We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Casona
Ranked #124 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Really Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2005

Although the restaurant was closed for refurbishment when I stayed the place still ooozed charm. The rooms are very traditional, wooden floors and tall windows which open up to quiet streets ( which incidentally are reasonably safe) Staff were very helpful and there is an excellent coffee shop right next door. A far cry from the four seasons but much more atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissPf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    45
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
39
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2005

Amidst the hustle bustle, traffic and smog of Mexico City, a gem of a place is la casona... went new years 2005, bought sight unseen on expedia, and found the loveliest, quaintest, little hotel with personal attention.... taxi driver had to call to locate when we arrived at 10pm, although it is very conveniently located to cultural spots, on a one way street and clearly not catering to the chain hotel crowd... but the hunt was worth it! its like our sf bay hotels, built on a really fine small restaurant, where local elite families congregate for sunday brunch..... the rooms are very idiosyncratic, individual and comfy, slippers and cozy plush robes for your use....hot water, bottled water to drink, plush towels, great toiletries, eally San Francisco like in its qualities....staff spoke english well, handled many reservations, arrangements for us, very attentive.... some rooms are dark, others light, but as we went to mexico city for the cultural stuff, then headed to mountains and sea for the outdoors, worked fine for us... would go back again and again, and know our needs would be catered to....

Helpful?
13 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2005

My husband and I went to Mexico City last Easter Week (2005) and we stayed in La Casona Hotel. It is a small and comfortable hotel located in La Roma, an old, colonial and well secure neighborhood. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The price includes breakfast and it is very delicious. The hotel is close from Chapultepec Park, some museums; Zona Rosa (Pink Zone) and nice neighborhoods (Polanco, La Condesa) were you could find tasty food in cozy restaurants. Unfortunately, my husband got VERY sick, food poisoning by Burger King's salad and burgers (DON'T EAT IN BURGER KING - NEVER!) two nights before we ended our trip. The staff's hotel was very preoccupied and took care of us all the time. They had to bring a doctor, who arrived in 15 minutes, and he found my husband with a third degree of dehydration and a huge gastrointestinal infectious that let my husband weak and under medication for several days. The doctor and nurse were very professionals and friendly. They applied to my husband fluids through an IV to speed up the dehydration process. Nonetheless, and despite the terrible time we had for the bad choice we made to eat in Burger King, we had a very good time in Mexico. We recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2005

La Casona is wonderful for gracious service, unique charm, an interesting location, and comfortable amenities. The nearby areas of Roma and Condessa are like the Village, with cafes and great dining. It is also easily accessible to Zona Rosa. The service is wonderful and you will always feel well cared for by the friendly doormen, the turn-down chocolates, the cozy bathrobes, etc. The building is very charming and fun to explore. I found a wonderfully affordable rate online for our stay, so I accordingly expected one of the smaller rooms described in the online reviews posted here. While it was somewhat dark in terms of natural light and not enormous and even had the cherub theme one reviewer expressed disgust at, it was actually extremely comfortable with tasteful decor, plenty of lamps, a very large bathroom, a sumptuous bed, nice toiletries, and basically everthing else to make one's stay feel 5-star (even if one is in the budget room!). While the free breakfast buffet was very nice, we loved ordering the inexpensive but wonderful room service huevos rancheros. This is a unique and lovely choice for Mexico City.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2005

Unlike some of your other reviewers my husband I had a great if too short stay at La Casona last October. We loved our room which looked out onto the street (lively during day, quiet at night with double hung french-type doors), great bathroom and all told just a lovely place. We've told all our friends about it and would definitely go back. The staff was wonderful, especially considering our language skills and helped us make a bus by getting us special taxi service when we were running very late. Wish I were there right now!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finneywatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2005

If you like boutique hotels, you will probably like this place. However, be aware that some interior rooms are very dark and that the location is close only to the Zona Rosa.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2005

We spent five nights at La Casona over Christmas and could not have been more satisfied with the place. It is located in an excellent neighbourhood, just a 15minute walk from the Athropology Museum, a few streets away from the trendy cafes of Condesa and there is a subway station just two blocks away.
Our room was spacious and was furnished in a perfectly inoffensive antique style. It opened on to a central atrium – which meant the room was dark, but it would also help keep it cool in the summer. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Best of all, the staff were exceptionally helpful, providing information and assistance which made our stay in Mexico City memorable foir all the right reasons.

Helpful?
3 Thank glesgamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#48 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#50 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
#121 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Suits Condesa Luxury
Suits Condesa Luxury
#180 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Roosevelt
#98 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona

Property: Hotel La Casona
Address: Calle Durango 280 | Col. Roma - Condesa, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, a small cozy hotel in a central location in the Colonia Roma / Condesa, the hotel represents a new contribution to traditional hospitality. Our Mexico City hotel is devoted to offering comfort and service at a level of excellence for that very special traveller looking for personalized attention, elegance, privacy and comfort in a small, central and exclusive hotel. Built at the beginning of the last century, Hotel La Casona is a mansion with elegant facade, a beautiful patio and has been listed by the National Institute of fine arts in Mexico as a historic monument. It's 29 exclusive hotel rooms, exquisitly furnished, equipted with air conditioning and heating, guarantee all the facilities for contemporary comfort. The strategic location of Hotel La Casona, Mexico City, near Chapultepec Park and Emperor Maximilian's Paseo de la Reforma Avenue, a few minutes walk from the Mexico City Anthropology Museum, offers our hotel guests the possibility of organizing different activities in the city, without getting involved in the bustle of the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Mexico City
Hotel La Casona Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing