recognize it. It's a little understated, considering the pomp of the interior. That seems to be the rule in Mexico City. All the hotels have flags outside, but modest entries. I won't speculate why. The tours we took that the hotel organized were fantastic. Very trustworthy, reliable, honest.
The breakfast is not included but worth going to the first few days. Food is good, the coffee isn't but that seems to be a Mexican thing (as in the US, very grey and watery). A Starbucks (sorry to promote a chain) is on the block on the right out the door, if you have the craving for real coffee. There are many places with real coffee, but we couldn't test any in time, that were within walking distance.
We stayed on the top floor on the south side. Really great rooms, but no view, windows barely open. Stay on lower floors. The interior rooms are even better, but have even worse views. The suites on the east side are the best, with amazing views of the Zocalo, but a bit more expensive. Maybe stay in those for one night, just for the view.
I'll go there again, no question. I visited the nearby hotels up the block, tested the restaurants and am sticking to this one. If prices vary, base your trip on the availability of this hotel. It's an attraction by itself.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelCM087, General Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments! We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay. We are working hard on improving the service in our restaurants and the seasoning of the food. We are paying attention on improving as well the quality of our coffee, thank you for making us notice!
It is true that the interior rooms have not a fantastic view, although for a little difference you can get a Suite facing Mexico City’s main square; we are positively sure you will love them. We hope to welcome you back soon to prove we have improved our coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed four nights (plus one on the way back) at the Gran Hotel and found it to be fanstastic value (with the special offer on their website) and a great base to explore Mexico City.
Located right off the main square (the Zocalo) which was the hub of activity over the Christmas period - although we must warn that the Zona Rosa where all glitzy places are is some distance away.
The breakfast buffet on the terrace is not to be missed, it's a shame they only do it on weekends.
We had a great room (a suite actually), with four poster bed and lots of charm. It's old-fashioned style (don't expect modern decor) but freshly refurbished and in very good conditions.
Only downside was noise from a disco on Saturday night, but staff warned us about it and offered a room change.
Free use of internet and helpful staff (they seem to really care about customer feedback in an effort to improve), although reception can get a bit busy and as a result service can be on the slow side.
Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpe-diem-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelCM087, General Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2011

We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. As you mentioned, our location is a good start to explore Mexico City’s main tourist attractions, plus the unique view the hotel owns to the “Zocalo”.
Currently, the schedule of the Brunch Buffet service in our “Terraza” Restaurant is Saturday and Sunday from 9:00 to 18:00 hrs. During the holiday seasons we open daily.
Our rooms are decorated in an Art Nouveau style, which contributes to create the ideal frame that will take you back to Mexico’s Golden Age. Nevertheless, you will find all the services and comfort that modern life requires.
Sometimes we cannot do much about the noise coming from the outside, therefore, we happily will change your room to an internal view if the availability allows it. Thank you very much for the kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Gracious hotel, four story open center with incredible stained glass ceiling. We stayed in a suite with a sitting room. Very quiet, clean and near the main city square. Two blocks from the national palace where Diego Rivera's murals are displayed. It has a fourth floor restaurant where you can eat on the patio overlooking the square. Good food and service. Near shopping and subway.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos R, General Director at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Thank you very much for your comment. Our hotel has an excellent location (in the heart of the city), which will make your stay more affordable. It is noteworthy that will always be a pleasure to have your visit, providing excellent service and the best facilities. We await you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

At the end of two-week trip traveling through Mexico and culminating in Mexico City, I thought staying at the Gran Hotel would be the cherry on the cake. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with the room (uncomfortable bed), service (lost one of my shirts sent for laundry) and location (Zocalo is a ghost town at night with nothing to do and nowhere to eat). Also, after losing my shirt it took many weeks and follow-up e-mails/phone calls to get the reimbursement I was promised. The only things I can recommend are seeing the hotel lobby and having the weekend brunch on the rooftop, but you don't need to be a guest to enjoy either of those. Otherwise stay somewhere else and just peek in for a minute; that's all the time you'll need.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artur084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_el_Ejecutivo, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

The Zocalo, being the main square in Mexico City, is full of joy during the day and at night there are several restaurants and cafeterias that tourists like to frequent. From time to time, the Zocalo offers different events and performances. Our concierge will be happy to inform you about any attraction or event around the area, and even make reservations for you in any restaurant.
We are really sorry about any inconvenient our laundry service may have caused, it is an unusual situation that do not happen often. We always take responsibility of our clients’ belongings, therefore, any debt will gladly be paid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 312 in Mexico City
1,470 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
186 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#34 of 312 in Mexico City
948 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £94 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing